7/24 Purrcie AMPS 320+11 215 PMPS 203 +1 185 +2 193

Status
Not open for further replies.

myla

Member Since 2010
HI LL!
We missed yesterday so here is Thursdays Condo
Purrcie had a dose increase on 7/21 from 1.25U to 1.5U. There wasn't much change that I can see, he is staying pink and yellow. We started a new pen 7/22 PM. This AM I increased him from 1.5U to 1.75U according to protocol, after holding the 1.5 dose for three days and his nadir is still above 200. I would love this flat curve if it was blue and green now!

Am I doing this right? I'm wondering what is going on that he is all pink and yellow all of a sudden. Could the insulin be bad? Any other ideas?

WCR other than drinking and peeing a little too much, he looks like he is starting to lose a little weight again, I think from feeding the disease when he gets high numbers like this, but his spirits are up. Despite the heat outside( we have AC in the house thank goodness) we go outside several times a day, cruise the gardens, smack the civvies around a bit, visit with gramma and grampa, nap, eat and then nap.
 
Re: 7/24 Purrcie AMPS 320 +2.25 314 +4 310 Dose?

hi Myla! I am no dose expert, but I do believe that you are doing it right... It sometimes is the same with Mannie - so many pink and yellow curves, and up goes the dose - once someone prods me to do so... Have a good one, and I hope Purrcie's numbers improve.

How old is your insulin?
 
Re: 7/24 Purrcie AMPS 320 +2.25 314 +4 310 Dose?

I got a packet of 5 pens on June 12. We started the first one on June 14. We just started a new pen July 22. They have all been refrigerated at around 36 degrees on the door of the refrigerator since I got them. Thanks so much for the feedback. It just makes me wonder what sets them off like that. When we first stared Lantus in June Purr was on 1U and getting green and blue all the time.
 
Re: 7/24 Purrcie AMPS 320 +2.25 314 +4 310 Dose?

The only difference with handling the Lantus that I would suggest it to not put it on the door. There's more temperature fluctuation on the door and/or the front of the refrigerator.

I probably would have held the dose until the end of tonight's cycle. You were getting some nice blues through the PM cycle of 7/21. With at least some nadirs in the 100s, you can hold the dose a bit longer. You also need to take NDW (new dose wonkiness) into account -- sometimes when you raise the dose, the numbers are worse for a few cycles. That said, if you're going to be aggressive, you just need to be sure you can be around to test.
 
Re: 7/24 Purrcie AMPS 320 +2.25 314 +4 310 Dose?

Thank you so much for the quick reply Sienne. You are so knowledgable, I always feel like I'm in good hands when I hear from you. Just when I think things are going well, it all goes KAPUT.

Could it have gotten too cold? I wonder if it's all ruined? How would I know that?

I didn't know about NDW, HA HA! I've learned a new term. I didn't see that in the protocol. Seriously though, I printed it all out so I can review it when I'm offline too.
I am around, and will be for several days. Thank you for holding my hand and Purrcie's paw.
 
Re: 7/24 Purrcie AMPS 320 +2.25 314 +4 310 Dose?

+6 340
oh where oh where did the insulin go?
I think he is sneaking out and getting candy and milkshakes!
 
Re: 7/24 Purrcie AMPS 320 +4 310 +6 340 Dose?

I agree Myla I think he and Do Lou are off getting into things they should not be eating :lol: good luck with the new dose if you decide to increase
 
Re: 7/24 Purrcie AMPS 320 +4 310 +6 340 Dose?

sometimes their insulin needs change for no good reason we can see. :roll: I'm glad you increased, I would like to see Purrcie in better numbers. You can afford to be aggressive, he is not a new diabetic and you're able to work from home a lot of the time. Now come on down, Purrcie!
 
Re: 7/24 Purrcie AMPS 320 +4 310 +6 340 Dose?

Libby and Lucy said:
sometimes their insulin needs change for no good reason we can see. :roll: I'm glad you increased, I would like to see Purrcie in better numbers. You can afford to be aggressive, he is not a new diabetic and you're able to work from home a lot of the time. Now come on down, Purrcie!

HI Libby!

Thank you for the vote of confidence. I'm pretty shaky like a newbie since I just started home testing in May and can now see what is going on in there! Sometimes that is really scary!

It's good to know you feel the same way (upping the dose) I did watching his numbers steadily climb after his last run of green. But I am just not sure of myself and making these decisions at this point so it sure helps to have your eyes checking too.

I do get to work at home alot so I can test and keep an eye on him.

I love that statement
Libby and Lucy said:
sometimes their insulin needs change for no good reason we can see. :roll:

It just seems like there should be a reason, but then I remember, He's a CAT! He will do whatever he wants. :lol:
 
Re: 7/24 Purrcie AMPS 320+6 340 +11 215 Dose?

+11 215.
?
LOL
Prolly the squids.
I'll be testing for PMPS in a few minutes.
Me and the Ps had the nicest dinner tonight. Mom can't go out anymore, she's too crippled so we order out and I go pick it up. We had King's tonight. I had really good chicken parmigiana with a small side of spaghetti, and it was just sooooooo gooooodd. Not too much sauce, cooked to perfection. It really hit the spot! I bet I'd test out over 300 after all those carbs! HA!
Mom's stiry fry must have been really good too. She hardly ever finishes her dinner and she ate nearly every bit. Dad had a grilled chicken salad.SLURP!

Purrcie's been sacked out since about 6:00 PM. I tested him at +11 and he barely even woke up. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
 
Re: 7/24 Purrcie AMPS 320+6 340 +11 215 Dose?

You just made me hungry all over again!

good luck with the dosecrease...

I kind of have to keep my insulin on the door because my crazy refrigerator freezes things and the door is a little warmer... Luckily, about the only time I ever open the door is to give her insulin or take out that water pitcher...

Someday soon I'll get a new fridge... Someday soon...
 
Re: 7/24 Purrcie AMPS 320+6 340 +11 215 Dose?

Myla, I understand your nervousness about the dose increase. Checkers had been doing very well on half unit, a couple of months ago...in the blues and greens. I had to increase recently and wasn't really sure if he needed increase or decrease. I insisted he was having a month-long rebound. :lol:
I hope you see nicer numbers for Purrcie, real soon.
 
Re: 7/24 Purrcie AMPS 320+6 340 +11 215 Dose?

Hi Myla, Stu goes up and down with his doses, too. There seems to be no rhyme or reason. I guess we just have to play along. I put a refrigerator thermometer right next to the Lantus, which I keep wrapped in a little case I made out of bubblewrap and stored in a small cardboard box in the fridge door.
Good luck with your increase.

Ella
 
Re: 7/24 Purrcie AMPS 320+6 340 +11 215 Dose?

I kind of do what Ella does. I have my vial in it's little box, inside a solid bottom bowl, with a thermometer in the bowl with it.
It's a 2-part thermometer, so I can see the temp without opening the fridge.
The back of my fridge freezes, and the front can be warmer from the door opening. *sigh*

Myla, did you paint those horses on your website? They are beautiful!
 
Re: 7/24 Purrcie AMPS 320+11 215 PMPS 203 +1 185 +4 264

PMPS 203 and now some blue FINALLY! ( a little FDMB poem, :lol: )
Time to test again you see
and next I'll need cans of HC!

Not really. He has it all backwards now. The Preshot is lower than nadir. How weird is THAT?

Hi Barb,
yes I do paint the horses on my website. I sent you an email reply about that a couple days ago, you must not have received it. Darn email! It had pictures and everything!

Thanks Ella and Barb for the ideas about how to store the insulin. I've had it on the door but now worried that it got too cold? I mean looking at these numbers you have to wonder what is going on. My littile brain keeps searching for explanations.
Well I just want to rule out any screw ups on my part, of which there have been many!

I loved the comment about a month long rebound, HA HA! I would think like that too! Surely that must be what it was when everything was going along so purrfect just a few days ago.

Well with him back up to 264 at +4 I think I can get some sleep tonight. He will be back in pink shortly I am sure. *sigh*
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top