7/23 Boomer AMPS 310 dosecrease to 1u +3 344 +6 326 PMPS 360 +3 252

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 310 and since he's had 6 cycles on .75 I'm shooting an increase to 1u
These numbers are just making me sick. He started to come down 3 cycles ago then popped back up.o_O

Boomer ate most of his overnight fuds; he did leave a bit in the +3.....I'm still up when he's eating +3 and I believe he stops eating as soon as I leave the room to go to bed:rolleyes:
Allen is fasting, has had his meds and will eat in 2 hours.

Yesterday I finally heard from Dr Larry who had asked a specialist to look at Boomer's dental X-rays regarding two teeth that Dr Larry thought might have absortive lesions. The message from Dr Larry "
Dr. Huffman thinks that the problems in Boomer's mouth, as things stand, are contributing to insulin resistance. She recommends having several extractions performed. And I agree with her reasoning." To which I responded "I thought there were only 2 possibly problematic teeth". His response...."
There are also the roots from teeth that broke off and fell out. Dr. Huffman thinks those should come out."

HUH? If Boomer has had teeth fall out then DH and I didn't know anything about it. So my sarcastic response was "Boomer has lost teeth? Are we sure we're talking about the same cat?". I guess he didn't appreciate my response because I didn't hear back. Well, I had put a smiley face at the end of the question to soften it lol. MAN! Ok in all likelihood when he messaged me he wasn't at the clinic so now wants to give me the details of what teeth Boomer has lost but has to wait until he's at the clinic to do so. I'm really curious as to when these teeth have fallen out....Boomer has had 3 dentals; the first one was in 2015 I think (the link to his 2004/2005 ss is missing), 2016 and 2017. I won't likely hear from Dr Larry today but will update condo when/if I do.

ETA: found his 2014/2015 ss and saved the link again. His first dental was in Nov 2014
 
It's unfortunate that Boomer needs another dental after just having one. FWIW, when Trix had her dental when she was first diagnosed with FD, she had 6 teeth that were broken off and the roots were still below the gumline (as a result, she "officially" ended up with 7 extractions that day). We would not have known that without the x-rays that the vet took before beginning the procedure. Before going in, we did know she was missing teeth, only because the vet commented on it during her annual exam, but we had no idea when it happened, and we had no idea that the roots were still there until the actual dental procedure began and the vet took those x-rays.

Just to keep things realistic...we were hopeful that Trix would go OTJ shortly after her dental, but she didn't...her insulin needs remained the same. It was 3 years later when she finally went OTJ thanks to a nasty bout with pancreatitis.

Did Dr Larry say anything about getting Boomer on the schedule?

Praying that it all settles out soon, and Boomer gets back to his gorgeous greens...
 
It's unfortunate that Boomer needs another dental after just having one. FWIW, when Trix had her dental when she was first diagnosed with FD, she had 6 teeth that were broken off and the roots were still below the gumline (as a result, she "officially" ended up with 7 extractions that day). We would not have known that without the x-rays that the vet took before beginning the procedure. Before going in, we did know she was missing teeth, only because the vet commented on it during her annual exam, but we had no idea when it happened, and we had no idea that the roots were still there until the actual dental procedure began and the vet took those x-rays.

Just to keep things realistic...we were hopeful that Trix would go OTJ shortly after her dental, but she didn't...her insulin needs remained the same. It was 3 years later when she finally went OTJ thanks to a nasty bout with pancreatitis.

Did Dr Larry say anything about getting Boomer on the schedule?

Praying that it all settles out soon, and Boomer gets back to his gorgeous greens...
After Boomer's dental when Dr Larry showed us the X-rays he told us that he would not be able to do these extractions. The Dr he consulted is about 90 minutes away from here; I'm hoping that we won't have to go there but it's likely that we will.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Wow. I am so sorry to hear about the dental results. I can feel your frustration on the results and Boomer's numbers. I hope you are able to get him in soon so he can have all of this fixed.

When Osha had her dental last year, she was missing teeth, but there were not any roots still there.

Sending lots of vines!!
 
Oh Judy! I am so glad that you reached out to Dr. Larry about the specialist and the xrays. I had a feeling it was his mouth. Hope you can get a dental scheduled ASAP. Sending hugs :bighug:
 
Oye, Judy :bighug::bighug::bighug: Glad Dr. Larry responded but geesh! Poor little Boomer too :( As long as he's acting normal and feeling good try not to let the numbers ruin your day.
I'm so very frustrated! I hate finding out something that someone thinks I knew all along....how could we not know that he was missing teeth? How come Dr Larry didn't bring this up before as a possibility? And I really hate the thought of having to take him on a road trip to have this dental done (I'm making an assumption here that we will have to travel to this specialist). Stress lowers his numbers. :arghh::arghh::arghh:
 
Max lost most of his teeth over the years and I never found a single one. He only had 5 extractions. It's strange but then I only found a couple of the kittens' baby teeth. Maybe they swallow them? :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Judy, I'm so sorry! We just got similar news about dental resorption and have to go for x-rays and extractions this week. I hope whichever vet will be able to see Boomer soon. So his dental on 7/7 - was that just for the x-rays? or did he have a cleaning but your regular vet doesn't do extractions? Either way, I'm sorry you have to go through this twice! :bighug:
 
Oh Judy, I'm so sorry! We just got similar news about dental resorption and have to go for x-rays and extractions this week. I hope whichever vet will be able to see Boomer soon. So his dental on 7/7 - was that just for the x-rays? or did he have a cleaning but your regular vet doesn't do extractions? Either way, I'm sorry you have to go through this twice! :bighug:
The dental on 7/7 was for X-rays and cleaning. I think our vet does extractions but Boomer has never needed one so I don't know. For some reason he feels unable to do these extractions.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Are there dental specialists at the Univesity of Guelph? If it's a canine tooth that needs extraction, that may need more special care. Going to a dental vet was totally worth it for me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top