7/23/2012 Linda &Tobi AMPS 6.0

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda & Tobi

Member Since 2012
Spoke to Vet today and based on Tobi's curve results, vet advised he feels cat is cured, no more insulin required. He said just to watch for signs Tobi had before, i.e. heavy urination, lethargic. I advised Vet that I plan to check his BG daily for the next few days just to make sure he is o.k. and I will continue with Friskies canned food Pate...no more dry food for this kitty ever.
I have been giving Tobi 1U per day as per Vet's instructions and what I am thinking is if BG level from daily testing that I am going to continue to do is above 100, I will give him insulin, either 3/4U to 1/2U depending on reading. Please share you thoughts with me.
 
Linda --

I would strongly encourage you to not stop insulin cold turkey. When we have a cat that is in good numbers, we taper the insulin back slowly. The idea is that we want to give the pancreas as much support as possible for as long as possible. By keeping Tobi on insulin, you will give her the best possible chance for a successful remission.

We base dose reductions on your cat having a test result below 50 or by being in normal numbers (50 - 120) for a week. The dose is then reduced by 0.25u. I am concerned that if you stop insulin, there's an increased chance that Tobi's numbers will shoot back up.
 
Re: 7/23/2012 Tobi AMPS 6.0

I agree with not quitting insulin cold turkey. I will continue with AMPS and shoot 3/4U unless level goes below 50. at that point I will reduce to 1/2U and gradually decrease as required. If BG level is above 100, I will increase insulin to 1U ???
 
Lantus doesn't work the way you're noting. A test of 100 is still normal numbers. You reduce the dose if numbers drop below 50 OR if Tobi is in normal numbers (between 50 and 120) for 7 days.

It's also hard to know what's going on with Tobi since Lantus is usually dosed twice a day.
 
Nice job on testing frequently yesterday!
As Sienne mentioned, you cannot base your dose on the PS number (unless it's 2.8=50 @ AMPS -- DO NOT SHOOT). Despite the fact that you've been dosing once a day, to me, Tobi has earned a dose reduction yesterday by going down to 50 at some point in his cycle.
Tobi has graduated to a smaller dose. Tomorrow morning, you can shoot 0.75U. Please continue to monitor Tobi`s blood sugar levels throughout the day - like more than once. Tobi`s pancreas is healing fast and you have to keep up.
If you are uncertain of what to do in the morning, post your AMPS number and see what people`s opinion is.
I hope this is helpful to you. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top