Darnell & Sprocket (GA)
Member Since 2015
Ok he has been doing well till now.
Last week had a death so I was unable to be home as much to test so i gave some higher carbs (higher for him but under 10% as he is a little sensitive to carbs even though most of u dont believe me)to keep him from dropping when i couldnt monitor.
Then after he was dropping some and being finiky with eating so I ended up giving some 3-5 or 7 carbs when I wasnt normally cause he wouldnt eat anything else.
Problem with this is vet said he is dropping sugar in his urine and this bacterial UTI is probably from the more carb I fed.
So he now has orbax antibiotic. She said it may make him insulin resistant so he will go lower.
I am worried about doing his usual 2.75u dose as he is unpredictable right now with eating. In late june, I already tried 2.5 dose and 2.68 dose & it was not enough. So we went back to 2.75u & feed more than 4 carb when he is lower or drops fast.
So if the higher carb is causing UTI then i cant feed the lower bg so now what do I do?
He is at 12oz per day of food, 6 meals in 24 hrs. Every 4 hrs.
When he ate less his bg would drop.
So do i do less food and lower the dose to 2.5?
Or what?
And tonight after vet I gave a fat 2u dose cause today he already had 2.5oz less of food and he wont eat anymore right now. He is so uncomfy. I was worried he would drop hard n fast as less food, sick, & his bg lower(161) at pmps.
Advice please.
Thanks. I think I posted all info.
Last week had a death so I was unable to be home as much to test so i gave some higher carbs (higher for him but under 10% as he is a little sensitive to carbs even though most of u dont believe me)to keep him from dropping when i couldnt monitor.
Then after he was dropping some and being finiky with eating so I ended up giving some 3-5 or 7 carbs when I wasnt normally cause he wouldnt eat anything else.
Problem with this is vet said he is dropping sugar in his urine and this bacterial UTI is probably from the more carb I fed.
So he now has orbax antibiotic. She said it may make him insulin resistant so he will go lower.
I am worried about doing his usual 2.75u dose as he is unpredictable right now with eating. In late june, I already tried 2.5 dose and 2.68 dose & it was not enough. So we went back to 2.75u & feed more than 4 carb when he is lower or drops fast.
So if the higher carb is causing UTI then i cant feed the lower bg so now what do I do?
He is at 12oz per day of food, 6 meals in 24 hrs. Every 4 hrs.
When he ate less his bg would drop.
So do i do less food and lower the dose to 2.5?
Or what?
And tonight after vet I gave a fat 2u dose cause today he already had 2.5oz less of food and he wont eat anymore right now. He is so uncomfy. I was worried he would drop hard n fast as less food, sick, & his bg lower(161) at pmps.
Advice please.
Thanks. I think I posted all info.
