7/24 Enana PMPS 310 +1/293 +2/213

Status
Not open for further replies.

Natalia & Enana

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Good morning LL,

Bouncing from the little green she had last night :shock:

5ps in place. All is good.

Have a great Sunday.

Crawling btb.

Dental coming up Tuesday morning. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 7/24 Enana 405

Hi Natalia

You had asked some questions yesterday about Enana getting a dental and feeding.

I would call the Vet tomorrow and ask the following questions:

1. How much food before the dental are they recommending? Let them know how much you typically give Enana and when.
2. Are they giving her glucose during the procedure? Michelle and Mannie had glucose and so did Curry. So the glucose can help raise her bg during the procedure.
3. When do they typically discharge the kitties? Mine tends to hold on to the kitties until at least 4:00pm....Curry's was at 8:00am.

I would test her before leaving for the dental. Looks like you shot at 7:30am.....I guess you will be leaving around 8:30am ( you still might run into traffic) for the 9:00am appointment. If she is an early nadir kitty, let them know that. Maybe ask them to check her glucose when you get there.

Have on hand at home some baby foods in case they do some extractions. Her mouth might be a bit sore and she may not want her regular food. HEB carries the Beechnut stage 1 chicken and broth. Its lower in carbs than Gerber.

Test her as soon as you get her home to see what her glucose is. Some kitties start dropping in the early evening, some will drop over night (like Curry) and some might not drop at all. But test when you get home. They way you will know if you are shooting a dropping number that night. Post and ask what dose to shoot or if you should shoot at all. I got home too late to shoot her that night. I first fed her to see if Curry would eat and hold the food. By the time I did all of that it was past her shot time so I didn't shoot her that night. Keep in mind though that Curry's was close to getting on off the juice then so her pancreas was working very well. She also seemed to still have some anesthesia in her the next morning by looking at her eyes and by her behavior. Her eyes were still very, very dialated. So I didn't shoot then either....she was 67 then and had been w/o insulin for a couple of days. By the next evening she was up at 94 or so and I gave her the shot.

Also put in your subject line that she's having her dental that day. And post when you have questions or get some info on Enana.
 
Re: 7/24 Enana 405

Tena has some great advice.

The vet I used for my senior civvie also used the newer guidelines of letting the kitty eat after midnight. She said my cat could eat about 3 hours before the procedure. I didn't give a huge meal but she did have food. Then between travel and wait time at the vet's it was more like 4+ hours since her last food. She did fine, but she was not diabetic. My other civvie, Cappi (BigMac's sister) had complications not related to food. BigMac hasn't had a dental yet. nailbite_smile

I'm sure others have mentioned the 'nom-nom' effect of anesthesia on BGs, right? Anesthesia often brings the BG numbers down, even hours after you get home. I think Curry's example shows a bit of that action. Doesn't always happen, but it is something to be aware of.

Hey, Enana, bounce out of that red right now, silly kitty! :shock:
 
Re: 7/24 Enana 405

Come down from there Enana!!!

I hear you on the btb!!! Have a good day.

Tomorrow is Miss Grazie's birthday!!!
 
Re: 7/24 Enana 405

Natalia, Simon had a dental done not too long ago, and believe me, I was a nervous wreck. He had only one other dental in his life and that was before the FD diagnosis. He did fine even though he had to have quite a few extractions. My vet told me Simon could eat a few hours before the procedure. I fed him at 6:00 AM and brought him to the vet at 8:00 AM. He didn't have his procedure until around 12:00. I picked him up about 5:00 that afternoon and he was so ready to be home! I bought baby food and thought he would want to eat that after the extractions, but he ended up wanting regular food. My vet also gave him some bupe in syringes for pain for the next 3 days since he had the extractions. I think that helped alot. He was also put on an antibiotic. Simon's bg did go down that night but went back up again later. I did give him his insulin when I got home from the vet but if it is later than when you usually give the shot, I'm sure it will be fine to skip that one shot.

I know how anxious you must be. It is scary but I'm sure Enana is going to do fine. We are all here for you!
 
Re: 7/24 Enana PMPS 310

I think I gave a fur shot this morning. :?

Thanks for all the advice.

Tena: I'll call tomorrow and ask those questions. Thanks thanks thanks!!

CD: Thanks for letting me know about the "nom-nom" effect :-D

Georgia: I'm a nervous wreak! nailbite_smile nailbite_smile :shock: :? :-D :lol: :razz: :sad: :-| :idea: :!: :?: :oops: :arrow: @-) :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 7/24 Enana PMPS 310

I agree with Tena about all the post-dental testing. For Trixie, she was fine the evening of her dental; it was the next evening that she dropped like a rock. Of course it didn't help that we were relative newbies to the whole FD thing at the time, either, but I still thought that 36 hours after the dental, we were in the clear. As you know - ECID, so it's best to be prepared.

We'll be thinking of you guys on Dental Day!!

Amy
 
Sent them an email with questions and concerns. Lets see how long it takes for them to answer back :shock:

Will keep you posted. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top