7/23 Miou AMBG=301 PMPS=168 +2=54 END of OTJ - check dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elsa

Member Since 2013
AMBG=301
+1=287
+4=316 (doctors test)
Hi all, its been a long time since I visited, and now my Miou got her paws in the sugar again :sad:
I was measuring quite often as you can see with her spreadsheet, and even last week she was in the 80's. In the last few weeks she started exhibiting inappropriate urination again, especially when her food was late even by 15 minutes.
Unfortunately during the past 2 months I had to be away from home a lot of days, and thought that the inappropriate urination was due to my frequent absences.
But the last 2 days the problem got worse, I tested her again this morning and she had a BG of 301 :o . I was in total disbelief and measured again at +1 and yes it was a sad 287. Yeap the honeymoon is over.
And I know what went wrong! My mom was letting her eat the food Cleopatra was always leaving on her plate... Miou is now 6Kg :cry:
She is already on diet and I am taking all the measures so she is all the time with me.
Got my Lantus out of the fridge and planning to start this PM with 1U since her ideal weight is 4 Kg... If I remember well and my shock is letting me read the protocol right, I will hold that dose for at least 3 days and test all preshots and every 2 hours in between, post here and see from then on... Any corrections and advise is more than welcome

feeling sooo scared for giving shots again nailbite_smile
 
Re: 7/23 Miou AMBG=301 +1=287 +4=316 END of OTJ - check dose

Have you taken Miou to the vetty for bloodwork and a urinalysis? If she was in the 80s just last week, I would be suspicious of a UTI or something along those lines, given the inappropriate urination.

Personally, I think I would take her to the vet before restarting insulin. And, if you do restart, you will want a new vial - if the vial you have is from last year, when she went OTJ, that insulin will be toast.
 
Re: 7/23 Miou AMBG=301 +1=287 +4=316 END of OTJ - check dose

Yes we went to the vet and have ruled out UTI. He gave her a shot just in case though. All bloodworks were fine, except blood sugar. Actually the +4 I posted is the vet's test result.
The Lantus I have is from 3 unused pens that were left from last year (there are 5 pens in the box) that I have stored in the fridge according to the guidelines. I checked the pen and its ok. The fluid is clear and not cloudy.
So any suggestions on the dosage?
Am I forgetting something?

***edit****
sorry for putting on the 911, but its only half an hour till I give her her first dose and would like a confirmation for the dosage
 
Re: 7/23 Miou AMBG=301 +1=287 +4=316 END of OTJ - check dose

I'm glad the juice is pens that are still good, and that a UTI was ruled out.

Unfortunately I'm not comfy with advising an initial dose, but I do agree with your logic of starting with the dose appropriate for her ideal weight. Hopefully someone else will be along shortly! (I asked some others to check in!)
 
Re: 7/23 Miou AMBG=301 PMPS=168 END of OTJ - check dose

I went on and gave Miou a shot of 1U
got my strips ready and my hicarb kit just in case (I don't think we will need it tonight though)
Anyways, I will keep you posted
 
Re: 7/23 Miou AMBG=301 PMPS=168 END of OTJ - check dose

I would definitely start with a +1 and +2. It does take a while for the shed to build, but better safe than sorry! Please do keep us posted.
 
Re: 7/23 Miou AMBG=301 PMPS=168 END of OTJ - check dose

Hi there :cool:

Don't be scared - you know what you are doing.

I am uncertain if a slightly more aggressive approach may be best when a kitty returns from the falls. However If that's the case it will be revealed once the depot is rebuilt - you can always increase if needed.
"General" Guidelines:

Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).

Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Along with close monitoring of BGs please test for ketones during this time.

Any chance she got into contraband? Any issues with teeth/gums?
 
Re: 7/23 Miou AMBG=301 PMPS=168 +1=97 END of OTJ - check dos

Getting into contraband is a bit difficult, but her teeth might be of a concern... I think her breath is a bit on the smelly side

Anyway she just got a +2 of 54
I will test her in 30' again and keep an eye on her in the meanwhile nailbite_smile

got the HC ready

-------------------
today's tests
AMBG=301
+1=287
+4=316 (doctors test)
PMPS=168
+1=97
+2=54
 
Re: 7/23 Miou AMBG=301 PMPS=168 +2=54 END of OTJ - check dos

Was your mom's cat eating low carb, canned food? If Miou was getting into higher carb food, your starting dose may be too high if you are now controlling her food. Her PM cycle suggests, at least to me, that your starting dose is too high -- you're seeing solid green with no depot.
 
Re: 7/23 Miou AMBG=301 PMPS=168 +2=54 END of OTJ - check dos

Sienne and Gabby said:
Was your mom's cat eating low carb, canned food? If Miou was getting into higher carb food, your starting dose may be too high if you are now controlling her food. Her PM cycle suggests, at least to me, that your starting dose is too high -- you're seeing solid green with no depot.

Hi there,
I see the dose is high indeed but had no idea where else to start. The only way to explain the drop is that she got to eat something... I can't see how, since Cleopatra is also getting low carb food, but I suppose she found something.
So I tested her again at +2.5 and she was at 61
Any suggestions on her dose in the AM?
 
Re: 7/23 Miou AMBG=301 PMPS=168 +2=54 END of OTJ - check dos

What about dropping it back to 0.75u? Or 0.5u? There's not an exact science when a kitty is back from the Falls. Sandy's right -- you may need to be more aggressive about dosing and often, a cat will need more insulin than she did during the first round with FD. Any chance your mom was using high carb treats?
 
Re: 7/23 Miou AMBG=301 PMPS=168 +2=54 END of OTJ - check dos

Sienne and Gabby said:
What about dropping it back to 0.75u? Or 0.5u? There's not an exact science when a kitty is back from the Falls. Sandy's right -- you may need to be more aggressive about dosing and often, a cat will need more insulin than she did during the first round with FD.

I am a bit confused, on the one hand I understand that I should reduce this first 1U to 0.75 or even 0.50, and on the other hand you say I should be more aggresive with dosing and that often, a cat will need more insulin than she did during the first round with FD... So what do I do decrease or increase...
Personally I think I should decrease to 0.50 since it would be good to keep a dose for at least 5 days and the depot might drop her too low.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Any chance your mom was using high carb treats?

I don't think she was giving any high carb treats, but I know she was overfeeding and letting Miou eat the food Cleopatra was not eating (same low carb canned food they both had for all winter). Anyhow my mom is quite old and obviously done her part by taking Miou back to obesity land.

----Just tested +3 and she is surfing back to the 50s with a nice 53
time to feed her now and a take a nap
will test her again in an hour as I am afraid she might drop to0 low
 
Re: 7/23 Miou AMBG=301 PMPS=168 +2=54 END of OTJ - check dos

Whether back from the falls or not, the numbers are telling you to reduce the dose.

I'd drop it to .75 or .5 and see what the numbers tell you. To be "more aggressive" can mean to increase more frequently than every 6 doses or increase in bigger increments than .25, but for now, you don't want to worry about that. You're still rebuilding the depot.

Let the numbers be your guide, and if she's staying in "normal" numbers, you don't need to be any more "aggressive" than you are right now :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top