7/24 callies numbers ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

calliecat an marty

Member Since 2011
Happy Sunday everyone !

would you guys please look at callies ss and let me know what ya think is going on she had such a good day yesterday !

I shot .05 units it wasn't a fur shot ,and her amps =300 and + 4 = 309 ???? :?
 
My first guess is that it is a bounce from the blue yesterday, she hasn't seen a blue bg in 2 weeks.

Their little bodies get used to being in the high bg's so when they get a lower bg than they are used to their body thinks that they are going hypo which they of course aren't so the liver dumps sugar to protect itself and you get higher bg's again. The bounce will clear by itself, just hold tight.

Of course it could also mean that .5u is still too much insulin or too little insulin. You are just starting your sugar dance with Callie so the dance steps are uncertain.

With the nice response she had yesterday I would like to see if she can do it again after the bounce clears.
 
I haven't been following closely, but looking at her SS today, her dose looks too low to me. It looks like she is getting shallow U-curves, which suggests she is responding to the insulin but it's not enough. Yesterday's drop was in the 35% range (maybe a little more depending on when she nadired), and you want about double that generally on PZI.

Although it is possible, today's numbers don't jump out at me as a bounce. She didn't bounce off the 170 yesterday, and though you don't know what happened overnight last night, a 300 PS isn't unusual for her, so it's doesn't strike me as a bounce number. Without more data from last night though, either way is just speculation.

If it were me I would raise. It is nice that some of her numbers aren't bad, mostly to me that looks like her natural variation. Her numbers really weren't that high when diagnosed, and then with the switch to LC that has probably helped as well. With the occasional exception, it doesn't look like she really goes very high on her own. Which is partly what makes me think her dose is too low now - just doesn't look to me like it's doing a whole lot.

If you want to hold it another day or so just to be sure I think that is ok as long as she is doing reasonably well and you don't have any ketones. I would go ahead and raise, but that's me. How is she feeling & acting?
 
she is acting more like herself , she has not been naping all day and following me around lol ! the litter box has calmed down alot ! and she hasn't been drinking near as much water ! she was running down the stairs today :lol: and she is eating good ! I want to thank you all for your dancing lessons :YMHUG: I know I need them :smile:
 
calliecat said:
she is acting more like herself , she has not been naping all day and following me around lol ! the litter box has calmed down alot ! and she hasn't been drinking near as much water ! she was running down the stairs today :lol: and she is eating good ! I want to thank you all for your dancing lessons :YMHUG: I know I need them :smile:

I'm so glad she's feeling and acting better. Dance lessons around here are always free. :-D
 
Robyn her pmps = 283 I'm going to get a + 6 tonight but thats it cause I need sleep bad I-)

my calliecat likes to keep me on my toes ! cat_pet_icon
 
Are you checking for ketones?

You can go to any pharmacy or Walmart and get some Ketostix and check her urine. Given the recent crisis with Ginny and Alex you need to start checking.
 
Robyn, I do check for keytones :) and 7/26 callies amps =295 I shot a .75u today I will see what she does with this , what do you guys think ??
 
I think you should try the .25u. We felt that the .5u was too much insulin the first time why wouldn't we feel it is too much this time. I would give it a try and see if she is a low dose kitty. Check for ketones every day. If it doesn't do the trick then you raise back up.
 
The only cats I can think of who have done well on super-low doses are cats who have already been through a process of being on higher doses, have spent time in greens, and are on a dose reduction path. I'll admit my memory bites :mrgreen: but I can't recall seeing any cats do well initially on really low doses.

I also don't see anything in the data to support that the dose is too high. I am happy to look at the evidence if someone can point me to it.

If you are sticking with the lower dose, please do test daily for ketones.

I know it is confusing when you are getting contradictory advice here, and I do support the general concept of trying lower doses if you need to so that if they are too low you can raise with confidence. I just don't see the need here to try anything lower. If you aren't sure what to do, I would suggest asking for more input, either on Health or here, or both - put something in your title to catch people's eye (like "should I raise or lower the dose?").

I'm really at a loss frankly, the dose decrease trial path just does not make sense to me in this case. I know there are a few cats who respond better to a lower dose, but you have already tried lower doses and not gotten better results. Typically if you are overdosing, when you reduce you get immediate and much better numbers. When you get one or two better numbers here and there but no real overall improvement, and generally flat and blah numbers, to me all signs are pointing to the dose being too low. Lowering it to a level that is almost equivalent to not shooting insulin for the average diabetic cat makes 0 sense to me, I do not understand where the suggestion is coming from.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top