7/25 Calcifur PMPS +11 107 AMPS 125 Admin Please Advise

Hadaza

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...nc-1-7mmol-blood-ketones.279515/#post-3088835

We are 40 minutes away from Calcifur's AM shot, He's never had a +11 this low nor a AMPS this low. We are on tight regulation and I'm not sure what to do? I will be with him all day and night and I can test consistently. It is currently 8:20 am he will have breakfast at 8:45am, then gets 3 units of lantus at 9am. Should I give him a full dose? Reduced dose? Skip dose?
 
Last edited:
Are you still 40 mins away from AMPS or is the 125 the AMPS?

With TR you can shoot any number over 50 as long as you can monitor and have high carb food/syrup.
You can stall without food for 20-30 minutes and test again or you can give the shot and feed a little less (to keep kitty hungry) and then again at +1 and +2.
 
Are you still 40 mins away from AMPS or is the 125 the AMPS?

With TR you can shoot any number over 50 as long as you can monitor and have high carb food/syrup.
You can stall without food for 20-30 minutes and test again or you can give the shot and feed a little less (to keep kitty hungry) and then again at +1 and +2.
125 was at 8:15am, I will retest at 8:45am for accurate AMPS number. So feed less food, shoot, then feed again at +1 and +2? I have a hypo kit ready. Currently 15 minutes away from 8:45am
 
I'll be looking out for the AMPS. Are you good to monitor? I know how scary it can be, but remember as long as you have the HC and syrup, you can keep kitty safe :cat:
 
AMPS is 150, I'm going to give the normal dose, and I can moniter all day so I'm probably going to do a lot of tests just to be careful
 
Hello,
Calcifur was playing this morning and now he has bounced, I believe, because he has gone above 500mg. Last night he started displaying some plantigrade posture in his hind legs. This morning that's seems to have improved. We hope the bounce doesn't affect him for too long. I started brushing his teeth three days ago and using medicated wipes for his chin acne. Not sure if this has anything to do with the lower levels this early AM.
 
Last edited:
Glad to hear he was playful :cat: . That's a well deserved bounce from the long stretch of mid to low blues.
You'll want to hold this dose to give the bounce some time to clear before considering an increase again.
 
Glad to hear he was playful :cat: . That's a well deserved bounce from the long stretch of mid to low blues.
You'll want to hold this dose to give the bounce some time to clear before considering an increase again.
Yes, I’ll hold the dose. When will I know to increase? And by how much?
 
Back
Top