? 7/25 2x Post DKA Millie AMPS 89, shot due in 5 minutes. What to do????

Status
Not open for further replies.
Millie is making great progress since her DKA hospitalization. This scary stuff is part of that journey. There's a special award that you get when you shoot on your first green. ;)
 
Nerves of steel, Sylvia! Give the full dose and get tests at +1 and +2. Have HC food ready just in case. You might need to steer a bit with LC but the tests will tell you. Oh, and breathe! :):bighug:
I got nervous since I didn't hear from anyone. Retested and she was 77. I gave one unit and fed her. I have a doctor's appointment but I'm going to cancel. Sorry, didn't know what to do.
 
Millie is making great progress since her DKA hospitalization. This scary stuff is part of that journey. There's a special award that you get when you shoot on your first green. ;)
Yes, she is. It's really scary with the low numbers so I did what we did last week when I was away (really didn't know what to do). So she only got 1 u. Should I give her the rest now?
 
I got nervous since I didn't hear from anyone. Retested and she was 77. I gave one unit and fed her. I have a doctor's appointment but I'm going to cancel. Sorry, didn't know what to do.
That's just fine, Sylvia. The lowered dose will be OK. There's still the depot from the 1.75 u to consider so grab a +1 and +2.
Yes, she is. It's really scary with the low numbers so I did what we did last week when I was away (really didn't know what to do). So she only got 1 u. Should I give her the rest now?
No. Leave the dose as is.
 
Stalling and retesting without feeding is a good thing to do when you're unsure. You'll get more used to these numbers over time. What a testing pro you've become!
 
Glad I saw your advice to leave the dose. I was getting ready to give her .5U.

She always does something at the craziest times. I was supposed to leave in two hours. Millie loves drama!

Thanks again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top