7/25 Ella PMPS 245 +1=212+2.5=236+3.5=184

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
yestersay: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=75631

Hello all,

My computer ison the fritz:( Everytime I turn it on the fan starts kicking in and it gets super hot so I'm going to give it a bit of a break today as I don't want it to explode in my face. Ella and I will be moving to my parent's home tonight for a sleep over so I will check in from there. I'll be settling her in until Thursday evening. She's still on 1 u which managed to bring her down to 102 yesterday so if she doesn't earn a reduction by Thursday evening, I'm thinking it would be safe to cut the dose back to .75. I'm sure my mom would prefer .5 as it's easier to dose but I would like to keep Ella in a decent range. Will check in for advice after we've seen some of her numbers. Something to keep in mind of is that she possibly could have gotten lower as the vet visit may have brought her up a bit. Hoping this bounce and/or fur shot clears quickly so we can see what this dose can do.
 
Re: 7/25 Ella AMPS 333

Come on down Ella! Ugh on the computer problems. We do have a hard time getting by without them though. Good luck at your parents. Ella will do great! Have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 7/25 Ella AMPS 333

How annoying! Sorry about that computer issue, Tamara!
We'll look out for some more numbers from Ella, regarding the dosecrease query you had, k? See you when you can *safely* post again :smile:

Jane
 
Re: 7/25 Ella AMPS 333

Ok, Miss Ella... Ease on down from that high #, ok? Show your Momma Bean that you can give her better #s.

Not good on the computer. It may sound like that the power supply fan is going, or has gone. I've had to replace my power supply last month because the fan kept making a weird noise, and it was loud. Hoping that it's as simple as that for you. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/25 Ella AMPS 333

Hi guys .. ok ella, let's see what you can do today! I'm sure your parents will do fine with the shots/testing .. ella, be a good girl for your grandbeans .. sorry to hear about the computer problems .. have a great day/trip!!
 
Re: 7/25 Ella AMPS 333

Shut my computer down for a few hours and it seems a bit more chilled out now. Thanks for all the visits. Angela, thanks for the tip regarding the fan power supply. I will get DH to look at my computer as he's the tech guy around here. I hope it's nothing big.

Last time I checked we were still in the stinky pinky range:( We got a call from the vet regarding her blood work and she checked out well. Her bg was even in normal range at the time :-D My vet spoke to a veterinary dentist regarding the relationship with diabetes and peridontal disease. I was told that they make each other worse and it was suggested to be aggressive with the dentistry to prevent future problems ie:stomatitis. The dental vet said to pull teeth that are even borderline unhealthy (good teeth, unhealthy gums). My vet said she will take out ones that look really bad and be a bit more conservative if I promise to brush her teeth at home. Gee, I sure hope Ella tolerates having her teeth brushed. Not the news I wanted to hear today but I hope it helps to sort out Ella's bg and make her a healthy kitter again:)
 
Re: 7/25 Ella AMPS 333

Hi Tamara, glad the computer is running better. I just got a new hard drive and still have problems. I hope Ella comes down and all goes well with Mom sitter. Good news with the b/w. Very interesting with what the Vet said about teeth and diabetes. Good luck with the brushing. I place it on my finger and rub her teeth. Mags won't let me use a brush yet! Thanks for all your support and help with Maggie's constipation.
 
Re: 7/25 Ella AMPS 333

Hi Tamara,

Sorry for all the problems! I have an idea with the computer. I don't know how good you are about dusting it out but a simple thing like dust inside the casing can make your computer run super hot with nothing being wrong with it. It takes nothing but a small paint brush or air can to clean it out and you'll see immediate results. Just take the back off and dust it and then get in all the slots and put it back together. It's definitely worth a try. I'm usually terrible about it until it gets bad.

I'm sorry Ella is not feeling well! Sometimes they like the finger brush better like Maggie said. I wish I could find one small enough for me. I got one but it's like for a giant's finger compared to me. :lol: Racci would have liked it though. So I use a toothbrush and my fingers. Racci loves the taste of the toothpaste. It's like a treat. When you first introduce it don't try to do too much at first. A little at a time until Ella is used to it. Racci likes to chew the brush also. It's a good way to get her used to having the brush in the back of her mouth. Just a few tips. :smile:

TTYL
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 7/25 Ella PMPS 245 dosing advice/reduce now?!

Hello everyone,

Looks like Ella is breaking her bounce. Should I play it safe and reduce her now? I am taking her to my parent's house tonight and can monitor. I will be there tomorrow until right after pm shot time. What do you think?
 
Re: 7/25 Ella PMPS 245 dosing advice/reduce now?!

Of course the site went down the minute I needed advice. Oh well. I decided on reducing her as she was breaking her bounce and I was going to reduce her anyways for my parents. At least I will be able to see what it does for two and the beginning of the third cycle so I hope it was the right decision.
 
Re: 7/25 Ella PMPS 245 dosing advice/reduce now?!

Sorry about not being able to get back to you. As soon as I tried, the board went down.

If Ella is having big dental issues, why not consider taking her to the veterinary dentist that your vet consulted with (if s/he's local)? Gizmo loves having his teeth brushed. He will bug me in the mornings until I brush his teeth (or gets his treat). Gabby, the kitty with FORL, wants no part of teeth brushing.
 
Re: 7/25 Ella PMPS 245 dosing advice/reduce now?!

That's ok Sienne. I'm not sure if the dentist is local or not but I can look into it. I'm sure if it was up to him, he'd pull all of her teeth! We won't know if she's having big dental issues until she is under as Ella wouldn't have any of the probing at the office. Her gums must be sore, although she's lapping up her food quite well:)

Do you think I made the right decision regarding dosing? Do you think .75 is enough of a reduction or do we need to see some more numbers before that is decided? Fortunately, I will be able to see Ella on Monday and we don't leave until Thursday so I'll have some more time to re-evaluate.
 
Re: 7/25 Ella PMPS 245 dosing advice/reduce now?!

what's the best way to travel with the insuli? i'm driving about 35 minutes. i have a cooler and freeze pack but should i put it in a tupperware so it doesn't touch the freezer pack?
 
Re: 7/25 Ella PMPS 245 dosing advice/reduce now?!

Wrap the Lantus in bubble wrap or paper (or styrofoam peanuts or something) so it doesn't get bounced around in the container. I'd suggest dropping a PM to either Ella/Rusty or Dyana. They both have traveled with their insulin.
 
Re: 7/25 Ella PMPS 245 dosing advice/reduce now?!

I think you should wait and see how Ella does on the 0.75u dose. You've got a couple of days to evaluate. How about posting a day before you leave and remind us that you need input on Ella's dose while you're away.
 
Re: 7/25 Ella PMPS 245 dosing advice/reduce now?!

Thanks Sienne:) I am leaving her in my parent's care tomorrow night after the shot so we have this cycle, tomorrow morning and a touch of tomorrow night.
 
Re: 7/25 Ella PMPS 245 dosing advice/reduce now?!

the site went down, tamara, very frustrating! looks like you've got a decision made and can see how it works out.
 
Re: 7/25 Ella PMPS 245 dosing advice/reduce now?!

Hi Tamara and Ella!

Leo and i travel with his insulin pretty much every week, usually his pen goes into the little case it came with (we use Lev not Lantus) and i put it into his little lunch bag with an ice pack and it does just fine, keeps it cool but doesn't freeze it.

Nice to see another kitty going to spend some time with their grandparents! :-D
 
We arrived! It was not an easy task as we had a severe storm and Ella was yowling most of the way. She is still anxious but used the lb and had some food. Her BG is dropping and I'm wondering if I will need to reduce the dose further if she throws me a low number in the morning. I'm also wondering about no shoot numbers and what those should be. I'm on my smartphone so tying is slow.
 
Glad you made it safely.

You are at +5 and still pretty high. There's is not a huge difference between her numbers.

The more information you can get, the better...between now and when you leave. She wasn't doing too much on 1u?

How do you feel about 150 for a no shoot? Too high?
 
Wicked bounce action happening from the blues. Unfortunately the last test I got was at + 5 which was still 184. I thouht she looked stable so set larm for +8 and she bounced so I'm not too sure how low she went before sky rocketing.
 
Re: 7/25 Ella PMPS 245 dosing advice/reduce now?!

tpr said:
what's the best way to travel with the insuli? i'm driving about 35 minutes. i have a cooler and freeze pack but should i put it in a tupperware so it doesn't touch the freezer pack?
I use a lunch box sized cooler, and inside the cooler I have a box with a bunch of packing paper. I wrap the insulin in 2 or 3 layers of bubble wrap, and then put the frozen cold pack on the bottom of the box and the wrapped insulin on the top of the box with the packing paper in between the two. The box then goes in the cooler, and as soon as I get to my destination, the first thing I do is put the insulin in the frig.

Have a good trip.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top