Re: 7/25 Clare and Georgette AMPS 241 New to Group
get a test 2 hrs after her shot tonight. the +2 is a great test, because in many cats it will act as an indicator about what is to come. we compare the preshot to the +2.
If it is significantly higher than the preshot, that can signify the cat's BGs are on the rise, maybe into a
bounce or New Dose Wonkiness if the cat's just had a dose increase.
if the +2 is significantly lower than the preshot, that's a giant "HEADS UP" that the cat's BGs are dropping and you can expect to have to monitor more.
If the +2 is about the same as the preshot, that's an indication that the cat is likely to have a "normal active" Lantus cycle, where the BGs drop until mid-cycle and then rise up to the next shot time.
There are cats who don't fit this model exactly, but we don't know yet what Clare will do. If you post in a couple of hours with a +2, we can help you figure out when to test next.
As far as the dose, this is a very tiny dose. Having a nadir in the 70's is great. I wouldn't reduce the dose unless she goes below 50. Yes, there might be times when you have to stay up a little at night, but you just have to play it by ear. It is really, really important to always get at least one test in the pm cycle because so many cats go lower in the pm cycle. You can get a +2 to help tell where things are headed, and then i always grabbed a test right before i went to bed at +4.5.
It can be a bit intensive, but it's not going to be every night, and so many newly diagnosed cats heal and go off of insulin, that for many new people it's not for very long.
I don't know if you understand what the Tight Regulation is all about - the research study on treating diabetic cats with long-lasting insulin (a PDF about 5 paragraphs down from the top of the Tight Regulation Protocol yellow starred sticky - tell me if you can't find this) shows that more than 90% of diabetic cats who get tightly regulated, ie, their blood sugar is kept between 50-120, can have their pancreas heal and go off of insulin. That's a mighty powerful motivator for most people. Cats are unique in this - dogs and people become diabetic and for the most part, stay diabetic, but the cat's pancreas can heal if it's not too damaged.
Mostly this is a take things one day at a time thing. I just tried to look at that particular day and not worry too much about how i was going to manage the future.
The good thing is that this is a super nice community of people and everyone will give you a hand learning what you need to know in order to help Clare as much as possible.
We have a saying, "it's the best place you never wanted to be." ;-)