7/24 Rose AMPS 315, +5 234

newpain

Member
Need some help, her BG didn't drop under 200 for the last few days. The insulin is 2 weeks old, so I suppose that is not the issue. What should I do? I've been giving her 1 unit for the last few weeks. Should I increase the dose?

Previous conversations
 
When following SLGS, you reduce the dose immediately if they go below 90. On the 16th she got to 86, so you should have reduced the dose to 0.75 units.

Ideally you also need to start getting some data after the PMPS shot. Many cats go lower at night and we decide on the dose based on how low the dose is taking the cat, hence the need to see some night time data. Can you get a test at least 2 hours after the PM shot, or later if that's just before you go to bed?

I rather suspect you are missing some lower numbers and she is bouncing. Here is the description of what a bounce is:
  • Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
Thanks for your response, really appreciated.

I see what you are saying about lowering the dose, I have missed that. I feel there are way too many rules with these systems and I have not had the time to properly read and understand everything. Thanks for explaining what a bounce means, I was not aware of that either.

With my current work schedule, I give the AM shot around 11am and the PM shot around 11PM and usually go to bed before midnight. I do not have anyone else who can take care of this while I am busy with work. I will stay a little later to get some additional PM tests though.
I am also not sure if I should feed her more or less because of the high BG. She is only 5.5lbs, so I am currently feeding her 3-4 times during the day (AMPS, +4, +8, PMPS) and then around midnight I leave a little food for overnight which she finished by the morning. These are all Fancy Feast Chicken Pate wet food. Maybe all of those meals are affecting her BG?
 
Don't worry about understanding it all in the beginning. There is a LOT to read and learn and we all remember what that is like. We're here to help.

For testing at night, maybe try to do that on nights when you don't have to get up as early the next morning. You need to be able to function yourself. For some people who shoot late, they get a +9 or +10 that night cycle once they get up. Maybe that'd work for you sometimes? Whatever spot checks you can get at night will help. We've even had people drink a big glass of water before bed and test when they have to get up.

If she weigh's too little, feed her more. Don't worry about the food impacting her BG if it's all low carb food - which it is.

What do I do in a bounce situation? Do I keep shooting 1unit or decrease?
Bounces are very common, almost all cats do it. They are annoying to us, but normal. We don't do anything different when they happen. If she earned a dose reduction, then do it.
 
Thank you so much for the response!
I've been doing this alone and I feel overwhelmed and stressed about it, along with juggling my time between my job, my university as an adult and a lot of other issues. It's nice to have some support.

Yes, +9 or +10 would work for me but I had no idea if there was any value in those numbers so I never tried (I'm still learning). I usually shoot the PM shot around 11PM and wake up before 8AM for work, so I could do a quick test some mornings before work.
 
You were right!
Her BG dropped this morning to 137. I am sure it was even lower overnight. It was 264 PMPS, then 206 @+3.5.
 
Gave her 0.75 units last night for the Pm shot, then at +3.5 she was 91.

Do you have any recommendation for syringes?
I got these U-100 syringes with half unit markings, but it's really difficult to get an accurate 0.75 dose.
 
Back
Top