7/23 Tomcat AMPS 90, +2=54, +6=236 +11.5=84 PMPS=125, +6=124

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomtom13

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=100585

Hi all

thanks for looking in. Well, after a long low night, Tom still wasn't that much higher come AMPS. But I went ahead and shot normal dose at a 90, 1/2 hr. delay.....which is our lowest!, I was super worried, but was okay after he ate a huge breakfast (higher low carb). I then offered new food at +1, which he ate too. So when I got the 54 at +2, I thought...oh god, way too early and how come that food hasn't kicked up his sugar?....so in my panic of never having shot that low, and him dropping fast in one hour...I gave syrup. okay so I regret that but.....better be safe. So today his levels have been mostly yellow, I don't know why the syrup never wore off? but anyway......I wasn't even concerned with the PMPS worries of shoot or don't shoot.

fast forward to +11.5....out of the shower I come down the hall and the cat is chowing down on his dinner. DH fed him while I was in the shower. he isn't that versed in the don't feed 2 hours before shot time.....anyway....well, I thought, no biggie....I will shoot 1/2 early as he will be high.......so when I test and found a 84....well what is a girl to do?

this is what I did.....or what I think I am going to do. no way I can shoot a 84 given this morning and the fact that he is dropping......so how is this plan:

I will re=test in 2 hours (non=food influenced) and shoot normal dose if a number I feel comfy with. what number I don't know---I am pretty drained with worry but I want the best for him


or I can shoot a reduced dose......??? I don't know anything about the rules of reduced doses.....

does this sound like a plan or can someone direct me correctly

maybe I can shoot earlier even if food influenced if it is way high?

thanks again!

kelly
 
Re: 7/23 Tomcat AMPS 90, +2=54, +6=236 +11.5=84 DELAY/REDUCE

I doubt if the food he just ate will make him way high, but it could happen.

I would test again 1 and 1/2 hours since the last test and see where he is at. What number would you feel comfortable shooting? 120? 100? Are you going to be able to stay up tonight to monitor and do you have all the supplies you need?
Those are the questions to ask yourself.
 
Re: 7/23 Tomcat AMPS 90, +2=54, +6=236 +11.5=84 DELAY/REDUCE

I just wanted to mention that it's possible the rising numbers you saw this morning were a little bit of a bounce from the lower ones last night, not just from the syrup. I see that sometimes with Papaya - I think we're good with low numbers at the start of the cycle and then they go up instead. If that's the case he sure cleared the bounce fast. Not sure what to do about the current numbers - Tomcat is on a mission lately, wow, but you are doing a fantastic job of looking after him!!
 
Re: 7/23 Tomcat AMPS 90, +2=54, +6=236 +11.5=84 DELAY/REDUCE

okay he is 125 @ +13

he was 84 an hour and half ago

if you don't think the 125 is food influenced...then I feel fine shooting normal dose at that value

what do you think?
 
Re: 7/23 Tomcat AMPS 90, +2=54, +6=236 +11.5=84 DELAY/REDUCE

I think, if your shot schedule can handle the change in time, and you can monitor tonight and have the supplies you need, then go for it. This may be an active cycle, so have coffee, and have chocolate. Then again, he's a cat, so maybe he will do otherwise ;-)

I will not be able to stay up with you, but others should be around to help you through this, and you got some experience last night.
 
Re: 7/23 Tomcat AMPS 90, +2=54, +6=236 +11.5=84 DELAY/REDUCE

In the end it's up to you because you are the one who may have a busy evening ;-) . . . but the 125 seems shootable, especially since you have now shot lower and been able to deal with it successfully. If you want to be sure he's going up you could test again in half an hour and make the decision then.
 
Re: 7/23 Tomcat AMPS 90, +2=54, +6=236 +11.5=84 DELAY/REDUCE

thanks you 2

okay I shot the 120 normal dose. I feel okay with that. he ate 1/2 can of ff again with shot.....so he has plenty on board!

and, like you said, I always have that syrup!!!

thanks for the quick input!!

now I can relax for .......an hour or so! I always hate delaying a shot!! hate it. and this morning...I finally gave in and shot the 90 and I still think that was a mistake. do you?

what would you have done at +2=56 ?.......next time I need to know.

~kelly
 
Re: 7/23 Tomcat AMPS 90, +2=54, +6=236 +11.5=84 PMPS=125

I would have given some medium carb food and tested again in 30 minutes. If I knew my cat wasn't all that carb sensitive, then I would have used a bit (1 teaspoon or maybe 2 (measuring type teaspoons)) of HC and tested again in 30 minutes. It's a learning process. Heck, I took J.D. to the ER once because he was in the 50s :lol: I had Karo all over me, J.D., my clothes, my hair, my steering wheel, by the time I got there.

You can shoot 12 hours after this last shoot, right?
 
Re: 7/23 Tomcat AMPS 90, +2=54, +6=236 +11.5=84 PMPS=125

I LOVE THAT STORY, Dyana


Heck, I took J.D. to the ER once because he was in the 50s :lol: I had Karo all over me, J.D., my clothes, my hair, my steering wheel, by the time I got there
.

very good. I even read that one to my DH. :smile:

I am so glad to know I am not the only one who freaks out!!

I keep thinking that in the FOREFRONT of my mind: okay, Kelly, at what point do you drive to the ER?

he is really sensitive to HC AND syrup, (but not at all sensitive to LC?) so I am feeling more and more comfortable with those tools.

I know it is a learning process........and it is all thanks to you all for your invaluable wisdom!!

thanks

kelly
 
Re: 7/23 Tomcat AMPS 90, +2=54, +6=236 +11.5=84 PMPS=125

Like Dyana says, it's a learning process. It also really depends on your cat! If you look at Papaya's spreadsheet, on 7/14 at normal AM shot time she was at 41 so I fed low carb and tested an hour later. She was up to 83 and I shot. I ended up feeding her 18% carb FF basically all day a teaspoon or two at a time, which ended up being a whole can above and beyond her usual meal amount, and it still barely kept her above 40! I was starting to think I should give her a pot of honey, Winnie the Pooh style :roll: . It's good you're figuring out how Tom responds to the HC and syrup so you know what will bring him up when he needs it. Every Cat is Different!!
 
Re: 7/23 Tomcat AMPS 90, +2=54, +6=236 +11.5=84 PMPS=125

Go Kelly! Might be another fun night! :RAHCAT

Hey I just shot at 66 but I knew he was still climbing. He didn't eat very much so I might be right there with you. ohmygod_smile

You seem to handle these moments very well. I guess I better get out of the habit of throwing down a whole can of high carb. hee hee. I did buy some medium carb today so we'll see.....

I'll be checking you out this evening. Keep us posted!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top