7/25 Tashie PMPS = HIGH!

Status
Not open for further replies.

BorisV

Member Since 2013
Hi guys , sorry I was away for a while.

After Tashie's hospitalization I decided to go with the vets advice for a while but its not working as well as I had thought and I am hoping you can continue to help me out?

Tashie is eating great with the help of mirtazapine but her BG is still bouncing a lot. I am hoping you can keep giving me advice and maybe we can get her better controlled?

She is giving me problems testing so I have to have a neighbour come in to help me - prevents more testing........

I am concerned that the Mirtazapine is interfering with her BG levels - as they are just crazy - please see SS

Here was Tashie in the hospital, "Grumpy Cat" .... or ET? ...Can't seem to get the Avatar done????

photo_2_zps68e6498b.jpg
[/url][/img]
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

you need to change the permissions on your spreadsheet so members can view it. Looks like right now, it might be only you


Go to your spreadsheet and in the top right corner it says "Share"...click there and change it so that "anyone with the link" can view it
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

Ooops! Sorry! Can you see now? Gotta get back in the swing of things - sorry!
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

nope...still getting "you need permission"....let me see if I can find the Sticky on how to share your SS
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

I was really fearing the worst when you disappeared, so glad to see that Tashie is doing better.

Miss Grumpy cat...
(your original file was too large)
d63b5a9a-d29e-4a1b-8fb5-86dd1bce66ac_zpse2d9fb88.jpg


MJ
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

Oh, MJ, thanks so much! It was SUCH a hard thing to do - I was TRYING to do what was best for Tashie. Thank you for being so nice - I feel like crap crawling back like this
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

I can see your SS if I grab the URL. It's not clickable as written.

MJ

edit to add: Sheesh, Tashie. Bounce much? :o
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

MJ, I don't think she is bouncing THAT much - I think it's the appetite stimulant "Mirtazapine" that is doing it. I mean she goes UP when she's on it. My vet thinks I'm imagining this!
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

Yes, I can see it from your link.

Well, to me, going from BLUE midcycle to BLACK at AMPS and PMPS is boingy-boingy.
Can't speak to the effects of the meds.

MJ
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

Okay, so next issue is I am NOT getting email notifications of replies! I HAVE "Subscribed to topic" any suggestions?
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

Welcome Back Bern :)

Tashie is a grumpy kitty in that pic for sure :lol:

Was wondering if you were ever able to get her off the dry food?

That may be some of the reason her numbers are high too, which I'm sure you already know.

I'm not familiar with any appy stimulants and how they work with insulin, so I'll leave that to the experts.

Glad to see you here again though...I was a bit worried :-D

Maybe check your profile/settings to see what's going on there with your subscribe notifications
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

Welcome back! The Board has a new server and there are a few glitches still, new avatars and notifications among them. I just keep a browser window open w/ tabs for Tess's SS, her condo and one for TR board. Very easy to switch between them to see new posts in your condo.
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

little kitty kat said:
Oh, MJ, thanks so much! It was SUCH a hard thing to do - I was TRYING to do what was best for Tashie. Thank you for being so nice - I feel like crap crawling back like this
Tashie is lucky to have you....just a Mom being a mom, Bernadette. I'm so glad you're back; I was real worried about you & Tashie. And geez does she looked p*ssed in that photo :lol: Don't you dare feel like crap, missy-or I'm taking a road trip!!! Welcome, welcome back :-D
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

The board is going through some changes. One of the problems people have run into is with getting e-mail notifications. Sometimes it works; sometimes it doesn't.

While anything is possible, most cats who have been prescribed mirtazaepine do not have an increase in BG. It may be that if Tashie is eating well on the day you give the mirtazepine, that's why you're seeing higher numbers. On the whole, though, I agree with MJ. It looks to me like Tashie is bouncing. If you can get a before bed test every night, it may also give us a clue as to whether or how much Tashie's numbers are dropping over night.

I'm also not clear on why you decreased Tashie's dose from 2.25u to 1.5u to 2.0u back to 1.5u to 1.0u to 1.25u over 4 days. That's a lot of dose hopping. Was your vet advising these changes? It seems to me that Tashie is likely not getting enough insulin.
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

WELCOME BACK TASHIE AND MUM

oh....how we missed you!! Tom and I missed you! We love your refreshing posts!

Don't even feel badly about "crawling back"!! Sometimes a person just needs to take a break and follow a different path....you just gotta do it. especially after the trauma you and tashie went through. IT is a normal response.

Sorry the vet's path didn't quite work out so well....but back you are....and back Tashie will get her nice numbers again. I know that the other members will get sweet Tashie healing and healthy again.

You did the best for her. the best. and continue to do so. What is to feel badly about that? nothing!

anxious to see what the cat Gods suggest

~~kelly
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

Welcome back Bern & Tashie!!

Don't feel bad - we do what we think is best for our babies. It is okay for us to change our minds as we learn!

Jane & Cleo
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

Thanks guys! You are being great to me! I am just keeping the window open & refreshing as I HAVE "subscribed" to topic but not getting notifications. Only me! Can you tell we're back!

Sienne: First, the vet wanted me to dose 2.5U as she was eating DM Dry mixed with Young Again - I was TRYING to wean her off. I did NOT follow her instructions and just went up to 2.25U and that is when I caught her @ 33 +4. On that day, in between syringe feeding her gravy to bring her up, I also gave her the Mirtazapine - to get her to eat .... I THOUGHT maybe I'd overdone the gravy when she went from 89 @ +6.5 to 422 @ +8 ..... but that seems ridiculous. I called the vet when I initially found her and got SOME gravy in her and the vet TOLD ME to drop the dose to 1U that night and 2U in the morning. I did that but the next day when she was PMPS of 337 - I KNEW she'd dive bomb so I took it upon myself to drop to o1.5U and she did go under 50 that night. Then the vet said to drop to 1U. I did but then I increased her to 1.25U on my own and then the other day up to 1.5U ......
Sienne, I want to get this Mirtazapine out of her completely before I increase her dose - I swear that it is interfering with the insulin. I also have her ONLY on LC WET as of last night. That should also change her insulin needs, right? I am afraid to give her TOO much insulin, just have her on LC and the Mirtazapine wear off and then she dive bombs - does this make sense?

PS. She was on 50 / 50 DRY DM & YOUNG AGAIN - which would be at LEAST 9% ....... I am now JUST feeding her UNDER 5%
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

She looks so so mad in the photo!

I see in her SS that she was getting some dry food with DM in it up till yesterday but.... no more now from now on right Bernadette? freeze it!! the YA is fine.. just not the DM.
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

She does look like Grumpy Cat doesn't she! The other thing she reminds me of in that pic was ET flying on the bike! NO MORE DM! PROMISE! I'll save it in case she drops to 33 again - that's all!!!
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

Welcome back, Bern & Tashie.
I often wondered what happened to you guys.
I'm glad both Tashie and you are OK.
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

No - if she drops to 33 again you want to give 1-2 tsp of HC gravy food or LC food with a drop of syrup. Dry food takes too long to bring them up.

Freeze it and save it for if you have problems getting her to eat and need to try anything to get her to eat!
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

Hi Bern, good to see you and Tashie and Boris. Tashie is quite the challenge, isn't she? You are a dedicated bean, doing the best you can for your babies and everyone here understands that. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

You guys are the best! I was SO scared of posting! I thought you'd all throw daggers & spears at me! I am just a mummy that was trying SO hard to take care of my baby girl - the vet made me PROMISE to stay off the board - I guess I can't keep promises when it comes to Tashie ... She also tried to tell me NOT to test AT ALL - finally she agreed to PS testing and I TRIED to adhere ...... but then I had to get a mid day ..........
And then just the other day, speaking to the vet she said that Lantus nadirs @ 12 hours..........WHAT? And that she had spoken to an "expert" and that "clinical hypos" do NOT occur with Lantus ...... and for me NOT to give gravy if I find her low ........and that is when I said to myself - HOW can I possibly listen to her? How?!!!

Thanks for all welcoming me back - and Tashie REALLY thanks you! Hey! She ate a whole can of FF Chopped Grill AND 1/2 can FF Salmon so far today! NO DRY! Yipee!
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

the vet made me PROMISE to stay off the board

o.O that is scarey advice, especially when you always had Tashie's best interest at heart, and the stats of remission are so high here. Wonder if she can say that? :roll:

But we are very glad you decided to ignore that and come back :-D
 
Re: 7/25 Tashie AMPS 340 +4=539 =6.5=HIGH I'm back :-)

OH! I almost forgot one HUGE thing ....... drum roll ......... Tashie got down to 4 pounds 10 ounces ...... she was weighed last week and she is 5 pounds 6 ounces! A piggie! I am shooting for 6 pounds!
 
Welcome back...I'm glad to see you, for Tashie's sake and safety. I hate to say it, but I have to: your vet scares me. No testing, believing clinical hypos don't happen on Lantus, not feeding dangerously low numbers, forbidding you to talk to others with diabetic cats...scary, scary stuff. Stick around....LL will help you AND keep Tashie safe!
 
Is that an alternate spelling for Tashie in her SS link? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Bernadette, you should know us better by know. We will always welcome people back with open arms. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

We also understand that you wanted to try something else and were following your vets advice. Sorry to see that did not work out better for you and Tashie.

Tashie, aka Naraschia did not look at all happy to be at the vet.

Yeah on her gaining weight! She's not such a skinny mini any more. Still a dainty little princess though and we love her for that.

Some people have said the notifications are going to their spam folder. You might want to check that.
 
Oh! Deb (& Wink too) glad you like Tashie's new spelling ......we are TRYING to be "undercover" agents and enter the board as special agents .......we THOUGHT nobody would be able to tell it was "us" the "Drama Queens" if we changed the spelling of our names ...... BUSTED! Thanks for being SO DAMN GREAT! Ooops - can I say that?
 
Why do you think we send people "Healing Vines" instead of "Healing Vibes"? Because someone fumble fingered it often enough it stuck! :o :shock: :o

Darn, you changed her SS link. We'll always remember our dear Naraschia. ;-)
 
It sounds like the expert your vet spoke with is an expert in human diabetes. The information the vet has is correct -- for humans. In people, Lantus is dosed once a day and the nadir is at +12. Your vet is forgetting that a cat's metabolism is twice as fast as a humans. Thus, cats need twice a day injections and the nadir is roughly around +6. While clinical/symptomatic hypoglycemia is less of an issue than with shorter acting insulin, we've seen cats that have been over dose and have symptomatic hypoglycemic episodes.

It's certainly possible that the mirtazepine is having an effect on Tashie. It would be uncommon but it's possible. Once you stop the medication, you'll be able to tell.
 
Hello, welcome! What a beautiful cat Tashie is! I don't think I visited your condos when you were on here before, but I wanted to say hi because I have definitely seen my share of "HIGH" on the meter with Papaya, too . . . black alternated with every other colour of the rainbow. It has been a very frustrating bouncy bouncy journey and I have taken some breaks from posting on the board here too. Finally I am starting to figure out what works for Papaya and we're starting to see much better numbers consistently . . . I hope things will go as well for you. So hang in there, everyone is rooting for Tashie :thumbup
 
Sorry to be so late in welcoming the two of you back! I'm happy to hear Tashie is gaining weight.

It is scary what your vet told you but hopefully, we can help you help her get back on track. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top