7/25 Nikki AMPS 81; +.75 76; PMPS 252; +2 240

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexis & Nikki (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Well this is somewhat unexpected! She had a couple mouthfuls of food while I was doing her test. I'm stalling for a half hour but have to go to work after that. Will not be home until at least 8 tonight. Thinking of giving either .5u or 1u just to hold her from bouncing. I don't feel comfortable shooting a full dose this low yet when I have to go to work....Thoughts?
 
Re: 7/25 Nikki AMPS 77 - shooting help?

I'll say one thing. You've been changing the dose a lot lately.

She does have some nice blues lately. I wouldn't want to loose the momentum.
If she is rising at the next test, I think I would give the 1.00 BCS dose and leave extra food out, but that's me and what I would do with my cat.
You know your cat best. You are the one that has to go to work and worry or not. You hold the syringe, so you need to do what makes you feel most comfortable. 0.50 would add something to the depot, too.
Go with what your gut tells you.

I'm hoping we can get you on a consistant dose, here, shortly.
 
Re: 7/25 Nikki AMPS 77 - shooting help?

I'm hoping to spend the weekend on 2u so I can figure out how low she's going on it. Unfortunately I've had to be away a couple of times so the dosing is definitely inconsistent. I know it's not what's best but I'm doing my best to keep her safe. After next week I'll be around for a whole month and hopefully able to get that dose settled.

Will test now and see where she is.
 
Re: 7/25 Nikki AMPS 81

She hung out right around 75-80 for an hour, so I gave 1u and left food for +2.5; +5; +8. nailbite_smile

I need a job that let's me stay at home! :lol:
 
Re: 7/25 Nikki AMPS 81; +.75 76

Wow Nikki! Way to be green! But you are stressin' your mama!

Alexis, just do what makes you comfortable, especially if you can't come home and check on her. I thought I was going to have a nervous breakdown yesterday and I wish I had just skipped that shot or gave him ALOT less. I can't miss work like that again so I may find myself facing that decision again. If I lose my job, Bob will be in trouble cuz I won't be able to buy his insulin or expensive food. :o

I don't know if this is an option (money-wise), but there are bonded pet sitters who could probably come check on her on the days you think she's running low. It probably wouldn't cost too much if they weren't watching her for a long time - they could just make sure she eats, etc. I'm somewhat fortunate that my mom lives pretty close and on her days off she will sometimes check on Bob. Or you could feed high carb in the timed feeder? Not sure how Nikki reacts, but the nasty high carb FF didn't effect bob's BG too much - it just raised it nicely so I could relax a little. Not sure if that's something Nikki can eat though with her belly issues.

I know it's tough. Bottom line - you can only do what you can do. You've done a good job so far.
 
Re: 7/25 Nikki AMPS 81; +.75 76

She's definitely feeling on the right track! Now the bean needs to get with the program. :roll: Hopefully I'll feel more confident once I get the data on shooting low this weekend. I'm really hoping she earns a reduction if I give her a full dose for 3 days in a row! :mrgreen:

I hear ya on the work thing. I can work from home sometimes but my boss doesn't like me to miss meetings and I want to save the work from home days for when it's really urgent. If she'd dropped before I left I would have stayed home. But seriously, I need a job! :lol:

Thankfully Nikki eats anything I put in front of her and she knows the sound of her feeder. :lol: Unless it's during her morning siesta, in which case she's left food. Unfortunately my petsitters can't test. I know Nikki is a bit difficult but if my friend could do it, they should be able to also. I had a heck of a time the last time the petsitters took care of her because they let her get away with her cr*p and then she tried to pull it on me when I got home. :evil: She just doesn't like being handled and will try and bite to get out of it. :roll: I may need to find better sitters....

At any rate, I cut my dinner plans short to a quick drink after work and will be home to check on her by 7. My commute is between 40 -75 minutes depending on traffic so there is no chance of getting home during the day. Now I wish I'd gotten the job I applied for this winter that was only 15 minutes from home! ;-)
 
Re: 7/25 Nikki AMPS 81; +.75 76

One thought re. a petsitter is to check at your vet's office. Often the vet techs will do petsitting on the side.
 
Re: 7/25 Nikki AMPS 81; +.75 76; PMPS 252

Number surprisingly not bad tonight. Hopefully she'll co-operate so I can keep her on the 2u until the weekend and get a sense of how low I can shoot...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top