7/23 Gizmo AMPS 78 - Do I dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ashley H & Gizmo

Member Since 2017
This is our first AM number that's been this low. Not sure if I should give him his usual dose (2.5 u), half a dose, or nothing at all? He's eaten most of his kitty gruel (wet food) breakfast. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!
 
You said you fed him after getting the 78 at AMPS, right Ashley? And an hour later he was at 101
Just adding some notes from your other thread where you first posted :). Hopefully one of the experts will respond.
 
He was 78 at AMPS, and just finished eating. I haven't checked him again since then. Just not sure whether to dose and/or how much?
 
What method are you following: TR or SLGS?
I would say SLGS.

I did just retest him and he's at 102 in less than hour after eating. Gave him his dose and am going to test him frequently to make sure everything goes smoothly...and so I don't worry to death not knowing if he's "okay."
 
Hopefully someone with more experience will stop by. I'm not sure what to do, but just looked over the SLGS stickies and read that anything below 90 earns a reduction.
 
Testing frequently will give you good data today.

Congratz in shooting green! Its a little daunting at first, but you can't know how your kitty does on it until you try.

We're here for assistance if you need guidance through today. :bighug:
 
For future reference, you may want to (re)read the post on Shooting & Handling Low Numbers. The post was written for TR but the principles are the same.

With SLGS, when you run into a lower pre-shot number and aren't sure what to do, your options are:

  • shoot (but be sure you have plenty of strips, HC food and are available to monitor)
  • stall, but do NOT feed. Wait 15 - 20 min and re-test. You can repeat the process for about 2 hrs but keep in mind, the longer you stall, the more you are off schedule since the next shot is in 12-hrs from when you shoot.
  • give a reduced dose. Sometimes this works, sometimes it doesn't. The depot may carry over into the current cycle and numbers may still drop.
  • skip. This has the most effect on your cat's depot. It may, however, be your best option if you can't monitor.
  • wait another 6 hours until +18 from your last shot and then shoot again at +18 to get back on schedule. This would never have worked for me but it is an option.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top