Re: 7/24 Mottyl AMPS 196 +5 106 +7 55.8 +10 76
55.8 - lovely! woo-hoo! she may go below 50 on this dose before long. let's keep this dose for the moment and see what happens.
by the way, just to get you ready for when you see numbers under 50, I suggest you read
Shooting and Handling Low Numbers now while you have time. She's going to get there and it's good to have an idea of what you're going to do so you don't panic. Read the link above, especially the 3rd section about handling low numbers.
The basic process is if you get a number under 50, you pop open a can of gravy high carb canned cat food, put the lid back on the food and squeeze mightily to try to get the gravy out. take a teaspoon of that gravy and feed it to her. it's ok if she gets some food, but most of the carbs are in the gravy, which is why you're trying to get to that. Some brands have more gravy than others, so it's worth having a generous gravy food for this purpose.
post here and ask for help - edit the subject line of your first post in that day's thread and put in something like "help with low numbers" or whatever you choose that gets that message across. you're going to wait 20ish minutes and retest. In some cats (mine) it takes 30 minutes to get into the bloodstream, so don't panic if it's still under 50 in 20 minutes. You just give another tsp of gravy and wait another 20 minutes and retest again.
you don't have to panic - you'll have time to bring her up. This is part of the dance of Tight Regulation, but it's safe. If you get scared, it's ok to hit the 911 to get more help.
If you don't have gravy cat food, you can use a drop or two of Karo (corn) syrup, honey or maple syrup. they'll all work.
It's a good idea to print out that particular yellow-starred sticky on low numbers so if the site goes down or your electricity goes out, or it's 4am and no one is online to help you, you've got the information you need.