7/23Rosy AMPS 335/7 142 PMPS 112/ 3 229/ 6 331

Status
Not open for further replies.

tortie58

Member Since 2012
Previous
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=75485
Yesterday:
The forum was down after my first condo posting. Feel so lost...
Yesterday was not a good day for Rosy, mostly purple with a yellow at AM nadir. I gave her the excuse of boucing off the green on the 21st.
I was expecting Rosy to clear her bounce fast but seemed not the case.

Today: Typhoon's over. Little rain & a bit windy ; it's a wee bit less hot but still very humid. A typical rainny day & Monday where people has to beat the traffic for work. All is well in Tortieland. Ive found out that a canned food (for kitty weaning use) I used to fed my cats for getting them to eat more has changed its flavour. Nowadays, you never know what the manufacturer are putting into these canned food :roll: and the supplier never inform you of the change. A lot of the canned we are using are "so called" Japanese canned food where they dont have any English written on the content :roll: Most of these canned food are made in Thailand. Guess Thailand is the largst manufacturer for this, even the Wiskas & Friskies we have here are made in Thailand.

AMPS 335 gave canned breakfast & 0.85u
:?: This is the 7th cycle on this fattened dose. If Rosy is not having more green, I'll fatten it to 0.9u on tomorrow AM. Please advice
 
Re: 7/23 Rosy AMPS 335/7 142 Pls advice on dose increase

It was hard when the board went down! I felt very isolated. :sad: No dosing advice from me. I'm glad the typhoon is over.
Liz
 
Re: 7/23 Rosy AMPS 335/7 142 Pls advice on dose increase

Helen, I have no dosing advice, but wanted to comment on the trouble you are going through with the foods you have available. What a nightmare that is for you!

You work so hard with Rosy, and get her into the beautiful greens, and then, bam!, something goes amiss and she's back in the pinks.

I'm wondering how much of Rosy's problem is carb related. While I understand that the canned food you have available is a nightmare and ingredients aren't even listed in English, have you considered using Google translate to figure out what the ingredients are? (That won't give you the as-fed and %KCal values from carbs, but it's a start.) If you know of one tried and true low-carb food, can you feed that to Rosy for a week, and see how she does with her numbers, to determine if she has a carb sensitivity? Also, with all of your cats, is there any way Rosy could be getting into higher carb food that she's not supposed to be eating? Or, if she is an indoor/outdoor cat, could she be eating higher carb food somewhere else?

Then again, maybe she's just as bad as a bouncer and diver as Pumbaa used to be. (Pumbaa has only calmed down in his bounces and dives very recently, thank god!)

I don't know the answers, but hope that some of the questions I've posed can help you deal with erratic Rosy! (((HUGS)))

Suze

ps: If I ever win the (big) lottery, I'll send you cases of U.S. FF Classics for Rosy so you don't have to deal with the canned food nightmare you have been going through. :)
 
Re: 7/23 Rosy AMPS 335/7 142 Pls advice on dose increase

Hey, Helen -

So sorry about your canned food troubles. Have you checked about having it shipped to you from somewhere like Pet Smart, Petco, Mr. Chewy, etc. I'm sure you probably have, but that the only suggestion I could think of...Do you have any other members in your part of the world that might be able to advise? I'm with you about wondering what they put in the food...and it ticks me they aren't always forthcoming. grrr

Y'all have a great day -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 7/23Rosy AMPS 335/7 142 PMPS 112 Pls advice on dose incr

Thanks your visit Suze, Libby!

To answer some of your questions.
Rosy is an indoor cat only. Her mom is a control freak & cannot risk the chance of anything happening to the gang. Since March Rosy is fed only on Wellness Core, Ziwipeak & the Australian made Wiskas chicken loaf. There is no more free feeding, but fed scheduled meals everyday. So far, Ive shielded Rosy away after she finished her food & quickly rush to help with the CPC. But boy, she's quick!
The rest is still enjoying their hearty yummy canned, anything they fancy. So, I dont think Rosy's bg was raised by the carb from food.
Yes, Ive got to admit she's diver as well as a bouncer! And a cameleon, she changes her pattern so fast Whether she's a donkey or a monkey, her mumbeans just follow the bible & act accordingly. No question ask. That's how I deal with this sugar kitty.
Libby, thanksfor your thinking. We do have some of the US brands here but mostly are fish flavoured as in asia cats are fed mostly on fish. I tried to add in more home cooking food for them. Boiled chicken filet, boiled minced fish added to their daily meal of canned food.
My headache is there are still dry food junkies here who refused to have any canned food. I have to feed them dry knibbles after finishing off the canned scheduled meal. Oh yes, a lot of work. And not to mention those scopping! :lol:
I wish I can do more for Rosy but since she is not the only cat here, there are sacrafice to be made. :roll:

PMPS 112 gave canned dinner & 0.85u
 
Re: 7/23Rosy AMPS 335/7 142 PMPS 112 Pls advice on dose incr

I do think Rosy bounced off of the green. It does look like the bounce has cleared, though. Raising Rosy's dose is a good idea. When she saw green on this dose, it was in the higher end of the green numbers. I think you have room for an increase.
 
Re: 7/23Rosy AMPS 335/7 142 PMPS 112 Pls advice on dose incr

Sienne and Gabby said:
I do think Rosy bounced off of the green. It does look like the bounce has cleared, though. Raising Rosy's dose is a good idea. When she saw green on this dose, it was in the higher end of the green numbers. I think you have room for an increase.


Thanks Sienne. Yes, I do beleive fattening the dose to 0.9u (1.99mm on caliper) will be a good try. I'll increase the dose tomorrow morning.

Jack & Jane said:
Good luck with the increase, Rosy (and Helen)! Have a good day, you two and the rest of the gang!

Jane

Thanks Jane!
 
Re: 7/23Rosy AMPS 335/7 142 PMPS 112/ 3 229

Hi Helen:)

Good luck on fattening the dose. I hoe Rosy will like it! Glad to hear the typhoon has passed and that all is well it Tortieland :-D
 
Re: 7/23Rosy AMPS 335/7 142 PMPS 112/ 3 229

tpr said:
Hi Helen:)

Good luck on fattening the dose. I hoe Rosy will like it! Glad to hear the typhoon has passed and that all is well it Tortieland :-D


Thanks Tamara. We are under the typhoon signal number 8 atm. The typhoon is very near HK & very very windy. We might have a number 10 signal hoisted in a few hrs, it's a hurricane. Dont worry, we are very safe inside the city. Just the cats are a bit frightened by the loud noise of the wind. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 7/23Rosy AMPS 335/7 142 PMPS 112/ 3 229

can't imagine living with typhoons! and I assume that it really affects the BG numbers due to stress... or do the kitties get used to it? of course here we have earthquakes.. although very tiny ones (thankfully) and I have a friend in California who lives right on the fault line and they get minor tremors all the time.. she has horses as well .. and they are completely unbothered by it (obviously a giant quake would be different!).

Nice to see Rosy hit the blues though.... although it does seem that she's stolen Ruperts bouncing crown and taken off with it (not that he wants it back!)... so now she just needs to lose it somewhere! maybe drop it to the bottom of the green lagoon please?
 
Re: 7/23Rosy AMPS 335/7 142 PMPS 112/ 3 229

Hi Helen - I see blues in there - well done Rosy. Maybe you can get back there soon. Good luck with the new dose if you decide to go ahead with it.

I can so relate to the feeding thing - when we had three cats they were all on different diets. Such a hassle to watch what they were ding. I can only imagine what it is like for you, with so many critters to watch over. You do well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top