7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +3.5 61 +4 56 +4.5 63 +5 64 +5.5 69

Status
Not open for further replies.

KarensPoe

Member Since 2013
Yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=100675

Yesterday:
AMPS 181
+2 115
+2.5 110
+3 96
+3.5 68
+4 71
+5 75
+6.25 138
+ 11 243
PMPS 237
+2 334
+ 4.5 252

Busy AM cycle yesterday, thanks to Sienne who helped me surf Poe safely. Although I wondered last night if I was seeing a bounce already. Poe surfed on LC food, which he seems to do pretty well.

We'll see what today's cycle brings, it's the 4th cycle in this dose.

Vines and scritches to all the kitties today especially for smooth safe surfs. We are closer to the weekend beans :RAHCAT
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +2 106 eyes again please :)

Big drop from PMPS to +2, so I'm asking that someone be around to help me surf him safe again. He seems to do well on LC when I surf him, testing again in 30 min (+2.5). He hasn't eaten since dinner, and I'm holding off on food until I see what the +2.5 is

Thank You
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +2 106 eyes again please :)

Hey Karen!

Lovely cycle yesterday. That is a huge drop. If it were me, I would test 30 mins after I fed that LC and see if it slowed the drop. If it didn't, I'd probably feed a higher LC (10% or do) or a medium carb and try to get him slowed down. I will be on to help you.
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +2 106 eyes again please :)

I think we cross posted. Go ahead and get the +2.5 and then feed...you might need something higher than LC to stop the drop if he's still diving.

We can talk about a few other things when you get back with the number.
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +2 106 eyes again please :)

ooopss well I gave him a bit of LC, but snatched it back...he got a few good bites in him. I don't have any MC, only LC and HC...will that be a problem? +2.5 in about 20 min or so
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +2 106 eyes again please :)

Sorry...I keep missing your post.....if you still have 20 mins, then yes, go ahead and feed him LC...a couple tsp. then test 30 mins after you feed which will be just a few after +2.5. I thought it was almost time for the +2.5....as in a few minutes.
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +2 106 eyes again please :)

ok I fed him 2 tspns of the LC... +2.5 will be in about 5-ish min
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +2 106 eyes again please :)

Ok! Gotcha now :-D

I know Poe has not been a diver in the past. But, in the future, if, at high numbers like this, his +2 is more than meter variance less than PS, I'd feed a couple tsp of LC right away to slow the drop. Fast drops can cause bounces just like lower numbers.
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +2 106 + 2.5 57 eyes again please :)

Two tsps ...good tsp...of HC gravy and a drop of karo. Test in 30. Don't get carried away on the karo...just a bit.
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +2 106 + 2.5 57 eyes again please :)

ok gave him 2 fat tpsns and a drop of karo...I got a few of the chuncks in there though, hope thats ok...next test in about 20 min
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +2 106 + 2.5 57 eyes again please :)

That's fine.

Normally, I would not suggest HC for the 50s and I usually reserve the karo for bringing up numbers in the 30s. But it's way too early for him to drop so fast and you have a long cycle ahead so lets see if we can get him slowed down.

You will have to be vigilant because the HC will wear off in an hour or two.

See you in a few.
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +2 106 + 2.5 57 eyes again please :)

Yes, and normally I do feed him again after the +2, and it would have been more, but when I saw that 106, I wanted him to surf and maybe earn a reduction and get in those pancreas healing numbers :-D
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +2 106 + 2.5 57 eyes again please :)

Normally if they drop that fast, they aren't going to surf until you slow the drop. The goal is to slow the early drop and then get them to surf.

Take a look at Gabbys SS. She is very sensitive to the gluten in HC gravy and so Sienne uses LC and honey to slow her drops and get her to surf. Sienne is a master at this :-D
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +2 106 + 2.5 57 +3 49

Good..he slowed down. Now lets see if we can get him to surf. Two more tsp gravy...NO karo.

Test in 30.

eta: and he earned the .25u reduction :-D
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +2 106 + 2.5 57 +3 49

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT

This is the first time since I started giving him insulin steadily and following the protocol that he's done this. The biggest drop from PS to +2 that I can recall, although I'd have to look at his ss. Too busy watching him and playing with him lol
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +2 106 + 2.5 57 +3 49

I did look closely at his SS and you are lucky he does not typically do these dives.
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +2 106 + 2.5 57 +3 49

Yes, and I dont know if it has anything to do with it, but I think his metabolism is slower...I still am not really sure where his nadir is
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +2 106 + 2.5 57 +3 49

Karen

I have to T/F/S Gracie...takes about 15 mins. On the next test, if he's 50s/60s, give him two tsp of LC and retest in 30. If he's 70s, give him one tsp and test in 30. BBS.
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +2 106 + 2.5 57 +3 49 +3.5 61 +4 56

HC wearing off. It's ok...2 tsp LC. Back in 30.....lather, rinse, repeat :-D
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +3 49 +3.5 61 +4 56 +4.5 63

You can either not feed and see how he does and test in 30 or feed him one tsp and try and give him an hour.
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +3 49 +3.5 61 +4 56 +4.5 63

If I wait and test in 30 with no food, and he rises, we still need another rising number after that without food, correct?
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +3 49 +3.5 61 +4 56 +4.5 63

His number now is food influenced so its best to have two, rising non food influenced numbers.

If you don't feed, test in 30, if he's up, don't feed, test in 30 more and if he's up, you're probably ok.
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +3 49 +3.5 61 +4 56 +4.5 63

ok back with +5 in about 20 min

Once I get him to a place where he has 2 rising numbers without any food influence, will it be ok to feed him then, cause he's wanting food now
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +3 49 +3.5 61 +4 56 +4.5 63

CONGRATULATIONS ON THE REDUCTION!!

doesn't that make you thrilled!! oh ,,,such great news for you two!!
:razz:
just dropping in to say you are doing great!!

it looks like we both started LAntus about the same time.....I am glad Poe is responding to his juice! Some days you just doubt if this is really going to work!? If the insulin is the right choice?! If you are even injecting the cat to begin with or just dreaming it?!!!!!! so frustrating
:evil:

but not today-there is no doubt

enjoy your victory

~kelly
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +3 49 +3.5 61 +4 56 +4.5 63

Yes !! He was almost due for an increase too, so I'm doubly happy :-D

Thanks for dropping by :) I could have never done this without all the awesome people here !!
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +3 49 +3.5 61 +4 56 +4.5 63

Once I get him to a place where he has 2 rising numbers without any food influence, will it be ok to feed him then, cause he's wanting food now

Yes, you could feed him and go to bed....leave some food out.
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +3 49 +3.5 61 +4 56 +4.5 63 +5 64

ok his +5 is 63, no different, will do a +5.5 and see if he's rising, but does the +5 count as a rising without food or no?
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +3 49 +3.5 61 +4 56 +4.5 63 +5 64

He's not falling so that's good!

Do you prefer to give him until +6 or do you want to test at +5.5? I think if he's up then, you can feed and go to bed.
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +3 49 +3.5 61 +4 56 +4.5 63 +5 64

If I can skip his +11 in the morning, I could handle going to +6. Otherwise, I have to get up for work, and that extra hour would be nice... :-D
 
Re: 7/25 Poe PMPS 228 +3 49 +3.5 61 +4 56 +4.5 63 +5 64

+ 5.5 is 69, so he's holding and on the way up. Putting out LC to keep him through the night snacks and calling it a night. Will probably be up for the +11 just cause it's habit now.
 
Thank you, Marje, for staying with me. I can't tell you how much I appreciate it as I'm still learning as I go.

If I do wake up in the night, in all honesty though, I RARELY do :lol: ...I will give him a poke and see where he's at.

Thank you again...good night to you, and pleasant dreams when you get there. :-D
 
You're welcome! I was happy to do it. I hope it was a good learning experience for fast dropping numbers.n you did super.

Sweet dreams to you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top