7/24 Hershey PMPS(134) +5(106) +6.5(85) +8(100)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
7/23 Hershey

Good Morning!!!

It's a beautiful sunny morning here, 79 degrees, heading for a humid 98 degree high. My flowers are standing up nice and tall from last night's rain. The rain was most welcome!

It seems whatever what going on with Hershey yesterday may have passed. He almost cleaned his plate a shot time - left a little bit in the corner of the dish, like my Granny used to do. :lol: Hershey's (228) at PM +5, suggested we could sleep and skip the +7. I guess this morning will show how wise that decision was.

I guess Hershey didn't want to be like my Granny - he just went and finished his food! :lol: :lol:

Have test strips on order. I was hoping they'd come and I wouldn't have to buy them at Walmart, but think we may need them today, so...

Doug has PT this afternoon. He's doing more with that arm...some things I'm not too sure he should be doing. :roll: Last night, he noticed some limitations he hadn't seen before, but once he's healed he can work on that. :-D

Y'all have a wonderful day -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)

AMPS (197) + 12 - Shot f1u at 7:00am
+2 (224)
+4.75 (105)
+5 (85) - Fed
+7.25 (53)
+8 (40)
+8.33 (36) - Finished last 1/8 of +5 meal. Offered LC, not interested. Fed ~1/2T Friskies Pate' 7%MC
+8.75 (47)
+9.75 (56)

PMPS (134) +12 - Shot f1u at 7:10pm -
Fed a little less b/c of what he'd just been fed. Wanted to leave a little space in case we needed to feed to bring him up.
+2 (157)
+4 (142)
+5 (106) - Fed
+6.5 (85) - Finishing up +5 meal
+8 (100)
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197)

Nice blue start for Hershey.

Vyktor often leaves a mouthful in his bowl too - what's with that :?: He definitely wasn't copying anyone in my family - we weren't allowed dessert unless we cleaned our plate, I'm not a huge eater so I was pretty happy when we got a drooler I could sneak food to under the table :lol:
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197)

WOO HOO! Hershey is blue this morning! How cool is that? AND a member of the CPC! Well done Hershey. :-D

YAY for Rains - I am so sure that was most welcome. I hope Doug has a good PT session. Sounds like tings are progressing well. Bet he'll be glad when all is healed, and life returns to normal.

Enjoy your day today.
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +2(224)

Thanks for stopping by - Yes, we had to clean our plates, too, but that didn't apply to my Granny!

haha on sneaking food to the drooler! Ours were outsiders, so it would've been kind of obvious. :lol: Once, I did manage to sneak my egg salad sandwich (blech!) to the bathroom and hide it in the bottom of the trashcan. I was a child and didn't realize it would begin to SMELL! BUSTED...in more ways than one!
spank.gif
Fortunately, it wasn't as bad as the emoticon pictures!!!

Have a great day!

Hey, Michelle - Yes, the rains were great to see...and so was that blue this morning! :-D I checked at +2 and nothing shocking was going on...don't you sometimes wish you could just shake the blood out of the strip and reuse it or something?? :lol: Thanks for stopping by and Hershey thanks you for the encouragment!! :-D
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +2(224)

Nice blue for AMPS Hershey! Way to suck it up and be in the CPC today. My kitties never are so it is nice to hear that some do. My two are grazers.

Ohhhh rain. How nice. Of course Doug is using it too much. That's what men do right? Hopefully he will take it easy and let it heal. Have a great day Libby!
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +2(224)

Hi Libby. I'm another, that's happy about overnight rain. My moisture loving flowers/plants are loving' it. I am afraid to water, as I have well water, and can't be positive it won't run dry, during the annual July drought.

Hershey was gonna make sure you didn't pickup the last bit of his breffis, huh? In my house, if Checks walks away, Clancy goes for it, then Checks runs back to finish it up. :lol:

Hey Hershey Kiss, come on back down from that +2, some of your friends are playing on the blue floor.
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +2(224)

Hi guys .. hmm .. maybe we'll call this +2 a food spike and hope for some more blues again! I bet the rains were most welcome .. we certainly need them here .. maybe Thursday if the weather man is right .. :lol: :lol: :lol: I hope PT is going well for doug .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +2(224)

Hi Libby, sorry about your humidity! We get our share here, too, but not as bad as yours. Maggie always leaves some food on the plate, except her overnight food she cleans up. I guess in case her Bean sleeps in or something! Thanks for all your feedback and help on Maggie. She loves you for it and is snoring away to prove it. Have a nice day. Curious to see what's for supper tonight as you're such a good cook.

ETA: You just reminded me I need to order strips from ADW and syringers, too.
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +2(224) +4.75(105) +5(85)

## Hey, Melissa - On dry food, Hershey was a grazer and Oreo was a scarfer. Hershey would eat a piece or two and go back in an hour or so to eat another piece or two. When we changed to wet, they switched. Since Oreo eats a higher carb food, we take his up when he walks away. So, sometimes he eats, steps back, walks around the bowl...eats, steps back...you get the picture. :lol:

You're right; that's what men do. If Joseph was home, I think Doug would let Joseph do a thing or two (with his supervision ;-) ). He got out yesterday and rode his bike once around the block and said it felt good. He's getting there. Thanks for the well wishes for him; we'll all be glad when he's healed!

## Hey, Barb - I hear ya' on the well water. My Grandma's well went almost dry every summer. I remember having to be really careful at her house. It taught me a LOT about conserving water and was a great help the 5 years we had a well! Our well was a BIG SHOCK to my kids, though!! :lol: My sister had a well, now has city water, but still has access to her well. Wish I had both, our water bill is one of the highest in this area. Occasionally, we give our flowers a quick drink, have a SMALL garden (No garden this year.) and NEVER wash our cars at home.

That's so sweet of Clancy to try to help Checkers out with the food! Sometimes, Oreo (who doesn't LIKE Wellness) will go over and finish off Hershey's. :o Or, sometimes he'll just get a taste and then scratch all around it like it's something to cover in the LB! :roll:

Hey, Checks - Thanks for letting me know where everybody is! The blue floor is fun!! My mom wants me to play more on the green floor, so sometimes I do, just to make her happy. Your friend - Hershey

## Hey, Jane - Thanks for the well wishes for Doug. He likes going to PT. I can tell he's getting stronger because they have him doing more, but he's no longer in PAIN afterward. :-D Hope y'all have a great day, too!!
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +2(224) +4.75(105) +5(85)

## Hey, Devon - Hershey must have been listening to you about the more blues. I almost missed them! My schedule is sooo off today. The +4 test didn't happen until +4.75 and that was the tail-end of the blues! I hope y'all get some rain, too. My Granddaddy was usually right more often than the weatherman. He was a farmer who didn't finish grade school, but could read the weather. Guess you learn a lot being a farmer. :-D Thanks for the well wishes for Doug. Y'all have a great day, too!

## Hey, Ann - Yeah, I'm not a fan of humidity...never have liked to sweat! :lol: When I was a teenager, I met another teen who said her daddy didn't "allow" her to sweat! :lol: :lol: Thought it was a hoot then and it STILL cracks me up!!

Sounds like Maggie has had some survival training and is learning how to ration her food! ;-) I sure hope she's feeling better soon! Nice day for a snooze...of course, my boys say everyday...all day long...is a nice day for a snooze! :-D

Awww, shucks, thank you for your kind words. Supper tonight is Vegetable Beef soup.

I will need strips today. Checked and my order is due to be delivered....TOMORROW!
duh-doh.gif




+4.75 (105)
+5 (85)
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +2(224) +4.75(105) +5(85)

Oh no, then you have to run out to Walmart for strips? Good excuse to get out and about for a while!
Yum on the Vegetable Beef Soup! :-D
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +2(224) +4.75(105) +7.25(53)

+7.25 (53)

Wondering if I should offer a little mouthful or let it go since it's so far into the cycle and he'll be rising soon....

THOUGHTS??

Facing something new almost every day...Learning lots!! Thanks!!
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +2(224) +4.75(105) +7.25(53)

Sure. He's fine and all. He still has ~1/8 of his +5 meal in his dish. And, +7 is the latest I've seen him nadir. That's one reason I was thinking of not feeding...Oh, look, I type that he has 1/8 left and he walked over to finish it off :lol:
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +4.75(105) +7.25(53) +8(40)

WELL, SHUT MY MOUTH!!!! Nadir at +8 since I said I'd not seen him nadir this late!! :lol: :lol:

+8 (40) - Guess I should offer a mouthful of food...We just reduced...this is the 2nd cycle...
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +4.75(105) +7.25(53) +8(40)

+8 40?
A spoonful would be a great idea (Sure Hershey will agree!)
Carl
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +4.75(105) +7.25(53) +8(40)

Lather, rinse and repeat!

This may still be some left over action from the insulin depot. I think we're going to need to sort out whether it makes sense to take a dose reduction or not. A later nadir is typical of Lev.
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +4.75(105) +8(40) +8.33(36)

Offered more food. Disinterested :o . Double-checked to make sure it was Hershey! Heated it. He ate a precious little. Retesting since it's been :20 and he did finish that last 1/8 of +5 food...

+8.33 (36) - Headed to coax a little more or maybe break out the MC...
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +4.75(105) +8(40) +8.33(36)

Gravy style?

Carl
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +4.75(105) +8(40) +8.33(36)

Coaxing didn't work. Gave 1/16can Friskies Pate' Country Dinner or something like that 7%MC. KNEW that's what he was waiting for and, sure 'nuf, he chowed down! Figuring 1/16can is ~1/2T

The only gravy foods I have are 19%. I've been using Oreo's regular foods and Hershey's MC foods.

How do we determine if this earns a reduction? When we reduced, we shaved instead of the full .25u, so he's currently getting f1u. Next shot 3.5 hrs
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +4.75(105) +8(40) +8.33(36)

Glad to read he ate. Retest in 15-20, k? Like Sienne said, lather, rinse, repeat.

Nice catch Libby! Hershey, it's up on a surfboard for you, ok?
Jane
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +4.75(105) +8(40) +8.33(36)

:lol: :lol: Jane - Been waiting to lather - rinse - repeat on myself all day! Every time I think I'm going to jump in the shower, something comes up! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +4.75(105) +8(40) +8.33(36)

LOL, that's why there's 20 minutes between tests, Libby.
Plenty of time for a shower!

Carl
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +8(40) +8.33(36) +8.75(47)

paha, Carl - I wondered how they decided on :20 between tests. Now, I know. See?? I learn something every day on the forum!! :lol:

+8.75 (47)
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +8(40) +8.33(36) +8.75(47)

Nice surf, Hershey!

Carl
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +8.33(36) +8.75(47) +9.75(56)

Gave him a little break - checked supper, took a leisurely shower...

Had thought about not testing until shot time, but when I came out of the shower, he was on the floor and paying me no mind. Wanted to see if he was just fat and happy or not feeling well...

+9.75 (56) - Guess he was just fat and happy. :-D He has now moved to the recliner and is happily grooming himself.
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +8.33(36) +8.75(47) +9.75(56)

Nice.
Now stay there for a while, buddy.

Carl
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +8.33(36) +8.75(47) +9.75(56)

Hershey's likin' him some Lev!!! Look at him ride the waves!!! (and if it's anything like here a little while ago, I'm SURE there were waves - and hail - and everything else!). Ride em boy!!!
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +8.33(36) +8.75(47) +9.75(56)

Holy Cow, look what I missed today. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: No wonder it took you all day to get that shower. :smile:

Thanks for reply in Checks condo Libby. I forgot it was my own condo and asked what you were making for supper.
Deleted it and came here to find someone else already asked you.
Hehehe, . Curious minds want to know what you're cooking now.
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +8.33(36) +8.75(47) +9.75(56)

Hey, Lu - Sounds like y'all had quite a little storm. It's bright and sunny here. Looked like it wanted to cloud up a little while ago, but changed it's mind. Yes, ma'am. Hershey seems to like Lev. I hope he continues to like it. Happy to think his pancreas is getting a little break.

:lol: Barb - Nice to know y'all are interested. :-D I need to get busy on my menu, but something keeps coming up. It's so easy when I plan ahead. I know how to make my grocery list and don't have to think about what to fix. Just going to have to MAKE myself sit down and plan...
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +8.33(36) +8.75(47) +9.75(56)

Wow, Hershey Kiss, way to keep your bean's attention. Libby, I would recommend another test at +10.75. You want to see two rising numbers before getting out of lather,rinse, repeat mode. With a 56, you don't have a lot of margin for error. The 40s is definitely too low to leave a cat alone. Don't get complacent. His ears can handle a couple more pokes to make sure he is safe. Great job! And I'm sure he loved the extra carbs. :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: ?REDUCE OR NOT? 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +8.75(47) +9.75(5

Hey, Liz - It was already +11, so I went ahead and tested. And, yes! he loved the extra carbs! Poor Oreo doesn't understand when Hershey gets HIS food. He recognizes the smell from the next room, but figures I'm so confused I put it in the wrong bowl!
confusion-smiley-emoticon.gif


+11 (84)
 
Re: ?REDUCE OR NOT? 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +8.75(47) +9.75(5

I guess since you only shaved the dose last night, you could reduce to the 1.00 tonight, since he did hit the 30s today.
Let's see what others have to say. These lower numbers (like Sienne said) could all be from the 1.25 shed he is working on draining.
You have another 45 minutes before shot time?
 
Re: ?REDUCE OR NOT? 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +8.75(47) +9.75(5

Thanks, Dyana. I have :30 until shot time. That's what I was wondering, too, whether to take the fat off or if maybe it was the depot...
 
Re: ?REDUCE OR NOT? 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +8.75(47) +9.75(5

Is he eating okay? His normal amount, eventually?
If you don't want to let the momentum go and you have plenty of strips and HC etc, and you are going to be around to monitor him tonight and tomorrow, you could stay with the F1.00, but I am thinking that number in the 30s says reduction.
Again, I'd like back up opinions if there are any. What does your gut tell you?
 
Re: ?REDUCE OR NOT? 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +8.75(47) +9.75(5

I've gone from a F1.00 (which has the top of the plunger just touching the 1 unit mark) to a f1.00 (where there is just a bit of the 1 unit mark showing above the plunger), but that's just more micro dosing...
 
Re: ?REDUCE OR NOT? 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +8.75(47) +9.75(5

Dyana said:
What does your gut tell you?
You mean besides the grumbling because it hasn't had a meal today?? :lol: :lol:

I'm going back and forth. He's eating okay, eventually finishing his food. I never thought I'd see him fill up, but I think I saw it a few hours ago. I increased the amount of food he gets, trying to put weight on him. So, I don't know if his change in eating is because of that or because seeing better numbers makes him less hungry??

I have about a dozen test strips. My order is due here tomorrow - hoping it arrives in the morning, otherwise, I'll have to commandeer a vehicle and make a Walmart run. I had thought of going today, but at the time had 18 strips which should've gotten us through 24 normal hours.

I will be most of the next several cycles. I need to run errands late afternoon either tomorrow or Thursday, then will be around until Saturday, unless something unforeseen comes up. I don't want to lose momentum, but don't want to endanger Hershey, either. I feel pretty comfortable with the numbers he saw today, don't want to get too comfortable with them, though, and miss something...

How's that for talking in circles??? :lol:
 
Re: ?REDUCE OR NOT? 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +8.75(47) +9.75(5

I would go with the smaller f1.00 that I described. That's my feelings. Go with what you think. You are in control. You are doing a good job.
 
Re: :04?REDUCE? NOT? 7/24 Hershey AMPS(197) +8.75(47) +9.75(

Wow Libby, you guys have had an exciting day!!! :mrgreen:
Good on ya!
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey PMPS(134)

Thanks, Dyana - For helping me reason through it. In the end, my gut said, "Hold to what you got," and it sounded remarkably like my Daddy's voice...hmmm...Guess that makes sense, his saying - his voice...

Anyhoo - we shot f1u, which is pretty much 1.1u. I know I may not get much sleep tonight, but it'll be a'ight. :-D

Hey, Donna - Yepperz. Lots of excitement here. Happens every time I take my eyes off that boy! :lol:


PMPS (134) +12 - Shot f1u at 7:10pm
Fed a little less b/c of what he'd just been fed. Wanted to leave a little space in case we needed to feed to bring him up.
 
Re: 7/24 Hershey PMPS(134)

It's good you held.....glad Dyana was here to help you. It easily could have been the depot from the higher dose talking. I'm sure if it wasn't, you'll see low numbers soon. :-D

His SS is certainly looking alot more blue and green!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top