7/25 Bubbas AMPS 429, +11 368 PMPS 367, +2 393-this is frustrating

+2 393


Super super confused as to why his sugars are still rising even thought I did an increase today. Shouldn’t his blood sugar drop even a little bit once you up a dose?
 
+2 393


Super super confused as to why his sugars are still rising even thought I did an increase today. Shouldn’t his blood sugar drop even a little bit once you up a dose?

There is a thing that happens that people call "new dose wonkieness" which just is a silly way of stating that when a dose is increased or decreased, sometimes the BG numbers jump around a little for a day or so until the new dose sort of settles in.

I really understand how you feel. I remember being so frustrated with Hendrick's numbers! I would do a BG test and see the high number come up and my heart would fall.

but this journey with feline diabetes takes time, and we must be patient. You are at the very very beginning, Hendrick didn't see a breakthrough in his numbers until we got to almost 4 units after increasing for weeks and weeks.


Another thing to consider is Tight Regulation instead of SLGS. If SLGS is not aggressive enough for you, not moving fast enough for you, then TR might be a better option (if you can test and monitor enough)
 
Hang in there, patience is the key, even when the numbers are not doing what we think they should. Kyle is right, the kitties respond differently to dose increases- Jack doesn't respond the same way every time, it is super crazy, super confusing, super frustrating, and very depressing. Just know you are doing everything you can and always ask the more experienced members for help if you need it. Good luck with the dose increase...sending hugs and love! :bighug::bighug:
 
There is a thing that happens that people call "new dose wonkieness" which just is a silly way of stating that when a dose is increased or decreased, sometimes the BG numbers jump around a little for a day or so until the new dose sort of settles in.

I really understand how you feel. I remember being so frustrated with Hendrick's numbers! I would do a BG test and see the high number come up and my heart would fall.

but this journey with feline diabetes takes time, and we must be patient. You are at the very very beginning, Hendrick didn't see a breakthrough in his numbers until we got to almost 4 units after increasing for weeks and weeks.


Another thing to consider is Tight Regulation instead of SLGS. If SLGS is not aggressive enough for you, not moving fast enough for you, then TR might be a better option (if you can test and monitor enough)

Yeah I figured there would be a name for what’s going on. It’s just so bizarre to see his numbers climbing even though I am upping the dose! But yeah, everyone has said patients patients patients and it’s something I have to learn. It’s just a race against time, the longer he isn’t stabilized, the higher chance of him dying from this, so that’s the biggest worry of mine.

I don’t think I would be able to do TR :/ I can’t test as much as it’s required. I can really only test a lot at night between 4:30pm-10:30pm. I can only test once in the mornings and I can’t threw out the day. So even though I would like to do TR, I just don’t have the time. :/
 
Hang in there, patience is the key, even when the numbers are not doing what we think they should. Kyle is right, the kitties respond differently to dose increases- Jack doesn't respond the same way every time, it is super crazy, super confusing, super frustrating, and very depressing. Just know you are doing everything you can and always ask the more experienced members for help if you need it. Good luck with the dose increase...sending hugs and love! :bighug::bighug:

Well thank you! Always appreciated and loved when I receive kind encouraging words :bighug::bighug: I keep trying to tell myself “this isn’t a race, it’s a walk”. I just start to feel guilty, I feel like I didn’t do enough for him to prevent diabetes and it sucks :banghead:
 
Back
Top