7/25 Oscar AMPS 557, +2 396, +4 246, +6 231, +8 271, PMPS 434, +2 452, +6 366

Yes she can go up to 1.5 units. I would also advice testing daily for ketones if not already doing it.
Hi Andrea,

Sorry no one responded last night wrt dosing.

@Bron and Sheba (GA) With nadirs over 300, can Andrea take the dose up to 1.5U? She is following TR. If not then 1.25U?
Thank you both! Will up the dosage and I am trying to test for ketones but have yet to be able to catch him in the box. I will follow him around all day today if I have to so I can test. I am very grateful for the help.
 
Hi Andrea. Sure hoping the increase will get Oscar out of the blacks. If you are following TR can you update your spread sheet? It is still showing SLGS.
 
Hi Andrea. Sure hoping the increase will get Oscar out of the blacks. If you are following TR can you update your spread sheet? It is still showing SLGS.
To be honest, I’m not sure what protocol to follow. I just want him to get better. Do majority on Lantus do TR?
 
To be honest, I’m not sure what protocol to follow. I just want him to get better. Do majority on Lantus do TR?
If you are feeding 100% LC wet (no dry) and can get at least 2 tests per cycle (1 pre-shot and 1 in the cycle), I would strongly recommend that you follow TR. It is a more aggressive protocol with the dose being evaluated every 3 days. It will enable you to get Oscar to his "good dose" sooner.

With SLGS you hold doses for a week and increase by 0.25 once a week. Considering Oscar's numbers, you don't want that. Not only is it hard on his kidneys to stay at such high levels for so long, there is also the chance of glucose toxicity setting in (glucose toxicity is a temporary resistance to insulin that develops when the cat stays in high numbers for very long. The cat's body starts treating high numbers as the new normal and it takes longer and more insulin to break through to lower numbers).

If testing continue to be a challenge, you can switch to SLGS once Oscar starts seeing better numbers.
 
If you are feeding 100% LC wet (no dry) and can get at least 2 tests per cycle (1 pre-shot and 1 in the cycle), I would strongly recommend that you follow TR. It is a more aggressive protocol with the dose being evaluated every 3 days. It will enable you to get Oscar to his "good dose" sooner.

With SLGS you hold doses for a week and increase by 0.25 once a week. Considering Oscar's numbers, you don't want that. Not only is it hard on his kidneys to stay at such high levels for so long, there is also the chance of glucose toxicity setting in (glucose toxicity is a temporary resistance to insulin that develops when the cat stays in high numbers for very long. The cat's body starts treating high numbers as the new normal and it takes longer and more insulin to break through to lower numbers).

If testing continue to be a challenge, you can switch to SLGS once Oscar starts seeing better numbers.
Okay, great. No I can do two each cycle on a regular basis. He’s down to 396 at +2. Seems like a big drop. Is that a good thing?
 
It’s a big drop but nothing to worry about. If he were under 200 you would need to test again in an hour. Can you test again in 2-3 hours? Lantus kicks in around+2. When that test shows a big drop it means he will have an active cycle.

To test Max’s urine I put Saran Wrap over the litter and tested where it gathered.
 
It’s a big drop but nothing to worry about. If he were under 200 you would need to test again in an hour. Can you test again in 2-3 hours? Lantus kicks in around+2. When that test shows a big drop it means he will have an active cycle.

To test Max’s urine I put Saran Wrap over the litter and tested where it gathered.
246 at +4. I’ll check again at +6. Maybe I’ll try the Saran Wrap trick. I have two cats, but it can’t hurt to test all the urine.
 
Yeaaaaaa, Andrea. Yellow! I am so happy to see you out of the black and red. I agree with Bhooma. Because Oscar is in such high numbers you should follow TR at least until you can get his numbers down. Once they are down, if you can't increase your testing when necessary, you can go back to SLGS. Keep posting everyday so you can get the help you need. Bhooma and Elise are a couple of the best!
 
Pretty normal? Definitely not as good as this morning, but I know we just switched doses and it takes days to see how it will be. Come on patience!
 
It takes 4-6 cycles for the depot to adjust to the change. Waiting is hard! :-)
When he is that flat at +2, you needn't stay up or set an alarm for another test at night.
 
Back
Top