7/23 Max AMPS+2 521+6 327 +10 484 Shot late

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Max & Lori, Jul 23, 2021.

1. Max & Lori

Max & Lori Well-Known Member

Today is our first day of Lantus switched from Vetsulin 6 units bid. Vet ordered 2u bid to start but I gave 4u. I’m still anxious about how much he should be on and I’m still learning how this all works. Max was diagnosed 1 month ago and we’ve been on Prozinc and then Vetsulin. I normally give his insulin at 6 am but was late and started at 7:30 am. How can I get back on the 6:00 am/pm regimen? I’m so worried he’s going to either be too high or too low. Yesterday’s thread and our first post. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-need-help.250121/#post-2822878

2. tiffmaxee

tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

Welcome. You can shoot 15 minutes early each cycle or 30 minutes early every 24 hours. You were increasing so quickly. I’m glad you took the dose down. Are you going to follow TR?

3. Max & Lori

Honestly I’m still trying to figure it all out. The first vet had Max on a dose too high and increased and switched things quickly. Things got worse instead of better. A couple of people have advised me to start with 4 or 5 units instead of 2u because he was on such a high dose of Vetsulin. I gave the 4u this morning but Max is such a unpredictable cat it just makes me really nervous going outside of what the vet told me to do. I do know everyone here has helped so much so I’m trying to get comfortable with it all. I don’t know what I should do.

Marje and Gracie likes this.
  4. tiffmaxee

I just read your previous post to see who was advising you. Here’s the link for continuity.
    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-need-help.250121/#post-2822878