7/25 Tigger PMPS=158; +1/112; +2/102; +3/72 +3.5/66 +4/71

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Member Since 2013
Hi Lantus Land!

Looks like Tigger cleared his bounce pretty quickly, but he's going lower late today, but gently so far. I'm not used to blue with him, & get a little nervous.

He hasn't had any snacks & is due now for his shot. He was up to 191 +10.5 so I relaxed. He's dropped almost 30 points since then, though. He usually gets a snack at +9.5 but I wasn't able to feed him today.

Should I not feed stall since he's dropping or give him a lower dose?

He has such BIG drops & rises!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=100702
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger AMPS=372 +5/191 +9/173 +10/191 +12/163 - Sta

Hi Deb, Tigger didn't get a snack at +9.5.

+ 9.5 BG was 191

His PMPS (@ 7:45 PM) was 163 almost 30 points lower than +9.5.

I was wondering if I should hold off dosing & feeding dinner & keep checking at this point? Never had this before!
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger AMPS=372 +5/191 +9/173 +10/191 +12/163 - Sta

OK PMPS +20 minutes = 173 (up 10)

I think I may have given Tigger 2 small fd pieces at PMPS, though. :sad:
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger AMPS=372 +5/191 +9/173 +10/191 +12/163 - Sta

Thanks, Wendy, I just did a re-test (173) & will re-test in another 15 min.

If up again should I go ahead & dose a full dose? 2 units has been a real roller coaster for Tigger so far.
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger AMPS=372 +5/191 +9/173 +10/191 +12/163 - Sta

How about recheck in 15 and see where he is. I will look at his SS.
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger AMPS=372 +5/191 +9/173 +10/191 +12/163 - Sta

Check in another 20 or so minutes. If he's still rising, you've got plenty of strips, high carb food and are able to monitor tonight, you should be good to shoot.
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger AMPS=372 +5/191 +9/173 +10/191 +12/163 - Sta

Hi Suzanne,
This would be your first time shooting under 200, right?
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger AMPS=372 +5/191 +9/173 +10/191 +12/163 - Sta

Suzanne

Do you have supplies (strips, HC, syrup) and can you stay up to test?

If yes, and if he's flat or up, I suggest you shoot 2u and get a +1 and +2.
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger AMPS=372 +5/191 +9/173 +10/191 +12/163 - Sta

Thank you, Wendy & Carl.

Yes, Carl, this is my first time shooting under 200. nailbite_smile

Tigger just rarely ever went blue until we hit the 2 unit mark & I gave him the early dose on Spankey's surgery day. (7/23)
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger AMPS=372 +5/191 +9/173 +10/191 +12/163 - Sta

Don't be nervous....we're watching, you have food, you test :-D
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger AMPS=372 +5/191 +9/173 +10/191 +12/163 - Sta

Well, yesterday morning you shot a 211, not much of a difference, and that cycle looked nice.
I agree with the others...if you have strips, various levels of carbs, and can stay up to get some early cycle tests, I think you could shoot.

There's a few other kitties who are dipping their toes into green numbers at the moment, so I'm thinking this forum is going to be pretty busy tonight. You'll have plenty of eyes watching.
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger AMPS=372 +5/191 +9/173 +10/191 +12/163 - Sta

Hi Marje & All, Thank you.

Latest test @ +20 min. = 163. Down 10 points.

Yes, I have honey, agave, FF in gravy, kibble, the works. I can stay up to test & can do a +1 & +2.

Since he's flat & lower what should I do? I haven't fed him dinner yet.

Yikes this is a tummy-tester!
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger AMPS=372 +5/191 +9/173 +10/191 +12/163 - Sta

Yes, I see the Big Guns are all out tonight - glad I got you on my Team!

Looks like our messages are dove-tailing, so I'll wait for a confirmation, but I get that I should feed Tigger his dinner & shoot his full 2.0 unit dose & not be a namby-pamby about it!
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger AMPS=372 +5/191 +9/173 +10/191 +12/163 - Sta

You're within meter variance. It's up to you....if it were me, I'd shoot but you need to be comfortable.
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger AMPS=372 +5/191 +9/173 +10/191 +12/163 - Sta

ok,

Last test is 158. I'm going to feed Tigger his dinner & do a full dose. Have some things I need to do tonight, anyway! :lol:

Thanks you everyone - for all your experience! Will probably be talking with you later!
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger AMPS=372 +5/191 +9/173 +10/191 +12/163 - Sta

Done - full 2 units 55 minutes late.

Thanks all you experienced members for your input - it helps take the heebe-jeebes away

Would I dose at the regular time tomorrow AM if everything goes well tonight?

I'll let you know what's happening @ +1 & +2. Will take a nap for now :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger AMPS=372 +5/191 +9/173 +10/191 +12/163 - Sta

Would I dose at the regular time tomorrow AM if everything goes well tonight?

I think the right answer is "no"... you'd shoot 12 hours from the time you gave this shot. I think there's a 15 minute leeway period in there though...
Does that mess up your schedule in the morning?
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger AMPS=372 +5/191 +9/173 +10/191 +12/163 - Sta

Thanks, Carl. I can do that tomorrow. So theoretically I take that 15 minute leeway each cycle until I'm back on track?
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger AMPS=372 +5/191 +9/173 +10/191 +12/163 - Sta

Yes...this will change your shot time. If you normally shoot at 7/7 but you shot at 8 tonight and you need to get back on schedule, you can do one of two things:

option A:
Fri a.m. Shoot at 7:45
Fri p.m. Shoot at 7:30
Sat a.m. Shoot at 7:15
Sat p.m. Shoot at 7:00

Option B:
Fri a.m. Shoot at 8
Fri p.m. Shoot at 7:30
Sat a.m. Shoot at 7:30
Sat p.m. Shoot at 7:00

Your pick :-D
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger AMPS=372 +5/191 +9/173 +10/191 +12/163 - Sta

Thanks, Carl & Marje! That makes perfect sense, I had that wrong, too.
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger AMPS=372 +5/191 +9/173 +10/191 +12/163 - Sta

You're welcome.

Could you do us a favor please? We're watching a bunch of kitties tonight so it helps us if everyone keeps their subject line updated.

Thank you!
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger PMPS=163 +1/112 May be a long night tonight

Hi Marje,

Updated subject line, sorry.

Tigger dropped from
PMPS = 163
55 min. stall PMPS = 158.
Shot = 9:00PM
+1 = 112
Will test again @ +2

Thanks for keeping an eye on us.
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger PMPS=163; 55 min. stall PMPS = 158; +1/112 !

Sorry...had to feed the birthday girl.

How about some food for him? Maybe a little 6-8% food? A few tsp. Then test at +2.

The PMPS is the number you actually shot....158?

How's Spankey?
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger PMPS=163; 55 min. stall PMPS = 158; +1/112 !

Hi Marje,

Tigger's normal time PMPS was 163 (7:45PM). I stalled & tested 3 times in 55 min. (173 (8:05), 163 (8:25), 158(8:40). The 158 was the final number before the stalled shot.

I just gave Tigger 2 tsp lotus, thanks, & will test @ +2. He's running around like a kitten - glad to see him in the healing range finally - even if I lose some (alot of) sleep!

Spankey's doing pretty well. He pulled his drain tube out last night - bad kitty! He's mortified that his beautiful fur's been shaved & it's humiliating he has to wear socks & baby t-shirts to cover his franken-stitches so he doesn't lick & scratch them. And its totally cruel we're keeping him in jail & he can't go out to hunt. but he's still pretty sleepy & low key mostly. Good appetite is back, tho! He gets the drain tube - well, only staples now - out tomorrow at the vet's if Tigger behaves after his AM shot. We need to discuss sick kitties sharing Mom's time!
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger PMPS=163; 55 min. stall PMPS = 158; +1/112 !

I'm glad Spankey is doing well!

On Tigger, the number you shoot is the AMPS or PMPS. So even if the +12 is 48 and you stall for two hours and finally shoot two hours late when the BG is 60, then the PMPS is 60. Make sense?
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger PMPS =158(stall); +1/112; +2/102 !

Got it, Marje. I understand now.

It looks like your 6-7% is kicking in, Marje! +2 = 102! Thank you, Lotus!

I got cat food all over my robe in the process, unfortunately. Now I smell like Turkey & fish. Mmmmmm.

Did anyone else just lose their FDMB connection or was it just me out in the boonies?
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger stall PMPS = 158; +1/112; +2/102 !

The 102 qualifies as a "surf" rather than "still dropping", I think. Either way, it's nice it isn't a 60 at this point in the cycle. Is he still hungry? Maybe another snack?


I lost my connection for five minutes or so too...
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger stall PMPS = 158; +1/112; +2/102 !

Yes...lost it. Just able to get back on.

Lovely! I'd give him a tsp of LC. It's early in the cycle.
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger stall PMPS = 158; +1/112; +2/102 !

Thanks Carl & Marje,

I'll take surfin' - so good to see Tigger in the blue - this is his longest time yet!

Will give Tigger a little LC - he's loving all the attention - but getting droopy-eyed like his Mom!

Oh - and Carl - Tigger's nicname is "Piggy Tiggy" - no problems with food here, he's ALWAYS hungry, luckily! :lol:
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger stall PMPS = 158; +1/112; +2/102 !

Oh - and Carl - Tigger's nicname is "Piggy Tiggy" - no problems with food here, he's ALWAYS hungry, luckily! :lol:
Bob goes by "Blob" at times! He's part cat, part sloth. And his idea of being in shape is "round is a shape".
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger stall PMPS = 158; +1/112; +2/102; +3/72!

You and me both! I'd give him 2 tsp of your 6-7% and check at +3.5.
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger stall PMPS = 158; +1/112; +2/102; +3/72!

Okey-Dokey, obi wan!
He's 14 lbs - maybe I'll live dangerously & raise you 2 tsp. 6-7% + 1 tsp LC.......
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger stall PMPS = 158; +1/112; +2/102; +3/72!

I know....could be a long night so you just want to be sure he will eat.
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger stall PMPS = 158; +1/112; +2/102; +3/72!

I think we're ok - this is Piggy Tiggy. In a worst case scenario I can break out the Fromm kibble. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger stall PMPS=158; +1/112; +2/102; +3/72!

No kibble! It takes way too long to kick in so isn't a good choice to bring up low numbers. Once it does kick in, it hangs around a really long time.
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger stall PMPS=158; +1/112; +2/102; +3/72!

Oops! Ok, good to know, will remove the kibble jar from the hypo box. Thought it would be a good last resort since Tig's been 'off the wagon' for so long.

I see now why people joke about getting the numbers to 49 - I was just reading up on dose reductions to see if we'd qualify - after a few late nights - it would be mighty tempting! :lol:
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger PMPS=158; +1/112; +2/102; +3/72; +3.5/66

Yeah...once they earn a reduction, you can bring the numbers up and go to bed!

Should be coming up on next test ?
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger PMPS=158; +1/112; +2/102; +3/72; +3.5/66

+3.5 = 66. Hopefully we're slowing. It seems he will often bounce when he reaches a new low (+3 was a new low). Will get a +4

Should I add any more food at this point?

Tigger has a way of doing double curves in 1 cycle, though. I think he's going in one direction & then at the latter portion of the cycle he'll head back down.

Thanks, Marje. Who else is up?
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger PMPS=158; +1/112; +2/102; +3/72; +3.5/66

Yes...a couple more tsp LC till we get him flat. Test in 30.

Just me :-D even the birthday girl is I-) I-) I-) see you in 30.
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger PMPS=158; +1/112; +2/102; +3/72 +3.5/66 +4/7

Hi Marje! Sorry to keep you up so long, especially on Gracie's special day.

Tigger's +4 is 71, we're heading in the right direction.
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger PMPS=158; +1/112; +2/102; +3/72 +3.5/66 +4/7

Ok. Good. You can feed a little more and test In an hour and try to get some rest. If he's the same or up, do the same thing again. If he's up alot, don't feed and test in an hour or 1.5 hours.

I think you see how you need to manage the numbers. Shall I get up in a hour and check on you? In an hour, the east coast folks should be coming on. I'll do whatever makes you feel best.
 
Re: 7/25 Tigger PMPS=158; +1/112; +2/102; +3/72 +3.5/66 +4/7

Thanks so much, Marje, I think I can handle it from here. We'll be ok.

I should hold the 2.0 dose in the Am, right?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top