7/24 Polly AMPS219+3=132PMPS230+2.5=163+3.5=131+4.5=105

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marilyn and Sheldon

Member Since 2014
The 2 vet stay days

What a week! On vacation days today and tomorrow to keep tabs on Miss Polly. That'll give us four days to get her back on a workable schedule for T/F/S. It was sweet, though, to sleep in until 7:00 a.m. today!

Polly is doing well. Trotting to the T/F/S station, tail fluffed up high. Eating well. Am slipping a bit of water in her food although too much and she won't eat it. Got to keep her hydrated.

Vines and wishes.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 7/24 AMPS 219

Hi guys .. Nice low yellow to start the day! I'm sure you'll get her back on track these upcoming days .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 7/24 Polly AMPS 219+2=148

that's quite a drop between the amps and the +2. I'd get a +3. seems that miss polly might be aiming for some action today. :-D

what did the vet say about why she seems sick/not eating? did they comment on a reason for the high WBC?
 
Re: 7/24 Polly AMPS 219+2=148

Polly at vet 7/23

You link above doesn't work, so here's your condo from yesterday. I just read through it.

I don't think Polly's issues are from the Lantus not working. I agree with Wendy, if you're going to switch, go to Levemir. But I don't see any reason to switch, just if you want to. Cats do well on both of those, but i wouldn't even consider a shorter acting insulin like Vetsulin as a basal insulin.

It's too bad they're not checking for iaa at the same time. The additional cost for the iaa test is very small, much less than the acro test, and iaa isn't really as uncommon as it seems to be thought. we've seen lots of cats with iaa, or both iaa and acro. If they could do it on the same sample they've already got from yesterday, i sure would add it on. Otherwise the additional cost of drawing and sending more blood for the iaa at a later time is going to be more than just doing it now.

it sounds like polly is feeling perkier today. Did they give you anything for nausea or vomiting for her? we've had good luck with cerenia and many people have used/liked ondansetron. if she slides back into yucky land, i'd ask for something for her to address that issue.
 
Re: 7/24 Polly AMPS 219+2=148

that's quite a drop between the amps and the +2. I'd get a +3. seems that miss polly might be aiming for some action today. :-D

what did the vet say about why she seems sick/not eating? did they comment on a reason for the high WBC?

Oh yes. I'm testing at +3. She got her usual 2nd breffis at +2. If she's still dropping at +3, I'll use a bit more of lc food to slow things down. I'm a bit baffled; thought sure she'd be bouncing after the fur shot and low numbers at vet. Maybe we'll do some bouncing later. Just have to play this be ear (well, Polly's ear!)

Couldn't locate source of infection. Eliminated mouth, uri, uti. X-rays showed normal heart, lung, abdomen.

I don't think Polly's issues are from the Lantus not working. I agree with Wendy, if you're going to switch, go to Levemir. But I don't see any reason to switch, just if you want to. Cats do well on both of those, but i wouldn't even consider a shorter acting insulin like Vetsulin as a basal insulin.

It's too bad they're not checking for iaa at the same time. The additional cost for the iaa test is very small, much less than the acro test, and iaa isn't really as uncommon as it seems to be thought. we've seen lots of cats with iaa, or both iaa and acro. If they could do it on the same sample they've already got from yesterday, i sure would add it on. Otherwise the additional cost of drawing and sending more blood for the iaa at a later time is going to be more than just doing it now.

1) I suspect the insulin change suggestion is just a guess based on Polly's static numbers regardless of increased doses. Well, and the data that shows her glucose jumped big time when insulin (Lantus) started. No one has a clue about that.

My local vet will not advocate for, nor will I change insulin at this point. And I won't go with Vetsulin or any other shorter lasting insulin. Levemir at some point, perhaps, but certainly not now.

2) MSU will test for acro. Hold her blood and test for iaa if acro is negative. It was their suggestion and neither my vet nor I had a reason to challenge their position.

Off to gather the girl for +3.
 
Re: 7/24 Polly AMPS 219+2=148+3=132+4=144

the fact that her numbers were better off of insulin than when she started on it would make me wonder about iaa. IAA is when cats develop antibodies against the insulin that's being injected. In Polly's case, i think she looks more iaa than acro, just in my own experience looking at high dose kitties. It also looks iaa to me in the way you increase the dose, she sees blue numbers, then it's like the dose stops working. then you have to increase the dose to bring the numbers back to the same blue level, and it stops working again. repeat and repeat.

Wendy/Neko calls it the "dose going stale." Neko has iaa and acro both.

all of that looks more iaa to me than acro, but of course, i could certainly be wrong. just wanted to say that's why i've been encouraging the iaa test.

punkin had acro but not iaa, and when his tumor ramped up production it was like no dose brought his numbers down. I increased the entire summer of 2011 from May til Sept when we had him treated. His spreadsheet doesn't look much like Polly's.

Donaleen's Ozy has iaa but not acro. His ss is here. I've linked to his early month's tab rather than the current tab - if you want to see what he's up to now you want the tab that's on the far left.

But . . . these high dose cats don't always fit a particular stereotype. if anything, they are more varied than the non-high dose cats, in my experience.

I'm glad they're going to check the blood for iaa if the acro is negative. it'll be good to get the test results back so we know what strategies to use with her.

Hope you're enjoying your day with the little girl! :-D
 
Re: 7/24 Polly AMPS 219+2=148+3=132+4=144+6.5=151+9=201 Dose

Polly's been at 7.0U for 8 cycles. Ooops. But that includes a fur shot, a BCS, two days at the vet with lots of blue and a green. (Yup, let's pack all the anomalies into a tight time frame.)

Part of me says, stick this dose out 'til things settle down; I'm thinking a bounce must be coming. Thinking, however, is not my forte right now.

Part of me says, grab this opportunity and get her up to 8.0U to see if that keeps her down.

I will be out for a few hours this evening. But I'll be home all day tomorrow. (I have caffine and chocolate.)

Any advice?
 
Re: 7/24 Polly AMPS 219+2=148+3=132+4=144+6.5=151+9=201 Dose

Since you are seeing mid blue for a long stretch and had some anomalies, I think you need to hold. I'd make sure you had 6 consecutive cycles at this dose before increasing so the depot is stable and you can see what it does. Here is the post on counting cycles. That would mean holding a couple more cycles yet.

Good to hear Polly is eating and feeling good today. :-D
 
Re: 7/24 Polly AMPS 219+2=148+3=132+4=144+6.5=151+9=201 Dose

Thanks. The TR protocol trumped my anxiousness to rush the process. Went with 7U.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 7/24 Polly AMPS 219+2=148+3=132+4=144+6.5=151+9=201 PMPS

i think that's a good choice! Hindsight will tell us if it was or not in another day or two. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top