7/22 - Tip - AMPS(450); +3(373); +6(334);

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & Pets

Member Since 2012
1U Lantus for the AM shot, 2nd consecutive shot of her new insulin. :)

+9 was at 393

Seems like she's still filling the shed up, I hear it takes a few days?

I know one problem I'm having is getting used to the pens. Switching from a vial of humulin N to Lantus pens is difficult. I keep almost forgetting that I'm not to inject air in to the pen. Any suggestions? I was thinking maybe a sticky note on the box so I see it when I pull it out of the fridge.

And you do keep the pen you're currently using in the fridge, right? I've read over the handling sticky a couple of times, guess I'll have to read it again. Because I remember once, my diabetic friend(who also uses lantus! Huh! He calls it the better version of humulin) called and told me to not put the pen he forgot here in the fridge because it does something. I can't remember what, it was a year back or so.
 
Re: 7/22 - Tip - AMPS(450); +3(373); +6(334)

I didn't get to welcome you yesterday so welcome!!

Yes...it can take several cycles to fill the depot. I want to look at your SS. Since Tip has been on a previous insulin, we might want to be a little more aggressive with the increases. So I'll get right back on that.

Humans don't need to keep their pens in the frig ....they are generally using alot more insulin than we do AND the bigger reason is they use pen needles. We don't. We use insulin syringes to draw the dose.

In order for the pen to last as long as possible (and some last until they are empty), it's best to keep it in the frig in a drawer where it isn't exposed to the temperature changes from opening/closing the frig door. I keep
mine in the cheese drawer. I also keep a refrigerator thermometer on top of the box of unused pens so I can make sure they stay at the right temp. The pen I am currently using is outside the box and right next to it but
can't roll around. If they roll or jilt (like in the door of the frig), they can get alot of bubbles.

Correct...do not inject air into the pen or any of the insulin back into it. Here is a video on how to draw from a pen (and a vial).
[youtube]u4KtK_skpmQ[/youtube]

It's best to draw slowly so you don't get bubbles. I overdraw and then twist the syringe plunger slowly with very slight pressure up to dial in my dose.
 
Re: 7/22 - Tip - AMPS(450); +3(373); +6(334)

It's alright. :) The forums and internet was messing up on me a lot this weekend.

Alright. :) I just updated it today. I feel bad she got a rocky start, but my alarm clock was going out on me, so it didn't get me up.

Ahh, okay. I've got them in the fridge, right under the meat/cheese drawer. I would put it in that drawer, but it gets opened a lot, and I'm afraid it'd bump them around too much.

Yeah, I've watched that video about twice now. I've yet to make that sticky note, should probably do that soon. Ah! I didn't think to draw it slowly. What I've been doing is over-drawing it by about a unit to half a unit, removing it, adding air, lightly flicking the needle to get the bubbles up to the pocket of air, then removing the air and extra insulin. Is this an okay method as well?
 
Don't worry!! We all have alarm issues from time to time.

Is your name Sayania? Just checking...we tend to get on friendly terms in this forum so I don't want to call you something that isn't your name.

Yes....that method sounds absolutely perfect! Drawing slowly should help.

If you could please do a profile for Tip, we'd be very appreciative. We have lots of kitties in this forum and some with health issues, meds, etc. So it helps us to be able to quickly access alot of info about Tip at a time; that
way we don't have to keep asking you. It seems like a lot of steps to do the profile, but it goes quickly. If you need any help, just PM me: Creating a Profile

We do one condo per cat per day and everything about that kitty...questions...comments, etc. goes in that one condo. We also link the previous day's condo on the current one so those of us offering advice, especially dosing advice, can go back and run through several days' condos quickly. Here are instructions to linking the previous day's condo:
1. go to previous day's condo and copy link in browser
2. open a "new topic" and put your cursor in the big text box
3. click on the URL box above the text box
4. paste your link in between the boxes so it looks like this: Paste Link Here

If you want to make it fancy, do this:
1. remove the second bracket and put in an =
2. put the second bracket at the end of your link
3. in between the second and third bracket, put whatever title you like....some are like the one above, others are "Yesterday", whatever you like so we know it is the condo from the day before
4. highlight it all and then click on the B in the line above the text box to bold your title. So it looks like this: 7/17 Condo (note: I didn't add the "b" or else it will just bold it and you won't see them anyway)

We are a close knit group and everyone is very eager and willing to share their time to help out so please ask ANY questions you have. There's almost always someone around.

Since the board was down for over 12 hours, we're playing a little catch-up on condos right now but I promise I'll get back to you on dosing later today.
 
Ok...looked closely at your SS. I'd like to give her four cycles on this dose with you continuing with the PS, +3, +6, +9 tests. Then let's reevaluate and see if we need to take her up sooner rather than later, ok?

Tomorrow some time, put "dose question" up and let us take a look at where she is. I'll check in as well tomorrow.
 
Sorry for the lack of replies, ran out to get a cable for my t.v. :)

Yes, well, you can call me Cindy, 'tis my actual name. Without thinking I put my typical online name up.

Alright, I'll try also drawing the insulin out slowly as well.

Okay, I'll do that as soon as I can. And the instructions for linking back seems easy enough. :) Glad it's a standard format(lots of sites use that linking format)

Alright, I'm a little nervous though about changing the dose without discussing it with my vet, especially since she has her next visit(yearly's, bG test, dose changing, etc) coming up on next monday.
 
Thanks, Cindy.

Tip is your kitty and you should do what you feel comfortable doing. You should know, however, that most vets are not aware of and, if they are, do not advocate a tight regulation protocol. They generally think it's fine for cats to be up around 200-300. It isn't. The TR protocol is a science-based protocol that provides newly diagnosed kitties (less than one year as a diabetic) with the best chance to go into remission.

Having said that, you hold the syringe and while we may make recommendations, they are just that and we respect your decision as her caregiver and the one who is there with her. We'll still help in every way we can. :-D

One thing that might be helpful to you is to go to a few condos in LL and check out some SSs. Lots to learn by looking at them.
 
I think that I'll just keep going with the vet for this time, but after that, only go when needed, which may or may not be often with how Tip gets bladder infections now. By the way, will the frequency of those go away as I get Tip regulated? Or will she always be prone to that?

I'll do that after I get back from dinner, will update Tips pmps number here once I get back as well, though the SS is up to date.

Another question, should I get a +6 number after the pmps as well? Or am I fine with the small curve I've done today enough to not need it? Either way I can. Just curious.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top