7/24 Bob's dose for tomorrow AM??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Good morning LL!

Ugh - I'm in a coma after last night. Bob did not eat yet this am, but I left some HC out for him last night so not sure when he may have finished it of. He's in a great mood. Decided to reduce him .5 to 3.25. Keeping my fingers crossed. Was very happy to see no bounce this morning - or at least only a little teeny weeny baby bounce. :-D He still smells like pancakes! Making me hungry.

So, I'm staying home until lunch to make sure Bob eats and doesn't pull another number in the 20's. I put out his fav - peking ducken and the nature's variety rabbit. Of course, those where his favorites in the last 48 hours. He just sniffed them and walked away. I love Bob, but next time - I need a dog. They do whatever you say and will eat ANYTHING!!! :lol: Nah- love my kitties too much and the main reason I love them is their funny personalities.

Thanks to all who visited and advised last night! Hoping everyone has a great day!
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121, +1=107

Wow...what a day for you! Bob is such a classic case of what a difference food can make, and it is so awesome you were able to find foods he agrees to eat! Trix loves the Paw Lickin', too, but for some reason it seems to spike her...good ole "ECID".

Let's see a nice surf today, Bob!!
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121, +1=107

Hi Amy, well, like I said, he liked it for the last couple of days. Who knows about tomorrow? He's so funny. I'm going to have to break out the ff appetizer soon if he doesn't decide to eat soon. I know he'll eat that because of the tuna.

Yes, I would love to see a nice surf today! Give your mom a break today, Bob! :-D

thanks for stopping by! you and Trixie have a great day!
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121, +1=107

That's an awfully big decrease. If it doesn't look like the numbers are holding, I'd encourage you to bring the dose up to 3.5u if you start seeing less than desirable numbers.

I'd also get a +2 because Bob apparently wants your undivided attention this morning.
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121, +1=107, +2.5=31 Here we go again...

Oh Dara....It's a good thing you stayed home! Now where is the fund that pays us to stay home from work until our cats go into remission? :lol:

Good luck today!
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121, +1=107, +2.5=31 Here we go again...

Wow, Bob must have decided he'll do whatever it takes to get some more of that maple syrup :shock: Thank goodness you're home this morning!
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121, +1=107, +2.5=31 Here we go again...

Omg - this is getting old. I'm either skipping his shot tonight or giving him a half dose! This is ridiculous! Of course, he was being picky again this morning. Not wanting to eat. UGH!

@Sienne - yep, it seems he wants my undivided attention. Just can't figure this guy out!

@Nikki - yeah! We should start one of those!! I make $106 an hour. :-D

@Amy - and just when I thought the maple syrup smell was coming out of his fur! Dangit!
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121, +1=107, +2.5=31 Here we go again...

So, ignore what I said. And feed that bad boy some HC. Apparently, he's acquired a taste for the high octane food!
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121, +1=107, +2.5=31 Here we go again...

Something! I'm sure he would have made it to at +3 before he started his daily (or now bi-daily) dive. But the fact he would not eat probably hurried it along!
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121, +1=107, +2.5=31 Here we go again...

Jacey and I have our paws crossed for Bob. His situation is why my human gets nervous shooting with relatively low numbers.
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121, +1=107, +2.5=31 Here we go again...

Oh no! Bob, come up above 50!!! and then surf there!!! He must want some of that HC again. Hope he comes back up for you soon and surfs safely. Hope you have a great day
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121, +1=107, +2.5=31 Here we go again...

thanks guys! I hope he surfs safely too! And I have to get to work so I hope it's soon! :-D
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121, +1=107, +2.5=31 Here we go again...

It looks like you need to get a +3.5. (Could you keep your subject line updated? It helps to know where Bob's numbers are at a glance.)
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 31@+2.5 44+3 45+3.5 42+4

I think Bob just likes smelling like pancakes :lol: :lol: You have really been thru it with Bob @-) Come on Bob, come on back up to the 50's and surf nice for Mama, she has to work sometime :roll: Good luck with Bob today Dara, you are doing a great job, and cracking me up :lol: :thumbup :lol:
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 31@+2.5 44+3 45+3.5 42+4 35+4.5

Hi Pam - thanks for encouraging Bob!! He's being very bad!!!

Bob update: he wants nothing to do with the HC food which in the past (like yesterday) he devoured. He's munching on the LC I put down for his breakfast and every1/2 hour I am feeding him HC gravy with a syringe and giving him a little syrup. PLEASE start going up! I should not have given him his shot this am. :sad:
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 31@+2.5 44+3 45+3.5 42+4 35+4.5

I think you need to drain his depot like we were discussing last night by skipping. Tonight would be a good time so you can get some rest. I would strongly consider skipping the shot.

I thought his depot would bring him down today but not like this!
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 31@+2.5 44+3 45+3.5 42+4 35+4.5

I concur! Will the depot drain from missing one shot? What should I expect? Do you think I'll see those hideous numbers again? 300's? 400's? I have no problem skipping, I just have to prepare for the disappointment....
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 31@+2.5 44+3 45+3.5 42+4 35+4.5

WOW! Bob is keeping you hopping! It is amazing how quickly things change one they hit that breakthrough dose. Skipping should let you sleep tonight, there may be a bounce but not consistently high like before. :thumbup
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 31@+2.5 44+3 45+3.5 42+4 35+4.5

So, what dose will I go with tomorrow morning if I skip tonight?
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 31+2.5 44+3 45+3.5 42+4 35+4.5 4

guys - I can't get this cat's BG up. He won't eat any of his high carb food. I've been giving him syrup and gravy with a syringe every 1/2 hour. any clue how long I'm going to have to do this?
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 36+5

Its Lantus and Lantus lasts.

Syrup and gravy don't last long.

Keep going until you are confident the numbers are safe.
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 36+5

Wow Bob. Are you making a statement or what?

Luckily his nadir should be coming up shortly.
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 36+5

usually he starts coming up by now. He didn't eat much this am and now he won't eat at all. by this point his poor belly probably hurts with syrup and gravy sloshing around in it....
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 36+5

YICKS!!! Bob has been busy :smile: smells like pancakes :lol: need a dog NOT :lol: know the feeling mine are turning there noses up at there food now, 6 cases of Friskies they really hate Turkey and Giblets now :smile: So glad you caught his low and able to stay home with him. Such a good mom :smile:
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 36+5 36+6.5

someone kill me. how long can that possibly take?

BJM - aren't you good with spreadsheets? I've been trying to create one with Dr. Pierson's calculations to get the carb % and dry matter basis and al that crap. Could you take a look at it?
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 36+5 36+6.5

What are you trying to do w/ the SS? Are you trying to calculate carb% for foods not on the list or add the info to Bob's BG SS?

I have a SS to calculate carbs, actually I have all of Dr Lisa's list as a SS. If you want it let me know. I'm a Machead so I use Numbers, but I can translate it into Excel if you need that.
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 36+5 36+6.5

Hi Dara,

Greetings from the Space Coast! Bob seems to be keeping you on your toes...like your tip toes! :shock: You're doing a great job. Come on, Bob...time to give your bean a break. Hope he starts coming up soon...very soon! And I like the idea of skipping the shot tonight...great idea...for both of you! :-D Best wishes!

~Deborah & Shasta
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 36+5 36+6.5

Lkldcatlady said:
someone kill me. how long can that possibly take?

All day. Just be glad this didn't happen before bed so you had to stay up all night! (Been there, did that!) How many hours since the shot, now? About +8-ish, it may start coming up as the Lantus attenuates.

Lkldcatlady said:
BJM - aren't you good with spreadsheets? I've been trying to create one with Dr. Pierson's calculations to get the carb % and dry matter basis and al that crap. Could you take a look at it?

Yes, I'm pretty good with spreadsheets. If you've got a formula, I can get it in there.

Is what you want a calculator you can plug in numbers, a sorted reference chart where you can have it lookup the data, or something else?
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 36+5 36+6.5

hey Dara:

feeling rested? NOT!! oh boy again

this is crazy crazy......really.

I leave my computer for 12 hours and look at what is going on with you and bob!

I know you are skipping tonight right?

I am surprised that syrup doesn't do the trick!

what do you tell your work about why you are missing? do you tell them the truth? and what is their reaction?

how many pairs of pants have you gone through?
:shock:
~kelly
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 36+5 36+6.5

BJM said:
all day. Just be glad this didn't happen before bed so you had to stay up all night! (Been there, did that!) How many hours since the shot, now?

I was up all last night too. I'm so miserable. At least last night, he was eating and his numbers started going up. I have 4 different food set out and he will not eat.

BJM said:
Is what you want a calculator you can plug in numbers, a sorted reference chart where you can have it lookup the data, or something else?

Just a calculator where I can plug numbers in. I was trying to do something with all the calculations - dry matter basis, etc. I'm having trouble picking the right foods. I bought Avoderm chicken & duck in gravy because on her food list, it is either MC or HC. I called the company and they tell me it's 3%???? I have no idea what's going on. Figured if I have a spreadsheet, I could do it myself, but it seems to not be working. For instance, I've been buying the cats Fromm duck & chicken pate which is not on her spreadsheet. the GA shows around 6% carbs, but when I try to figure the dry matter basis, it comes out to like 33%. What the heck!
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 36+5 36+6.5

Carbs as a percentage of weight is going to be very different from % of calories from carbs.

Of course they'll tell you the one that sounds best.

Here's a link to the calculator spreadsheetfrom Binky's Page.
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 36+5 36+6.5

How much syrup are you giving Bob? And PLEASE, put the numbers in your subject line. I had no idea you were struggling with getting Bob's numbers up since I've been seeing the same numbers for a while. Alternatively, you can keep a running tally in your condo IF you note that there's a "recap" in the subject line.

Rubbing Karo on Bob's gums will work. You can also make a simple syrup solution -- equal parts sugar dissolved in water and syringe feed that.

We'll worry about tomorrow's dose later today.
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 36+5 52+6 47+7 48+8

Hi Sienne - I'm half asleep so I don't know what I'm doing. I have pure maple syrup and I'm rubbing it on his gums and giving him about .1 ml every 30 min. I was also giving him a couple syringes full of HC gravy. He is being very bratty and won't eat anything so his numbers aren't going anywhere except down.
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 36+5 52+6 47+7 48+8

I was just going to ask how Bob is acting during all this....


bratty

well, I can think of worse.

bratty is good. hungry would be better


super sorry Dara......it should only get easier as the clock ticks by....and then hopefully tonight you can get a full 8 straight hours sleep!!

fingers crossed girl!
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 36+5 52+6 47+7 48+8

Will he eat the FF appetizers?

You may need to rub syrup on his gums more often. If the maple syrup is thin enough, you can put that in a syringe or mix some with water and squirt that into Bob's mouth. It will be higher in carbs than gravy. I'd try that. I want to see Bob out of the 40s and staying out of there. There's too little margin of safety.

Just out of curiosity, do you know if he'd eat ice cream (not chocolate)? If you have any in the house, try that unless you know that milk products upset his tummy. (Many cats are lactose intolerant.)
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 36+5 52+6 47+7 48+8 57+9

Hey Sienne - he's doing ok now. I gave him syrup an hour ago and it seems like his numbers are staying up on their own. I tried to give him the tuna & chicken ff appetizer and he wouldn't eat and I know he loves that. He's not acting sick or anything. Not sure what his problem is. I'm going to try an give him something now and see if he will eat. I usually feed him about 7:00.
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 36+5 52+6 47+7 48+8 57+9

not sure about the ice cream. I could pick some up and try. I was going to ask about baby food too. I should maybe have some on-hand for times like these!
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 36+5 52+6 47+7 48+8 57+9 85+10

Good job! I've learned to always keep a few jars of baby food on hand. You will get to know how everything effects Bob. for instance, I know that 1 drop of honey will bring Tess up 20 points, but she will drop after 2 hours if she hasn't reached nadir. ECID and you will learn just how to deal w/ Bob's quirks! :thumbup
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 36+5 52+6 47+7 48+8 57+9 85+10

Could someone please advise me on a dose for Bob tomorrow morning? I'd love to skip two shots but not sure what that would look like. I kind of need an idea of what will happen....will the depot empty from missing one shot? will his numbers fly up after that? After last night and today, I'm scared to give him the 3.5. Is it possible to start at the bottom again? Maybe with 1 unit?
 
Re: 7/24 Bob AMPS=121 107+1 36+5 52+6 47+7 48+8 57+9 85+10

I get Gerber stage 2, chicken or turkey. Tess throws up whenever she eats beef and I worry about the phosphorus in the ham. Lots of beans like Beechnut, but i can't get it near here. Just be sure there is no onion or garlic! There will probably be cornstarch so a few carbs. I think I read somewhere that about 9% or 10% carbs from calories, which is how the food lists are figured.
 
I don't think you can plan the dose out this far ahead. You need to see what happens after the skipped dose tonight. If Bob bounce way up you can probably shoot the reduced dose you shot this morning. Today's drop was from the shed not your last dose, you have to wait and see what happens when the shed drains.

Since you are skipping tonight you can shoot at your regular time tomorrow. Get a what would normally be a +10 or 11 before that ( I take it there was some stalling?) and post to ask for advice. It helps for the advisors to have a little time to think things through, but too far ahead and they don't have enough info.

Patience Pants! :?
 
I agree with Ann -- it's too early to anticipate what will happen by tomorrow morning. I'd get a couple of tests tonight and a +11 if you can tomorrow. That will give us a better sense of what's going on with Bob's numbers.

I know you're exhausted and the low numbers can be nerve wracking. However, starting over at 1.0u will cause Bob to lose all of the momentum that you've been working very hard toward building. Part of the difficulty is that everyone hates to see high numbers but coming down the dose scale can be emotionally even harder.
 
ok - there's been a few times I posted and nobody got back to me so I just had to make a decision. I just want an idea of what I need to consider from the numbers I get in the morning.
 
My guess is that given the reduction today coupled with skipping a shot, you may be able to shoot your current dose. But, like I said, Bob isn't reading the rule book.

What time (and time zone) do you shoot?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top