7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +6=50

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/22 Tomcat AMPS 300,+6=84 PMPS 140, +2=75

Good evening Kelly. It does look like Tomcat wants your undivided attention tonight. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Good call on the extra LC at +2.
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat AMPS 300, PMPS 140, +2=75, +3.5=41

Well, I just gave him some HC.

he acts fine...wants outside. can I let him out?


hahhahahaha...okay that was a joke.

he does want out though

anyway

WHEN DO I GET THE SYRUP???
:o

thanks all

~kelly
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat AMPS 300, PMPS 140, +2=75, +3.5=41

Tom!! You are stressin' out your mama, be we are so happy for those greens! I was there this morning Kelly, so hang in there. I'm not sure what the rule is, but I gave Bob syrup in the 40's two days ago and then today, I fed him high carb without the syrup. Both worked for us. I gave him a whole can because I had to go back to work, but since you are there to monitor, you can probably do less.

At least it's not too late, maybe he'll be back up shortly and you won't have to miss more work. And I think you get a reduction? woo hoo! Then we will be on the same dose. I'm telling you, these boys are linked!
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat AMPS 300, PMPS 140, +2=75, +3.5=41

At 41...he gets the syrup. And a couple tsp of HC gravy. And another test in 30 mins. And I need to see when you gave him that last dose reduction. BRB.
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat AMPS 300, PMPS 140, +2=75, +3.5=41

Since you just gave him some HC, test again in 30 minutes from the last test.

HC brings the BG's up as does syrup. Either one will work. It's not necessarily either/or on syrup or HC.
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat AMPS 300, PMPS 140, +2=75, +3.5=41

At 41 at +3.5, I think both are needed because it's early to be that low. And your margin for error has decreased as he moves towards nadir.

And, he gets a dose reduction to 3.75u :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat AMPS 300, PMPS 140, +2=75, +3.5=41

yes dara....linked!!

I am so confused as to what is going on....happy about it though.

he has been in the pinks for weeks...weeks...weeks. vet even said I was giving fur shots every time as there is no way possible that he was getting his insulin and not moving......he should move lower every shot.

and now....BOOM. works every time. why?

here is my theory: his liver is finally done fighting it. finally accepting the insulin. okay great. but here is my next concern

is the liver now totally asleep....and snoozing....and if Tom goes too low....the liver just yawns and doesn't kick in ?

okay....well...I am waiting for my 30 mins. then if he hasn't moved...out comes the syrup

I feel good about the reduction this time as he has eaten like a pig all day!!

~Kelly

ps dara I just noticed on your signature line you have what bob eats: "whatever bob eats"....too funny!
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat AMPS 300, PMPS 140, +2=75, +3.5=41

Marje thought you might want to give a little syrup now too. Since it's so early in the cycle. You might not have seen it. You might have cross posted at the same time.
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat AMPS 300, PMPS 140, +2=75, +3.5=41

Kelly --

Sometimes there's no explanation as to why a cat isn't in great numbers and then all of a sudden, on the same dose, everything just seems to snap into place. Sometimes it lasts; sometimes it doesn't but, you're seeing good movement in Tom's numbers and that's the kind of momentum you've been looking for.
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat AMPS 300, PMPS 140, +2=75, +3.5=41

Well, I'm not an expert on the subject, but I don't think the liver ever kicks in immediately. If you notice the bounce happens quite a while later. Not sure I understand why it works that way. Maybe it's thinking the BG will stay really low.

I know why Bob's numbers are better - taking away the dry food. Not sure about ol' Tom. Something just decided to kick in. :RAHCAT

Yes, I just bought Bob some Lotus Chicken & Veggie Pate which he loved a few days ago and now he just sniffed and walked away. Sigh.
Guess I have to keep it exciting for him!
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat AMPS 300, PMPS 140, +2=75, +3.5=41

+4=54

test every 20 or 30 mins?

when do I feed again?

what type of food? hc/lc/syrup

how much?

a little too early to worry about this but in the AM if he is 300 or more do I get the one cycle only shoot thru bounce current dose?


~thanks all
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +2=75, +3.5=41, +4=54

up to 67

crisis is over for now, even though we are only at +4.5!

I know to keep testing every 30 or is it every hour?

and what do I feed?

just normal lc foods now?

if he starts to drop again...I will give hc

thanks all

kelly
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +2=75, +3.5=41, +4=54

A couple tsp of LC and retest in 30. If he's still in the 50s, lather, rinse, repeat until he's up more (70s).
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +2=75, +3.5=41, +4=54

okay...so once we are in the 70's, then every hour is good?
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +2=75, +3.5=41, +4=54

I think once he's in the 60s, I'd give him an hour as long as it has been two hours since he had HC. It takes about two hours for HC/karo to wear off and they could come back down.

If he comes up to the 70s after nadir, once you get two rising, non food influenced tests, I'd give him more of a break and if he goes over 100 after two rising, non food influenced tests, I'd probably call it a night if it is past nadir.
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +2=75, +3.5=41, +4=54, +4.5=67

okay Marje

that was GREAT CLEAR info...I will read and read tonight. it is all in there

before you may leave for the night

do I get the one cycle only shoot thru the bounce with current dose if he is 300 or greater in the AM?

I doubt that is going to be a problem...but Just in case...while I have you

thanks kelly
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +5.

Congrats on the reduction Kelly. Stay up there OK Tom? :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

You can shoot through the bounce (over 300s) in the morning. You never know, he might not bounce. It happens. :-D
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +5.

Kelly

Glad Wendy popped in; it was Gracie shot time and dinner for us.

How's it going? Clear on whether to give the reduction tomorrow or shoot through the bounce?

On your earlier question that Sienne answered, sometimes cats just "snap" and that is exactly what we call it. I love sharing Mocha's SS. Be sure and scroll all the way down and look at her numbers as you do.....super bouncy kitter kat.
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +6=

Great SS! Wow....

I love looking at all the different SS ....Mocha Jo Latte certainly was a super bouncy cat!


******well, tom is still dropping...not fast though. I fed him some 10% carb food over an hour ago...but still dropping. he is at 50 now so I offered some HC...he just licked a little gravy and walked away.

I guess test in half hour and if lower than 50...syrup?....or wait for lower than that....this late in cycle...perhaps he is "surfing"?

yes, I am clear on the shoot thru the bounce option tomorrow

thanks again
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +6=

The HC is fine...lets test in 30.

One thing to think about is where in the cycle does the low number come, what food should you feed, how full is the depot?

I'd say any time you get a 50 or less early in the cycle, you might want to feed HC unless the cat is one that just likes to surf flatly in the 50s. If you get a 50 mid cycle or after nadir, you might just try LC.

BUT...if the depot is full...and numbers keep dropping after the initial HC wears off, after mid cycle, you might need to give a little more HC after nadir.

The other thing to remember is once they've earned a reduction and you are tired, you can feed a large amount of HC to bring them up and abort the cycle.
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +6=

That 50 could be a surf, or the last of the HC wearing off. You could try some regular LC, see if he'll eat that but maybe wait until after the next test. You are right about the test in 30. See you then.
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +6=

okay we have a 52

not moving...but not dropping either.

I will offer some lc in a bit. it is best for him to stay at this nice low number right? the longer the better....yes?

test every hour now...or have to see 2 rising numbers until testing eases off?


thanks
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +6=

In reality, he doesn't know the difference between 50 and 120. I actually prefer that Gracie surf a little higher but that's me.

Yes...a little LC would work. You can wait an hour and see what he does.
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +6=

he is holding steady 54

he is eating MC right now

I am shocked by this:

In reality, he doesn't know the difference between 50 and 120

I had no idea!! NO IDEA ......all this time I have been trying to keep him nice and low (well not all this time..but tonight) I am just stunned by this.....hence, the reason behind the MC

and given the fact that you actually prefer Gracie to surf a little higher.....no need for me to be a hero....crack open goes the can of MC.

okay....so I will test in an hour. if it is significantly higher.....I will go to bed. if not...get 2 rising numbers and call it a night?

~Kelly

EDIT: okay, I can't stop thinking about what you said about no difference between a 50 or 120......okay given that...the next time he earns a reduction by falling below 50....once I get him out of the woods so to speak with the teaspoon of foods/daps of syrup etc...AFTER THAT TIME PASSES.....then there is no positive healing gains in keeping him low the rest of the cycle? I can abort the cycle soon after I know he isn't going to "crash"? keeping him surfing is basically a waste of time?
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +6=

Kelly, I'm a great believer in aborting a cycle, especially late at night when I want to sleep, and more so if a reduction has been earned or she's just surfing and I know she won't go any lower. One night Neko cruised at 53 for 3 hours. :shock: You do have to be somewhat careful that you don't use a sledgehammer where a regular hammer will do. Getting Tom surfing at 80+ is a great place to be, still under 120 and healing and still plenty of room if he drops a little. You want him in normal numbers and not skyrocketing. This is where you can experiment with MC or slightly higher carb LC (7-8%) to see what works for Tomcat.
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +6=

Sorry, Kelly. I was looking for some info for Jill.

Just post your next test ...I'll be up.

The healing gain is the same at 50 as it is at 90. So you could bring him up from the 50s. I wouldn't go over the top on carbs to do it. You don't want to send him needlessly above 100/120.

For instance, I don't use anything more than 10% with Gracie unless she falls into the 30s....then I might give her a drop of karo depending on where it is in the cycle and how fast she got there. But if she's in the 50s, I like to get her up into the 60s/70s and usually a little 5% or 10% will do it. If it doesn't, then I know she's probably going to earn a reduction soon.

Know Thy Cat! :-D
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +6=

+8.5=61

he is rising.....not much though. but I think he is safe? yes? :?:

He had 10% food an hour ago.

I will offer some LC food----or some more 10%?
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +6=

Can you get up and test him in a couple hours ...leave food out.....just to be sure he's still coming up?
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +6=

YES, I will get up and test him in a little over 3 hours...for AMPS. hahah

I don't have to go to bed.....

I take it I need to get another rising number before I hang it up for the night?

that is fine. I won't be able to sleep anyway if I am unsure
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +6=

It would make me feel a little better because he's just surfing....he should start coming up a bit. But try to sleep for a bit.
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +6=

okay

so what number am I looking for?

80 or higher?

I will just keep testing until I get whatever number......
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +6=

I think if he is still on the rise at +9, it will have been two hours since he ate so you could leave food out and go to bed.
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +6=

okay that sounds like a plan

continued rising number at +9 ..........

then I will offer food/leave food out

and call it good

then I can go to bed and STRESS OVER A LOW PRESHOT VALUE!!!


oh boy....this is a full time job! oy ;-)
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +6=

Yes t is but you are both doing awesome!!!

Hope you get some sleepus!

Ni niI
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +6=

good night to you Marje

thanks for all the hand holding!! not only does all your assistance keep all us newbies sane and safe....it helps that clock tick a little faster for that next meter reading too

I can't imagine trying to watch tv during all this....and if it weren't for this forum.....we would all just be staring at the walls going insane.

ps I always picture you sitting surrounded by your wildlife utopia

nice image

okay I am signing off....til next time.

which, believe it or not...I hope is soon. let's get this cat earn more reductions!!!!
 
Re: 7/22 Tomcat PMPS 140, +3.5=41, +4=67, +4=54, +5=57, +6=

You're welcome!!!

I always picture you sitting surrounded by your wildlife utopia
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I would but Mike doesn't allow them in the house ;-)

BTW...the snake that passed away....I think it was Kingsley's twin because last week....I saw the REAL Kingsley and he's alive and well...or reincarnated. :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D The one we found dead was stiff (sorry) so I couldn't tell exactly how long he was but Kingsley is a big guy and when I saw him last week, I knew it was him. But still sad about the other one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top