7/25 Rupert AMPS 232, +2 156 +6 59 +9 156

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=75643&p=818300#p818300

numbers:
AMPS 324
+1.5 246.6
+6 118.8
PMPS 252
+2.5 271.8
+4 217.8

Not a bad day yesterday for Rupert, and still surfing in the yellow for this mornign... which makes me a tad nervous! So I've told the cat sitter to shoot 'just a hair under' 2.0 whilst we are gone. My main concern is that there won't be anyone around to give Rupie snacks in the evening after 7pm. I'll get her to shoot him, then feed the horses and then check back at the house when she leaves and put a little more in front of him. I"m sure he'll be fine and I"m sure the s2.0 isn't enough just yet, but he's been doing so well lately I'm just a little paranoid!!

He looks great this morning, I still have a ton of stuff to do before we leave here at about 3pm so will be in and out but will get several tests to get an idea where he's going. I gave him a 2.0 this morning instead of the 2.25 to let the shed drain a little. hopefully this isn't going to send him skyrocketing to somewhere too nasty whilst we are gone and I can get him back when we return. She'll be giving him a total of 4 maybe 5 cycles at a lowered dose.
nailbite_smile

Beautiful day here today, sun already shining at 7am, have a feeling I'm gong to get sunburnt at the horse show!
 
Re: 7/25 Rupert AMPS 232, cat sitter taking over this PM

Even since it'll be a skinny dose, you're still getting insulin into him. You can always get him back on track tomorrow. I know with Blackie, if there's a tiny change in anything be it food, activity around here, or dose, she usually goes a bit wonky in her #s. :lol: He's got plenty of room to move towards better #s. Hang in there. You're doing a great job! :-D And have fun, too! :-D
 
Re: 7/25 Rupert AMPS 232, cat sitter taking over PM, stress

Dont worry Pip, Rupert will be fine. You enjoy yourself at the horse show and get back to him later. Have fun!
 
Re: 7/25 Rupert AMPS 232, cat sitter taking over PM, stress

Hi guys .. no worries on rupert .. He will be fine, go on and focus on what needs to be done .. enjoy yourself!!
 
Re: 7/25 Rupert AMPS 232, +2 156

thanx everyone! still stressing but not as much! I"m sure he'll be fine, he's a clever boy! He has hit the blues running this morning.. hoping he's not setting himself up for a wicked bounce on top of a reduced dose...... guess we'll see where he goes.

back to cleaning horses for me!
 
Re: 7/25 Rupert AMPS 232, +2 156

Hi Pip,

Hope you have a nice trip and that Rupert's numbers stay in a decent range while you're gone. I feel you pain. I know how stressful it can be to leave our kitties in the hands of others who may not be able to monitor as closely as we do. Ella is off to my parents for nearly 3 weeks! I'm prepared for some major set backs which is unfortunate but I know she will be loved and that is very important to me.
 
Re: 7/25 Rupert AMPS 232, +2 156

hi pip! you have a timed feeder, don't you? with his excellent diving skills, if i were you, i think i'd have the cat sitter leave food for him for every cycle at +2, +2.5, +3 and +3.5 to catch him at the bottom of his dives, just for insurance.

if you don't have one, i don't know if you have a Petco there, but they carry a 5 compartment feeder made by PetSafe that we use. perhaps you could still get one before you go. with 5 compartments, one is exposed, so you can set 4 of them to open in each cycle, and the timer allows 8 or 10 settings per 24 hrs, i believe.

don't forget to leave a sample syringe with colored water (pop, tea, whatever) as an example for her.

have a great vacation!
 
Re: 7/25 Rupert AMPS 232, +2 156 +6 59

Julie - we don't have a timed feeder.. we have five cats in the house, one who is a super hog so it won't work. That's why I'm a bit stressed. That being said, Oliver gets really skittish with different people and will probably hide and I told Noelle to overfill all the cat bowls so there will be some for Rupie to eat. but we won't be able to leave stuff out for him to snack on over night (folks coming at +6 each day to feed him, but obviously not at midnight so overnight is when I'm a little worried). Still, I've lowered his dose almost .5 so he should be okay.... nailbite_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top