7/25 Asher amps 295, +3.5 234, +6 198, pmps 269

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Mornin’ kids ~O)

Our thread from yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=75634&p=818694#p818694

Amps a little high today I think but I only got a +3 last night so don’t know what went on when I was catchin' some ZZZzzzzzs. I-)

Yesterday I asked:
So dumb question here. We just reduced back to 2.25 b/c he went under 40 on 2.5.
If we increase to 2.5 again, won’t he go too low? Or was that an isolated event?

What do you guys think, shall we increase again?

Goin’ to get a +3 on the boy now....
We have roofers next door making a lot of noise (we live in a duplex/twin home) so Asher is none too thrilled already. He is in his “Happy Place” in my office so numbers could be a bit skewed today if they do a lot of pounding on the roof.
 
Re: 7/25 Asher amps 295

I hate ppl doing renovation on my upper floor or neighbour flat. My cats got so stressed by all that noise & strange sound & smell. But sometimes this cannot be avoided since we are living in a very tiny city. Hope Asher can calm down.
Ive no answer to the dose question but I know Rosy has been in & out of the same dose several times. Every time, we increase or decrease she may have a different reaction tot he dose.
You can leave your :?: icon on the topic for more eyes.
 
Re: 7/25 Asher amps 295

Poor Asher! Roofers really do a number on our kitties. I hope it is over quick and Asher is able to relax a little. Have a great day!
 
Re: 7/25 Asher amps 295

Hello Donna

Sorry about the roofers bothering you! Looking at Asher's SS, this AM-cycle is his 7th cycle on the 2.25u, if I'm not mistaken. (When you get a moment, could you update last night's and this morning's numbers on the SS, please? Makes it easier, not having to switch between SS and condos! :smile:) Given that today's numbers might be a bit stress-spiked, and the current dose did give Asher some blue BGs, my approach would be to hold for another day and see where you are, and re-assess.

Let's see what the rest thinks.
Jane
 
Re: 7/25 Asher amps 295

Always a good idea to add 'DOSE QU' to your subject line when you have one and the ? icon so people know you have a query.

Asher did you hear that dosecrease threat? You better get to business!
 
Re: 7/25 Asher amps 295

+ 3.5 this morning is 234 so it looks like it might be a flat, hopefully yellow day.

I’ll go update the spreadsheet now. Just got in from an unplanned carpentry project in our yard to protect our garden from flying slate :roll:

Never a dull moment around here.....
 
Re: 7/25 Asher amps 295, +3.5 234, dose ?

Just saw the dose question suggestions in subject line so added that now....
 
Re: 7/25 Asher amps 295, +3.5 234, dose ?

Donna & Asher said:
So dumb question here. We just reduced back to 2.25 b/c he went under 40 on 2.5. If we increase to 2.5 again, won’t he go too low? Or was that an isolated event?
I can give you my perspective on your question. There's no way to be certain what will happen with the numbers. (Gotta remember, you're dealing with a cat. They are inherently unpredictable.) If a dose reduction doesn't hold, you typically go back to your last good dose. For whatever the reason, with many cats, sometimes you need to go back up (or go up even higher) in order for the numbers to come back down.

A good deal of how you approach the dose depends on your cat. For a long time, with Gabby, I found that when I raised the dose I got better results if I raised by the usual 0.25u. However, when I reduced, I reduced by shaving the dose.

If I had to guess, I'd suspect that you need to bring the dose back up to 2.5u in order to get some movement. Asher is used to being in the 200s or above so far while on Lantus (and numbers were higher when on PZI). Those are the BG ranges that he's become accustomed to. You need to get him used to being in lower numbers again.

Just a note on the numbers. The TR protocol is designed to get numbers down. It's aggressive. However, because you are monitoring, it's also safe. For a cat to spend a little time in numbers below 50 is not dangerous. The protocol would never have been published in a leading veterinary journal if it wasn't safe and the protocol stipulates that cats' numbers need to drop below 50 for a dose reduction.

I'd raise the dose back up.
 
Re: 7/25 Asher amps 295, +3.5 234, dose ?

Hi guys ... sorry to hear about the roofers .. how come everyone can't just respect the peace and quiet our kitties demand? :-D Looks like asher is coming down nicely .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 7/25 Asher amps 295, +3.5 234, dose ?

Gotta remember, you're dealing with a cat. They are inherently unpredictable.

Truer words have never been spoken :-D

Thanks for your thoughts everyone! We will raise back up to 2.5 tomorrow morning. We have to be out of the house a bit tonight so want to do it when we will be around to test. We are working at home all day tomorrow.

Our +6 today was 198, pmps was 269 and we shot the 2.25 units.
 
Hey, Donna -

Sorry for the late visit - please pardon my pj's. ;-) I hope all goes well with Asher's dose change.

I hear ya' on the disturbance of the roofers. Our boys were on HIGH ALERT when our roof was replaced. Their ears stayed perked up and they were ready for action. Of course, our roofers were Doug and Joseph! Sooo nice to have handy men in the family!!! I hope all is back to normal soon.

Sweet dreams -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top