7/24 Rocky PMPS 77 +2 81 +5 50 +6.5 51 +11 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good afternoon,

Rocky didn't get his AM shot today because his BG was only 60 this morning. I did not feel safe to give him the shot because I had to pick up the kitten that I trapped last night, which was all the way across town, and then I have another meeting with a different colony caretaker this afternoon. I won't be here all day to monitor his BG.

Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122243

Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 76 +1 87 +3 62 +4 61 +4 55 +6 59 +9 77
PMPS 74 +1.5 93 + 4.5 62 +6 50 +7 65 +10 52

I trapped the grey and white one, not the Tux, last night. He is only about 7 to 9 weeks old. There is still a little bit of blue around the pupil of his eyes. He is not a mean kitten at all, he is pretty tame. It will only take a very shot time to get him to be playing and not afraid.
 
Re: 7/24 Rocky(no shot): AMBG +12 60 +14.5 57 +16.5 65

i'm not sure if his BGs got better first, or you got more relaxed first, but whether it was the chicken or the egg, he is looking very good. i'd keep working on tight reg to get him into remission, if you can, tina.
 
Re: 7/24 Rocky(no shot): AMBG +12 60 +14.5 57 +16.5 65 +19.5

Hi Julie, I am not sure what happened either, but at least it's good news, for now anyway. Yes. I am a lot more relaxed while at the same time taking a different approach to his BG numbers. For instance, I am allowing at least an hour, or maybe two, between 1/4 can feedings so I can better gauge whether his BG is going up or down, and by how many points. Doing it this way helps me determine how many carbs he might need. Of course it's always a guess, but so far this method is working for both of us.

I would still like to get him into remission, if it's possible. I will keep working on that. :-D

If he is in the 50s tonight, I'm not sure yet if I will skip his shot again, or reduce his insulin dose. I've got to run out of the house again to try and trap the remaining 2 kittens of that colony as their mom. I will be gone from about 8:30pm to midnight as I'll feed my feral colonies before i head out to trap. Rocky would get his shot at 7pm. I don't like the idea of leaving him here alone, not monitored, for 4 hours, even if I left him food. So, not entirely sure what I'm going to do yet.
 
Re: 7/24 Rocky(no shot): AMBG +12 60 +14.5 57 +16.5 65 +19.5

Rocky is rocking!! Good luck with whatever you decide.
 
Re: 7/24 Rocky(no shot): AMBG +12 60 +14.5 57 +16.5 65 +19.5

Rocky is looking fantastic! Tina, you're doing an incredible job with him. I'm always amazed that he just surfs and surfs and surfs green sometimes, despite the need to occasionally skip shots. Fingers crossed that things continue in this direction for you two! :-D
 
Re: 7/24 Rocky(no shot): AMBG +12 60 +14.5 57 +16.5 65 +19.5

Tina, I would skip the shot, too. Rocky is looking fantastic. I can't believe this is the same cat that had so many issues just a few months ago. You've done a wonderful job with him. Good luck with the kittens. You really are a wonderful person.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top