7/25-Scratchie-AMPS-311

  • Thread starter Thread starter Scratchie'smom
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Scratchie'smom

7/23 Condo

Good morning all! Hopefully it is ok for me to start posting here. I've been on the Lantus TR site, and Relaxed but thought I'd try posting here for a while as there seems to be more action. Scratchie has been on Lev for about 2 months (started on 5/18/13) thanks to some angels (Mel and Claudia) who sent me some Lev to try. When I realized how much better he does on Lev I've been fighting with the vet to get him switched from Lantus and he finally wrote me a prescription on Monday as I was very insistent and told him I would go elsewhere if he didn't do it. Then on Tuesday night his office called and wanted to know what I had given Scratchie to get rid of his neuropathy. I guess we are back to being friendly. :lol: :lol:

Started a new pen on Monday night with PM shot and his numbers seem to be getting more where he was a week or so ago. He is happy, playful and all good things! Negative on Ketones. Scratchie is very slow (just to give some history) into settling into doses - very very slow and that is why we couldn't follow TR, so we kind of do what's best for him. Goal is remission and we are almost at the 1-1/2 year mark since his dx. I work 10+ hours per day so can only get daytime tests on the weekend, always get a test before bed (except the last little bit, fell down the stairs so needed time to recover) but will gladly stay up all night if I need to when his numbers require that. I've posted here occasionally before to get feedback from Sheila so guess we'll see how it goes. (just wanted to give you a little background, but not bore you with a lot of details).

Wishing everyone great numbers, safe surfs and healing vines to all that need them. Have a great day!

Jo
 
Not so much action in this forum.

You're welcome to keep posting in the Relaxed Lantus Group, if you wish.
 
Hello Jo- I guess with Mel out there isn't much past the other 4 or 5 every day posters on the relaxed forum. I've not been on much as we are gearing up for school and I've been busy. But you can post where you want to just remember that we just don't have that much traffic these days.

That is good news for Scratchie- getting more Lev as he is better on it. And your vet will hopefully come around to the fact that there are many ways to treat FD. Hopefully with the Lev your remission goal will be coming up in the future.

I, too, work a lot so get a lot of my testing done overnight and on Sunday when I can. If your going to be up at 1 AM for a potty break might as well catch a test in when you can :roll: :lol:
 
Hi Jo. Nice to hear that Scratchie is feeling better on lev.

I see you just increased his dose. I wonder if from a starting point of 3u that a half unit increase would be better? That is just above the 15% than I generally suggest for dose changes (10-15%) to not upset the balance and start swings from high to low. What do you think? He seems to be sitting in the 300s right now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top