7/25 charlie pmps 71 +2 52 +2.5 41 +3 56 +4 63 +5 68

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/25 charlie amps 421 +2 352 +3 268 +5 140

charlie looks like he's already trying to clear the bounce - i'm looking at the +5 140.

have you tried the bag of tricks to get cats eating with Lola?

sprinkle on parmesan cheese, oregano, catnip, a little canned tuna water (make sure it's not vegetable broth, that has onions/garlic)
try rotisserie chicken
warm up food so it's smellier
make little meat balls on her plate with her food
try a different food (or more)
pulverize dry food and sprinkle it on the canned food
use your finger to get some in her mouth - sometimes "priming the pump" is enough to get them started.

good luck!
 
Re: 7/25 charlie amps 421 +2 352 +3 268 +5 140

Pretty nice slide for Charlie!

RE: Lola - I would get her to the vet as soon as possible, inappetance is a serious symptom. I am no expert, but back in April my kitty Tiger stopped eating for a day and was pretty much lethargic and not acting like herself. The clinic couldn't get her in that day, I had to wait until the next day. By that time, she was dehydrated and on the verge of DKA! She had lost weight and had to be hospitalized for 4 1/2 days. If I could do it again I would have taken her to the ER. I am not implying this is the case with your Lola, but I really think it needs to be checked into! Please let us know how Lola is doing!
 
Re: 7/25 charlie amps 421 +2 352 +3 268 +5 140 +6 118

took lola to vet, Dr did not feel or hear anything abnormal during the exam. But Lola did have a low low grade fever. I had them take blood just to make sure.
at the drs they gave her
Cerenia 10mg for nausea
Famotidine 10mg for stomach
Fluids SC for hydration
sent us home with
Mirtazapine 15mg 1/4 tablet every 3 days for Appetite
Metoclopramide 1mg 1.5 ml every 8 hrs for nuasea

She seemed perked up on ride home and acted pretty back to normal once in house. She went right to the room where i feed her and gave her a can of sheba pate of which she at about a third of the can.
Then she was right back to being lethargic and not herself. Not sure what to think. I suppose it take a while for something like this to pass.
I tried to give her the 1.5mls of meds and it caused her to try to gag/cough it up but it all went down. Did i give it to her wrong for that to happen.
My other problem is, i cant seem to get the appy pill in down on the back of her tongue. Would i be able to dissolve in water and use the ml syringe to give it to her?
 
Re: 7/25 charlie pmps 71

How is Lola doing now? I see she ate - did she keep it down?

Some people have luck with pill pockets? My picky eater ate around and spit out the seed! :roll: I have heard to wrap baby food around the pill, or something like lunch meat? I don't think you should try to shove the pill down her throat! As far as syringe feeding the meds, I had to try for the first time this morning, I was not successful. At least you got something down!

RE: the Metoclopramide,is Lola actually vomiting? In a human, this is called Reglan, often prescribed for treating gastroparesis;it has some adverse side effects.
 
Re: 7/25 charlie pmps 71

yeah - go charlie!

i'm a big fan of pill pockets. the only ones safe for diabetic cats are the dog version (which are gigantic), Duck and Pea. I'd get those because at some point you might need them for Charlie and you might as well have one that works for both cats.

the stuff is like play dough. you pinch off a bit and just surround the pill, then i poked them down punkin's throat. at first i had to do that, but when he realized it tasted good, i could throw a ball of it with the pill inside, onto the floor and he'd gobble it down. i trained my other cat to do that too in case i ever have to pill her.

i'm not familiar with Reglan. She may have gagged with it just because of the taste. i don't know. it's a liquid, right? if so, don't aim straight for the back of her throat because that will make her choke on it. aim just inside her teeth, maybe to the side so she can swallow it normally.

People are usually pretty conservative on the Mirtz dose because it can cause agitation in cats. If Lola seems bizarre tonight, that's probably why. If she reacts, you might cut that dose in half for the next dose, if you still need it then. Hopefully she'll be back to normal soon.
 
Re: 7/25 charlie pmps 71

Reglan isn't great for nausea for cats. I hope they sent you home with cerenia as well. Cats don't have the receptors necessary for Reglan. Another good nausea med for cats is the human pill ondansetron. Another good thing for pill pieces is gel caps. You can put more than one pill in a gel cap size 3 and they don't taste the pills. Pepcid is particularly bitter. I was using pill pockets for Tiffany until she tasted the pepcid. She would never eat a pill pocket again and I tried many times without pills in them. She never forgot the pepcid taste.
 
Re: 7/25 charlie pmps 71

nope just sent me home with the appy stim and the reglan. i tried to crush the pill in water and use the ml syringe but that did not work, so as soon as i figure out what charlies bg is going to do, i am heading back to the vet to have a tech give the pill. Its nice they are open till midnite, different vet then i use for charlie.
1.5 61 also fed his second meal of raw mixed with .5 oz of lc food.
+2 52 fed 1/4 tsp nurti-cal

so what is the protocol for back to back earned reductions. I thought i had read somewhere if they are back to back, I would need to have 3 in a row before reduction.
 
Re: 7/25 charlie pmps 71 +2 52

there's not a set protocol for reductions. what we know is that a previous dose can influence as many as 6 future cycles following a reduction, depending on the cat.

it might be that you can't shoot through the bounce any more. that works when bounces last longer, but Charlie's getting used to the green numbers and his bounces are clearing quickly. this time, i'd give him carbs to get through the evening and *probably* hold the dose at 3.5u in the morning.

It's your call. If you take a reduction too soon after the previous one, most of the time you end up going back up in dose anyway. See how tonight goes and you can decide in the morning.

another option is to take a one-time reduced dose in the morning to let the depot reduce some, then return to 3.5u tomorrow night as his new regular dose.
 
Re: 7/25 charlie pmps 71 +2 52 +2.5 41 +2.6 52 +3 56

So i have been reading on the appy stim they gave me for lola and there is all these horrible stories of what it did to peoples cat at the prescribed dose of 1/4 of a 15mg pill, others reported no neg affects dosing at 1/8 or even 1/16. After reading all the stories i am terrified to give to her. I think i have to go with the 1/16 of a pill. i came across this as an appy stim for cats cyproheptadine, cant find any horror stories on it. I think when i go to the vet to have them give the pill, that i will ask if they have cyproheptadine instead.
 
Re: 7/25 charlie pmps 71 +2 52 +2.5 41 +2.6 52 +3 56 +4 63

I don't like mirtazapine as it can cause problems for some cats. I do use cyproheptadine. It is a human drug and you need a script for it and you can get it at a pharmacy. It is the anecdote if a cats gets seratonin syndrome from mirt. Max who is a large cat just needs 1/8 of a 4mg cyproheptadine to stimulate his appetite when his nausea Is under control. Many cats get 1/4 a pill which is what I gave Tiffany who only weighed 9 pounds at the time. You can get cypro at CVS or RiteAid.
 
Re: 7/25 charlie pmps 71 +2 52 +2.5 41 +2.6 52 +3 56 +4 63

Its not my sugar kitty charlie that is having appy issues its my civi lola
 
if you edit your subject line and put "appy stimulant advice?" then people who use them will come and help you. Zener gets one every day, pretty much, so Anne and Liz have a lot of experience with it. You could post in Zener's condo and ask for help with it.

i gave punkin Mirtz once and we didn't have trouble with it. Just depends on the cat and the dosage. Is she still not interested in eating? have you tried putting some in her mouth with your finger to get her interested? When a cat's not eating, we jokingly say that even if you have to give them ice cream, you want them eating. and not joking, i'd try a little ice cream and see if she would eat some. :-D a little won't hurt her.
 
Re: 7/25 charlie pmps 71 +2 52 +2.5 41 +2.6 52 +3 56 +4 63

Darin & Charlie said:
Its not my sugar kitty charlie that is having appy issues its my civi lola

ohmygod_smile Sorry, I knew that it was Lola and not Charlie ... :oops: Please let us know how she is doing.
 
I'm at the vets now so they can give Lola her pill, I tried finger feeding, freeze dried treats on top of food, tried giving nutri-cal, same on trying to drink water. No interest in anything even tried park cheese topper. I'm hoping this pill will get her eating, other wise I will have to try to syringe feed.
 
thinking about you guys.

nothing like having Charlie skating along in greens while you've got Lola at the vet's. you're obviously good at juggling.
 
My plan with charlie was when his BG was 100 or better then I would take her to the vet. @ +5.5 he hit 100 so off to the vet I went. And sure enough they had two emergencies come in right before I got there. It to 45 min till a tech was free. I admit I was stressing a bit. When I got home @ +7 he was 73. How long does it take for the appy stim to take effect. Its been an hour. And no hunger yet.
 
It usually takes effect by then. I tried mirt with Tiffany. It made her very vocal and increased her appetite a little but not long enough. So I switched to cyproheptadine. It can be dosed up to twice a day. The thing is, the stimulation of the appetite is a side effect of the drugs and not all of them work for all cats. When my cats won't eat I have been successful getting them too eat Gerber's Stage 2 baby food, the all meat kind. You might try that if she won't eat the cat food. Have you tried warming the food or finger feeding?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top