? 7/23 Velcro AM +5=Hypo level; PMPS=427; +2 =453; +3.5=hi

Also test in half an hour and see where Velcro is.

Also it's reduction time! 0.5 units tonight if the rest of the cycle goes well :) It's scary what Velcro is doing but it means the insulin is working and Velcro is healing :) Hang in there. You're doing a great job!
Thank you :) will test again at +5. Not getting much done today.
 
From The Hypo Toolbox. Testing should be every 20 minutes.
TREATMENT

During treatment for hypoglycemia, try to test every 15 - 20 minutes until you see the bgs begin to rise. Then continue to test until you are satisfied that the cat is out of danger.

VERY LOW NUMBERS – WITHOUT SYMPTOMS
Retest glucose using a large blood sample to make certain you have enough blood, and if you still get a very low number (under 40 mg/dL or 1.9 – 2.2 mmol/L) administer a teaspoon of corn syrup, liquid glucose, pancake syrup or honey, or INSTA-GLUCOSE and follow with food until the blood glucose numbers rise to acceptable levels. The syrup can be mixed with wet food or poured over dry if the cat will eat the mixture. If using liquid glucose, dilute with water for a thinner consistency.

Can you test now? Concerned since Velcro had problems at the ER hospital with insulin.

I cannot stay on. On my way out the door. @Crista & Ming have you got this?
 
Glad he's up to 92. That's definitely the honey and HC. Are you still planning to take Velcro to the vet?

I would test in another half an hour and see if he's trending up or down.
 
No I just called them back and said I was going to keep testing at home rather than add stress of a car ride and vet if I can avoid it.
Good job!

The rule of thumb is two hours of testing where values are going up without HC/Glucose intervention :) If Velcro even goes down to 80 the 2hr clock starts again! we want to be very vigilant on this :)

great catch today ;)
 
@Red & Rover (GA) yes I can stay on. And thank you for the reminder.

I know there's some debate about testing every 15 or 30 minutes because some say food takes about 30 minutes to work. Of course, it doesn't hurt to test sooner than 30 minutes.

Early this morning Butternut dove... I tested at 30 minute intervals at first then 15 for an hour, then 30 again. I put the feeding schedule in the remarks so it looks like it took ~45 minutes for the bg uptick to stick and then climb. I used only FF - most of the can.
 
177... I didn’t give him any more honey just HC food.
That's quite a jump.
I am going to try and avoid the emergency vet. They did absolutely save his life, but I’m not sure they are really the best place to treat him.
I understand. I just don't want you to get in over your head. It can happen quickly... in a blink of an eye. It's why I don't hesitate suggesting vet intervention when a caregiver is having trouble keeping the numbers up... especially when they're low. Even an inept vet/clinic can put a cat on a glucose drip...

Keep testing in case he bobbles around or drops again.
 
His last reading was 210. So perhaps I over corrected :(. I am going to continue to test every 20 minutes. Starting to think about tonight - if he’s over 150 do I dose? Do I lower it? I think he will probably have a reduced appetite when it’s time - I could syringe feed him, but I’ve already done that once today with the HC food. I will need to run out for more supplies if I’m going to give him insulin tonight.
 
His last reading was 210. So perhaps I over corrected :(
Yes, but no frowns. This is a learning experience. Next time you'll give less. That's good to know!!!
I am going to continue to test every 20 minutes.
That's a bit much. Every 30 - 45 minutes should be enough. If he stays high go to an hour or more. See how it goes.
Starting to think about tonight - if he’s over 150 do I dose? Do I lower it?
See how the rest of the cycle plays out and then post for help before the next shot time.
I think he will probably have a reduced appetite when it’s time - I could syringe feed him, but I’ve already done that once today with the HC food.
You'll have to take that into consideration when making a decision tonight.
I will need to run out for more supplies if I’m going to give him insulin tonight.
Probably a good idea if for no other reason than you never want to run out of supplies with a diabetic kitty.
 
That's a bit much. Every 30 - 45 minutes should be enough. If he stays high go to an hour or more. See how it goes.
Probably a good idea if for no other reason than you never want to run out of supplies with a diabetic kitty.
Still up, 233. Will test at +7 and if high run out to get some more supplies. Thanks for the advice.
 
Well, the little guy made it easy to decide to shoot. PMPS=427. I was definitely aggressive in bringing his BG up from hypo levels.
 
Did you shoot 0.75 u? I suspect he'll bounce tonight but in the rare chance, he goes back down, you'll have to be on the look out again.

Your new dose should be 0.5 units.
 
Did you shoot 0.75 u? I suspect he'll bounce tonight but in the rare chance, he goes back down, you'll have to be on the look out again.

Your new dose should be 0.5 units.
I did give him the 0.75 dose. So tomorrow AM I should do 0.5 (assuming I shoot)?
 
Yes, 0.5 units for the next dose. I encourage you to re-read the SLGS protocol. It's a lot of info and re-reading helps us all and gives us refreshers :) Reductions in doses are made when BGs go under 90.

There's also a thing called "shooting through the bounce". It's done when cats earn a reduction but bounce because they went too low. And because they're bouncing, their numbers will be elevated for a cycle or more and not giving the reduced dose for one more cycle could help kitty not bounce as high. But I would be wary to do it unless I had more data and/or knew my cat is a bouncer.
 
Yes, 0.5 units for the next dose. I encourage you to re-read the SLGS protocol. It's a lot of info and re-reading helps us all and gives us refreshers :) Reductions in doses are made when BGs go under 90.
Ok I will reread it (I’ve read it every day, but thought I had to have a pattern to reduce).
 
We reduce based on how low the dose takes the kitty. In this case, 0.75 takes him too low, so we reduce.

Good job on noting the times and types of food/honey when you had to give to intervene on the spreadsheet. If you add the quantities too, next time you’ll know how to tweak the amounts. One other thing, I always retested a Lo to make sure it wasn’t a strip error or too little blood. The first time I saw a Lo, Neko got some HC she didn’t really need. :oops: Ah well, you can never be too cautious. After that I did retest low numbers. As for frequency of testing, I always tested a little sooner when numbers were below 40, didn’t want to wait 1/2 an hour.
 
+2 was up to 453. Usually his numbers are falling by +2. Just test at +3 and see what happens? Not giving him is +2 meal. I don’t think he’s hungry anyway.
 
As Crista observed above, he is bouncing. I would just feed him normally. Sure test him at +3. I doubt he will go low from that 450.
 
As Crista observed above, he is bouncing. I would just feed him normally. Sure test him at +3. I doubt he will go low from that 450.
I’ll give him a break for +3 too, I agree he probably isn’t going to fall low. But can he go too high? Hyperglycemia is what got him to the hospital.
 
Back
Top