7/25 Skooter +11 284 PMPS 318 +2 244 +3 159 +4 137 +5.5 124

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's Condo

420?! What the ?! :o :shock: :?

I must say I am more than a bit surprised that this red seems to have come out of no where. Last night I thought I might have given a fur shot, but then was I was testing and he was going down, I figured I didn't. The only other explanation I have is a bounce, but not sure from what. Normally he bounces right away, and the most recent dip into the greens was 07/23/14. Any thoughts? I know this is a one time thing (as of right now), so I am assuming I should not be OVERLY concerned? It sure is hard not to think of this as a set back, but I am going to do my best not to get down.


Today is a day where it would be pretty difficult for me to come home at lunch to check on him. Is there a concern that he would do a HUGE drop from the 420 where I should try to rearrange my schedule, or because he is starting off so high, perhaps he was just being kind to me knowing it would be difficult for me to get home today?

My heart is breaking with all the posts of kitties (and their beans) that are facing challenges in the coming weeks and months. Sending extra healing vines, hugs, thoughts and prayers to all who need them.

Have a wonderful Friday LL!
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420

Did you happen to grab a second test, in case the first test stip was wonky? That's one thing we always try to do whenever we see a number that doesn't quite fit the pattern. ANy chance Skooter could have gotten into contraband? There are some kitties who do do a delayed bounce...one of the wonderful unpredictables of FD :roll: !

It's hard to say for sure if he could drop too far, but looking at his trends, he should be safe, especially if that 420 is an accurate reading.

Be safe, Skooter!!
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420

I probably should have, but I was in such shock at the 420 and had to get to work.....kicking myself now for not taking a second reading and doing an average.

There is no contraband left for him to get at. One of the nice parts of having only one cat, I guess.

The only other thing I can think of is, once again, my alarm didn't wake me up for the test I wanted to do, so I am wondering after the 113 last night, if he dropped further and I missed it and that is why he is bouncing.

Regardless, I am once again re-arranging my schedule so I can go home and poke the lil bugger as I will be a wreck all day if I don't. Now I have to remember not to freak out if the number is super low because maybe the first reading WAS wonky..... :roll: oy vey....
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420

A second reading would really just confirm if the initial reading was accurate or not. There are all sorts of things that could potentially throw off a test - bad strip, not enough blood, I've even heard that too much blood can sometimes be an issue. So you wouldn't necessarily average the two readings, especially if the second reading is drastically different than the first.

No kicking yourself, though! We all do the best we can with what we have in front of us, and FD is a constant learning process. Let us know what happens at lunchtime!
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420

I've had wonky highs and wonky lows. Once I got a LO and freaked. I fed him and took a reduction. Then after looking at what happened next we figured out it was a meter/bean error. I bought a second meter for times like that and have used it several times. I'm so glad I did that.
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420

Did you get the same kind? I have the micro right now, so if I wanted to do that, would I get another micro or a different one?
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420

I have five meters. Ok...I'm the president of Glucometer Addicts Anonymous. There's a good reason I have that many but I won't bore you.

My backup to my micro is a micro. That is what I'd suggest.

He could have gone lower last night. If you look at the night before, he was at 112 @+4.5 and 93 @ +5.5. It's just one number and for now we have to assume it was correct. He was headed up (251 @ +8) and fairly fast.
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420

I shall pick up another micro then on my way home....

It will be an excuse to pick up the last two seasons of NCIS I don't have as well I guess lolol


This cat, he is driving me nuts!!!

If he really wanted attention this badly, he could learn how to cook and clean instead.... :roll:
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420

Dumb question I just thought of....

Should I label one as the back up to keep them straight or does it matter?
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420

My backup is an Arkray because I could get it from ADW where I often buy test strips. My original is a Micro but I don't live near a Walmart so I order strips on line for it. Since they can use the same strips that is what I did as the Arkray is the generic of the Micro. I find they are almost always with in meter variance of each other and I can interchange the test strips and get the same results.
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420

If he really wanted attention this badly, he could learn how to cook and clean instead

What a fantastic idea!! Why hasn't anyone else thought of that?? If you get that working, you make sure to pass along your tips on how you made it happen!! :lol:

Not really necessary to mark one meter "Primary" and the other "backup" but no good reason not to either....you could just put your new backup in your hypo drawer so you know where it is when you need it
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420

chris has a good suggestion to put the back-up meter in with your hypo kit. that'll help keep you straight on which one you're using.

if you got mixed up you could always look at the numbers in memory and figure out which one you're using.
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420

I have my two meters in the same drawer for easy and quick access. I just got a permanent marker and, on the back on the label, put a "1" on the primary and a "2" on the backup. Easy peasy.
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420 +4.75 244

I am not sure what to make of this number to try and figure out if the 420 was accurate or not, but oh well.

I came home, he hadn't touched his frozen....I then cut it up and he went ate it then took several sips of water, which I am trying not to freak out about, because I am monitoring him and his numbers are coming down so significantly. I am just gonna say it is one of those things.

I think at this point I will have to cave and get the timed feeder, my only fear is that the reason he is not eating is because he wants an audience, vs it being the frozen food. At this point, if he wants an audience, I may have to also invest in a mannequin, dress it up and try to fool him :roll: :roll: :roll: Silly boy! I can totally tell you ate when I come home and your plate is clean....oh well.....

Have to run to the bank after work now, as that was going to be my lunch, so of course I am worried as I won't get home until it is pretty much time to T/F/S again....

I must keep telling myself, this will get easier, this will get easier, this will get easier....I might even start believing it soon....
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420 +4.75 244

I don't remember exactly which one it is, but there is an autofeeder that lets you record your voice ....maybe you could get that one and "talk" to him while he's eating :lol:

How's his weight? There's one more possibility....that now that he's under better control, he's not needing to eat as much since his body is able to get the glucose out of the food now.

Are we having fun yet?....LOL
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420 +4.75 244

It's possible Skooter got a fur shot last night. That would have been my guess.
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420 +4.75 244 +11 284

Chris - If by "fun" you mean feeling like you are never gonna understand this and just when you think you have one part down, BOOM it goes to heck, then I am having a BLAST!

Julie - I guess I could try leaving the tv on....put a tv on repeat for him, see if that helps...

Fluffbunny (soryy I do not know your name yet) - As for the fur shot, it is possible I guess.....I am curious since his +4.75 was 244 and his +11 is 284 how much further he dove down today.

He seems to be getting a wee bit more into his water, and I am not sure if that is just me being paranoid or what. He is definitely drinking less water than he did before his insulin, I was filling it pretty much every day, and now it is every 3 or 4 days or so, but. I must stop being such a mother hen and watching his every move as I will drive me AND him crazy if I keep that up.......

welpers Soon it will be time for PMPS T/F/S and then see what kind of wild ride I will be in for tonight....

My dearest Skooter, please work with your momma a weeeeee bit more so we can both start feeling 100% again.....
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420 +4.75 244 +11 284 PMPS 318

I must remember that Skooter is more than just a number and that I must give this time to work, but *%W$(*%&*$ that 420 today just threw me for a loop. I am not really impressed with his PMPS either.

I know his number is not the end all be all, but I just wish for his sake, that he could get into those lovely blues and greens and stay there.....

And I am great at telling others to give it time and to relax and let the insulin do its thing, but apparently I am not good at following my own advice.

I just feel stupid for allowing a stupid number to basically ruin my day/night. He was doing so well, earned himself a reduction. Now I am thinking it will be back up to 2.25 for this guy, right?
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420 +4.75 244 +11 284 PMPS 318

I feel your frustration. I've been at this since November with a 3 week fake break in December. My vet thought Max might be in remission but he wasn't. For some this is a short time and bang, remission. For the rest of us it's a marathon. My friends and family keep telling me how they have had cats that were diabetic and all they did was give two shots a day and occasionally bring their cat to the vet for a curve. Well, if Max was treated like that he wouldn't be here now. All this to say, take some deep breaths and realize this might not get fixed for some time. As many around here say, put on your patience pants. I'm not saying that Skooter won't be off insulin in a month or two. You don't have enough data to know that. I'm constantly trying to figure this dance out but every time I think I get it, Max throws me a curve ball. I still don't know when to raise Max's insulin so the pros will have to help you with that. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420 +4.75 244 +11 284 PMPS 318 +2 244

SIGH.....Such a frustrating night......


I am guessing there isn't going to be much improvement tonight, so I am wondering if I go back to the 2.25 u dose?

I am feeling so defeated tonight.....I just really wish I knew where the 420 came from this morning.....
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420 +4.75 244 +11 284 PMPS 318 +2 244

PLEASE don't feel defeated. He is likely bouncing from the green and the red might be the high before it stops.
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420 +4.75 244 +11 284 PMPS 318 +2 244

Hi Molly and Scooter!

I haven't posted on Scooter's condo yet, but I've been following along. Nice to see someone else in the TC metro area. :-D

It looks like Scooter's +2 is a fair bit lower than his PMPS. He may be planning on bounce clearing for you tonight yet. I'd probably plan on getting another test or two yet tonight. :smile:
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter AMPS 420 +4.75 244 +11 284 PMPS 318 +2 244

Alarm is set for +3 just to see what direction and how fast he is going....

After that, hoping to be able to give his ears a lil break and do a +5......his +3 is in about 25 minutes so we shall see.....it would be nice if he would clear the bounce and I could wake up to some numbers I am getting very much used to and liking (IE BLUE)
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter +4.75 244 +11 284 PMPS 318 +2 244 +3 159

Careful what I wish for I guess.....I was hoping for a high blue....

cutting his mg/dL in half in three hours is a bit faster than I would have wanted, but perhaps he is clearing his bounce or whatever his today was?

Is it appropriate to do a +3.5 at this point or a +4?
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter +4.75 244 +11 284 PMPS 318 +2 244 +3 159

I think you'd be OK with waiting till +4. :smile:
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter +4.75 244 +11 284 PMPS 318 +2 244 +3 159

Please behave Skooter - gentle slides are the best. Bounces can also be caused by steep drops (over 60 pts an hour), so you might be in for one of those again tomorrow. :roll: The good news is that he's clearing them fairly quickly now. :-D
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter +4.75 244 +11 284 PMPS 318 +2 244 +3 159

Yeah, I had a feeling when I saw the +3 that the next 2 or 3 cycles would be interesting.

Good thing I missed my 5K then, eh? I thought it was tomorrow night, but alas it was on the 23rd :(. Oh well, I have another one in August (The Glo Run), so hopefully all works out for that one.

confused_cat Am I good to stay with the 2u at least for a few more cycles to see what happens through these bounces? confused_cat

I have also learned my lesson.....attempting to stay up as late as possible as I can't seem to hear my alarm. however, after his +4, I may have to try to get a few hours sleep and set like 7 alarms to go off for a +6 :lol:

I am now really thinking he must have gone a wee bit lower than the 113 last night and am thinking the 420 that I surprisingly saw was a result of that. It makes me wonder exactly how low he went last night.....
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter +4.75 244 +11 284 PMPS 318 +2 244 +3 159 +4

Since he is still coming down, do I need to do a +5 or because he is starting to slow his decrease can I wait til +6?
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter +4.75 244 +11 284 PMPS 318 +2 244 +3 159 +4

Since (if I remember right) he's getting his last meal now, you're probably good to wait until +6

And yes...stick with the current 2 unit dose a little longer
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter +11 284 PMPS 318 +2 244 +3 159 +4 137 +5.5

I didn't get the last message until I already poked him.

I am thinking he should be good now until morning....yes?
 
Re: 7/25 Skooter +4.75 244 +11 284 PMPS 318 +2 244 +3 159 +4

he's definitely clearing a bounce tonight. When you're wondering about increasing the dose, just go look at the protocol page.

There are 2 ways you could evaluate what to do next with his dose. If you read the part on failed reductions, below, it tells you immediately that you should increase Skooter's dose back to 2.25u. He earned a reduction at 2.25u, but his numbers didn't stay in good numbers in every cycle after you reduced.

Reductions:
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.

So right here, it tells you that a need to increase the dose because of a failed reduction trumps the "guidelines listed under the topic "increasing the dose".

However, If you were just looking at the protocol under increasing the dose, Skooter's Sheet of Magic Numbers tells us that you've held this dose for 13 cycles. With tight regulation, you want to re-evaluate the dose every 6-10 cycles and decide what the numbers tell you about how well this dose is working. Not counting the first cycle, which would've still been very impacted by the previous dose, he's had 4 cycles with green nadirs out of those 13 cycles. The goal of TR is for all numbers to be in the normal range, 50-120. I see 4 cycles of green and would think there's no question that he should have a dose increase by these guidelines either.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.

if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

So yes, Skooter needs a dose increase. I hope this helps.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top