7/23 Bubbas AMPS 346, +2 326, +4 326-,+6 351, +8 348, +10 352 PMPS 363, +2 252, +4 184-Curve day

Hey everyone. I wanted to wait to post a thread on here and get advice until I saw if this was just a one day thing or not, but it looks like it’s not. So on the daily, I give Bubbas two cans of fancy feast classic pate every day. In all reality, that isn’t a lot of food. I haven’t yet found a higher calorie, but low carb wet food yet. Each can that I give him is only about 64 cal, so he’s only Getting about 130 cal a day or so which in my mind is barely anything. Anyways, I’ve been doing that routine for almost a month now. But the last couple of days he has been meowing and meowing and meowing for food all day! Today I ended up giving him basically five cans of food! Of course, the cans are small, but I can’t tell if somethings going on with him? Or if he’s just being greedy, I guess lol his weight has been stagnant for the last about month, which is great, so he’s not losing weight, no key tones, he’s been taking insulin great, kinda, he has been seeming a little bit lethargic I would say since he’s been constantly meowing for food the last couple days.

I made a vet appointment to take him in, but for one, they are booked out until August 23! That’s kind of a long time away, and also I don’t trust those people. They are just so money hungry. Wanted to see if anyone has been going through what I’m going through and if I could get some advice. As his mom, it very much breaks my heart to hear him constantly crying for food. I can’t afford to give him four or five cans, a day, which I’m assuming is a good amount of calories, I can only afford 2 to 3 cans a day.

Thanks!
 
Bubba should be getting more calories per day. From Catinfo: https://catinfo.org/feline-obesity-an-epidemic-of-fat-cats/#How_Much_Do_I_Feed
Dr. Pierson uses the formula Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70 as a starting point. There are some differences based on activity level, age, etc. of the cat. If 13lbs is Bubbas ideal weight, he should be getting 247 calories per day. He needs at least 3.5 cans per day, closer to 4. On the Catinfo website is a page on making your own cat food. I found making cat food quite a bit cheaper, though I used a premix. Getting larger cans from a different brand might also help.

I'm going to merge this post with your other one of the day. We ask that only one post per day per cat be created, due to the large number of cats on this forum.
 
Please do not up his dose tomorrow. Just two days ago you tested him at 90, that means you do NOT increase the dose. With SLGS, if the nadirs are between 90 and 149, you hold the dose. Today he's bouncing in response to the 90 a couple days ago on 1.25 units. Bounce days aren't the best days for curves. It's actually possible that he went lower than 90 a couple days ago, which would mean reducing the dose. However, our saying here is that if we didn't see it, we can't say it happened.
 
Bubba should be getting more calories per day. From Catinfo: https://catinfo.org/feline-obesity-an-epidemic-of-fat-cats/#How_Much_Do_I_Feed
Dr. Pierson uses the formula Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70 as a starting point. There are some differences based on activity level, age, etc. of the cat. If 13lbs is Bubbas ideal weight, he should be getting 247 calories per day. He needs at least 3.5 cans per day, closer to 4. On the Catinfo website is a page on making your own cat food. I found making cat food quite a bit cheaper, though I used a premix. Getting larger cans from a different brand might also help.

I'm going to merge this post with your other one of the day. We ask that only one post per day per cat be created, due to the large number of cats on this forum.


Ok! I’ll do some research and see what low carb but higher food I can get!! Thank you for that!
 
Please do not up his dose tomorrow. Just two days ago you tested him at 90, that means you do NOT increase the dose. With SLGS, if the nadirs are between 90 and 149, you hold the dose. Today he's bouncing in response to the 90 a couple days ago on 1.25 units. Bounce days aren't the best days for curves. It's actually possible that he went lower than 90 a couple days ago, which would mean reducing the dose. However, our saying here is that if we didn't see it, we can't say it happened.

Oh yeah I guess I didn’t realize that he might be bouncing. Should I hold the 1.25 units for 6 days as of the day he dropped down to 90?

And sorry! I make another post when I have a different question because I think each question needs it’s own thread haha I’ll try my best to not do that again.
 
Bouncing can resolve in 6 cycles/three days. It's possible he'll break the bounce tomorrow. Or even tonight as he's done quite the drop to +2 already. A good sized drop at +2 compared to the preshot means an active cycle with some action. If you can get a later test before bed, it might be worth getting that.

As for the dose, keep holding until you can figure out if he's going close to 90 again, or not.
 
Bouncing can resolve in 6 cycles/three days. It's possible he'll break the bounce tomorrow. Or even tonight as he's done quite the drop to +2 already. A good sized drop at +2 compared to the preshot means an active cycle with some action. If you can get a later test before bed, it might be worth getting that.

As for the dose, keep holding until you can figure out if he's going close to 90 again, or not.
Yes I’ll go ahead and test him right now and put the number is the thread and his SS! regarding his food, I did some research and I’ll be switching to giving him 1 1/2 - 2 5.5 oz cans of Frisky’s pate as of tomorrow. Those cans are about 180 calories each, so I’ll be giving him about 1 1/2 - 2 cans a day for a total of about 270-350. I can give him a little less since the suggested calories were only 247. He’s technically still considered over weight, but he looks very very skinny, bones sticking out and stuff, so I don’t think 13 pounds is over weight for him lol

Also, a question about bouncing. It seems as tho every single time his body gets to a low number, he shoots back up. I’m not sure how to word this, but how do I prevent this from happening all the time? As in..it would suck if his body just rejected low numbers every single time he had one..what exactly do I need to do to prevent this from happen allll the time? I know there will be a time where his numbers will stay low, but how does one get to that point?

EDIT: I just tested him and his +4 is 184!
 
Last edited:
You can't and don't want to prevent bouncing. It's a perfectly normal (and annoying only to us) fact of feline diabetes. Bouncing is his body's way of keeping him safe should he drop lower than he's used to, or drop too fast. Once he's spent enough time in normal blood sugar numbers again (how much "enough time" depends on the cat), his bouncing will slow down and hopefully eventually stop. The only ways you can help are to get him to a dose where he sees good numbers, and feed if necessary to slow any fast drops. And learn patience when he bounces.

I just tested him and his +4 is 184!
And he might go even lower tonight - this cycle would have been the better one for a curve. LOL. If you can't stay up tonight, make sure you leave food out for him, so he can keep himself safe by eating.

Don't worry about being exact on the calories - what he needs will vary based on his activity level and metabolism. Just try to keep track of his weight - maybe weigh every week or two, and make sure he's trending in the direction you want. You don't want him to get too fluffy, that's going to make regulation harder.
 
Ok so for the dosing. I held the 1.25 and gave him that this morning. Since his number was high, so I guess I would keep the 1.25 until I see a possible 90 reading or lower? So when do I know when to increase it.

Based off SLGS I should increase, but you said he’s bouncing and should be out of it today. So unless his number is 90 or below tonight , I should increase starting tomorrow morning?

Because I think he’s cleared the bounce if his numbers are still high tonight.
 
Back
Top