Thanks we are following a TRGS.... So hopefully if he drops another 20 points in the next hour from 86 to 66 that will still be okay and hopefully his nadir which we have never been able to nail down. But if he goes below 50 what do we do? I guess I'm worried about at what level hypoglycemia might show up since our first cat went into hypoglycemic shock during the night when we had house guests 22 years ago and we've never gotten over it.This late in the cycle high carb isn’t usually given. Are you following TR or SLGS? With TR you don’t reduce until 50. With SLGS you reduce under 90. Normal bg is over 50 s yes they are being cautious.
You read my mind I tested him at +7.5 and he only went down two points. Had to send DH to Walmart to get more test strips! Thought we would be okay until tomorrow but I guess not. We'll test again at 4:00 p.m. eastern time which will be +8. As you can tell from our spreadsheet we rarely are in the green this early in the game.Max dropped into the 30’s but never had an active hypo. If he drops under 50 you would feed high carb, just a couple of teaspoons and retest in 20-30 minutes.
He is at a good level now. I would feed some low carb and retest in 30 minutes. What do you think? I’ll check with you then if you like.
Do you have gravy lover’s or other high carb food in case needed? Do you have karo syrup or honey in case needed?
So we can do the +3 easily because we're feeding him every 3 hours but honestly if I saw him dropping at +3, I would just be anxious for longer! Just kidding.Whenever possible you need a +2-3 test both cycles as that will give you an indication of whether you will have an active cycle requiring closer monitoring.
Do you have a backup meter?
i see you write the carb count on the cans.our hypo tool kit