7/24 Bruno pspm:383 +2:349 +4:317 Insuline increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

aochoa

Member Since 2014
As for our numbers we were supposed to be clearing the bouncing lowering the dose form 0.75u to 0.5u it seemed like that for a couple of days.

His numbers are still everywhere going form 166 to 369 in just 3 hours and can go from 193 to 85 in 4 hours.

At this time, I really don't know what else to do. We are not that knew, been with Lantus already 2 months but just can't get stable numbers. Any suggestions? Just keep in mind that I cannot test during the day, since I am away for at least 11 hrs. and I am always running trying to be on time for his shots.

Tonight I shot 0.75u but I really need advise, I feel lost here. :roll: I simply don't get why he keeps bouncing and bouncing.

Ah, something I forgot he had an ear infection which we were treating with drops lat May, but when he was at the vet for his curve (for 10 days!!! Every time I remember what they did I feel so angry :evil:) vet said we should stop since it was too much stress starting to test and the drops. So we are doing nothing about that but I can still see some black deep in both ears. I don;t know if this may be affecting his numbers. HELP!!
 
Re: 7/24 Bruno psam: 392 pspm:383 Insuline increase?

Here's your condo (post) from yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122236&p=1271170#p1271170

Here's part from the guidelines that would apply to Bruno. I think since you're not able to get tests in during the day, you're going to want to follow the more conservative lengths of time that the protocol suggests.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

So with those green numbers on the night of 7/20, you'd want to hold the dose a full 10 cycles before increasing. Since you already increased back to 0.75u, it's probably ok to go ahead and stick with it now, but without data in whole cycles, you don't really know what's going on during those times. I'm not saying that to criticize you for not getting tests, because you gotta work with work schedules, just to let you know. It's just a good idea to go a little slower with dose increases in this situation.

For now, though, go ahead and stay with the 0.75u and just monitor as much as you can.

Some cats are bouncy. They've spent enough time out of normal numbers that their bodies react to the normal numbers. The way to get over the bouncing is to keep getting them in green numbers so they get reaccustomed to them. And some cats don't stop bouncing, but even some of those bouncy cats will bounce all the way til they are off of insulin. It just depends on the cat. Two months isn't long at all - just keep plugging away.

He's still on a very tiny dose and having good numbers with it, so be encouraged about that!

Hope you're having a great evening!
 
Re: 7/24 Bruno psam: 392 pspm:383 Insuline increase?

THANKS! Julie. I know I should have hold for advise to increase the dose, it's just that I spend lately most of my time checking other members ss and I get happy for them but a little desperate and frustrated myself.

I don't want to skip the chance to have Bruno OTJ because I am making a mistake with his dose. :roll:

Sorry, it's just that today was not the best day and then to come home and see him still and again in the 300's makes me more upset. I will set the alarm to wake up @+6 to start testing when more or less nadir should be, to have more info about what happens when I'm not around. :?
 
Re: 7/24 Bruno psam: 392 pspm:383 Insuline increase?

i don't want you to feel badly - i had to go back to work while punkin was still diabetic and you just gotta manage as best as you can! i just wanted to get you the info.

if you're going to set an alarm, i'd probably go for +4 or +5 so that if he's on his way down into low numbers, you can catch him.

Bruno's got a good chance of OTJ, ana. don't give up at all. as i said, he's on a tiny dose and he's having good response to it. every cat is different and some do go off and some don't, but his ss looks encouraging to me. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top