? 7/23 Velcro AMPS = 153, No dose; +2=97 curious...

AEHawkeye

Member Since 2019
OK guys, I have such conflicting information and my gut says no dose. After dropping down to half a dose two days ago, he hit “lo” then bounced “hi” on Wednesday. Yesterday, Velcro did a BG curve at the vet and again got below 50 on 0.5 units in the AM. Even after I made sure he had a huge breakfast in case he wouldn’t eat a snack for them. They gave him some kind of sweetener to bring him up. After reviewing Velcro’s spreadsheet, the vet wants to try switching him to 0.5 once a day to keep him between 80-250 regularly. I know once a day goes against the advice in this group, but he always goes so low during the day and I just can’t always be home to intervene. Anyhow. Last night I skipped the dose but tested him anyway and he was 108. This morning 153. I have to leave the house this afternoon, and today is my last day of staycation. My gut is telling me not to dose. Advice?
 
I can't advise on whether not to dose today. Others I'm sure will answer you. Normally we dose in 0.25 increments. So maybe his dose could be 0.25 twice a day starting tonight. That would be the next step.

Oh and I love that name.
 
I can't advise on whether not to dose today. Others I'm sure will answer you. Normally we dose in 0.25 increments. So maybe his dose could be 0.25 twice a day starting tonight. That would be the next step.

Oh and I love that name.
I asked the vet about that too and he said he had more success with patients dosing once at 0.5 than twice at 0.25.
 
I asked the vet about that too and he said he had more success with patients dosing once at 0.5 than twice at 0.25.
The definition of "well controlled" or a successful regulation is vary per vet, a great deal , IMHO.
Mine , for instance, would be all too happy to see Ducia always in low yellows. (otherwise he is normal guy).
He believes the renal threshold is anywhere between 230 - 280 on Pet Specific meter, which is nonsense because Ducia shows glucose in urine just a few hours above 170 on human meter.

The problem with SID is that it will leave you wondering at the numbers due to the cumulative nature of Lantus.
Some insulin goes to fill and maintain the depot and some of it goes into the bloodstream. You won't be able to tell what the full potential of the dose is because the depot will be continuously unsettled - unpredictable in other words.
 
I apologize for bumping this thread up from a few days ago...
He believes the renal threshold is anywhere between 230 - 280 on Pet Specific meter, which is nonsense because Ducia shows glucose in urine just a few hours above 170 on human meter.
@Tanya and Ducia
The closest I could come to determining when Alex would spill glucose in her urine was a few hours above 140 - 180 mg/dL on a human meter, probably closer to 180 than 140. Most caregivers don't take the time to figure it out, so I find your comment very interesting. Our results are pretty darn close!
 
I asked the vet about that too and he said he had more success with patients dosing once at 0.5 than twice at 0.25.

I too doubt that, 1) because I really doubt that many (or likely ANY) of his patients have ever been dosed in quarter units since many vets only deal in doses, Increases and decreases by full units while the rare ones dose in half units, but 2) because Lantus really does work best with consistency. Lantus just doesn't have 24 hour duration in cats, so I think it'll be a roller coaster ride.

That being said, you can certainly try 0.5 once a day, but be open to changing your approach after reviewing your results for a week or two (or less if things start to go bad) to twice daily dosing. You have to be comfortable with whatever you decide, while also letting the data be your guide to keep Velcro safe.

However...Velcro's SS definitely is interesting. I agree that 97@+2 is way curious. I don't know exactly what to think of it yet, but the more data the better and the answer will be revealed.

Administrative: Did you dose tonight? Your SS doesn't say either way, it needs a zero if you did not. And when you don't give a shot, put AMBG/PMBG in your subject line instead of AMPS/PMPS, because the "PS" Indicates "pre-Shot", when you didn't actually give a shot.
 
I see your SS was updated while I was typing and it now says zero units for tonight. Will be interesting to see what BG you get in the AM.
 
Back
Top