7/22 Shasta AMBG=202 PMPS=358 +2=252 +4=180 barely eating

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deborah & Shasta

Member Since 2012
7/21 Shasta

WCR: Not doing well this morning. Actually, it started last night. She really wouldn't eat any of her fuds starting about +4 (pm). I just figured it was one of her finicky food moments, but when she woke me up at +10 wanting food yet not eating what she had and then she vomited...woke me up at +11...I put down the good stuff (Paw Lickin' Chicken) and she licked at it a little...I knew something wasn't right. I skipped her shot because of her crappy appy. I put down two of her faves and she looked at them, licked at them a little, but then just sat there and stared at them. She vomited again about an hour after "breffis". She looks miserable. :( It seems like everything is pointing to pancreatitis. I thought about trying to pick up some Pepcid, but I've never given her any and at this point, she's not eating much of anything, so I'm not thinking she'll eat the Pepcid. :arghh:

Sending healthy vines to all our sugar kitties and their hoomins! Blessings!

~Deborah & Shasta


AMBG=202 (13% FF Grilled Chicken in Gravy, 14% Friskies Turkey in Gravy 1oz)
+15.5=233
+18=318 2 Chicken Pill Pockets (3% FF T&G 1oz)

PMPS=358 (5% Friskies T&G Special Diet 1oz)
+2=252 (13% FF Grilled Chicken)
+4=180 (1 Pill Pocket)
+5.5= (3% FF T&G 1oz)

Poo Pee tally
Pee piles - 1 (noonish)
Poo piles -
 
Last edited:
Poor kitty girl. :( Could you get her to the vet for an injection of Cerenia perhaps? Have you tried pilling her with a pill gun before? Sounds like she really needs some meds for her poor tummy.
 
I agree that an injection of either cerenia or ondansetron would be better right now. Pepcid is only good for tummy acid, and if she has full-on nausea, the pepcid isn't going to help much. Plus, pilling a nauseated cat often doesn't work well.....a lot of times they'll just barf the meds back up.

I know Shasta has a very hard time at the vetty, but it really might be a good idea to try getting her in. If she has p-titis, she'll need anti-nausea meds and bupe for pain. Daily fluids help with p-titis, too. You basically need to keep her eating, and the meds help support that.

If you really can't get her in, since you know how to do injections, ,would your vet let you do the cerenia at home? If so, just so you know: It's a good-sized needle (much bigger than insulin needles), and it does sting going in, so you have to be quick with it.

Sending prayers....please keep us posted.
 
I gave Cerenia injections to Zener. It did seem to sting and the needles seem huge compared to insulin needs. But I pulled on my big girl pants and did it. Really glad I did as Cerenia helped Zener a lot. Ondansetron is good for nausea too. Sending lots of vines for Shasta.
Liz
 
Thank you all for the advise & vines. I called the vet around 11am; told the receptionist what was going on and then waited for a call back. She called back at 1:30pm and said my vet said I had a few options...
1. If she was still really bad, I could bring her in today. However, he worries about sedating her late in the afternoon in case there are complications.
2. Keep an eye on her overnight and if she's doing better in the morning...call to update.
3. Keep an eye on her overnight and if she's doing worse, bring her in first thing in the morning.

My vet, while super nice and willing to work with my difficult cat, is sometimes a little less proactive than I would prefer. Also, I've asked him on a few occasions about ondansetron and he's unwilling to prescribe because "it is a drug used for cats with cancer." (according to him via his reference books/search). I'm willing to give her a shot of Cerenia, though I know she'll hate it. Heck, I deal with those sub-q fluid harpoons...why not one more spear! :arghh:

This morning, I picked up some Chicken Pill Pockets just in case I tried to give some Pepcid. When I got home, she was in the same position that I left her...still hadn't eaten...still nothing in the LB. I pulled off a little lump of pill pocket to see if I could interest her appy...she about took my finger off. So, I grabbed another little chunk of P.P. and she crawled up my chest as she stood on the ottoman. All in all, she ate 2 whole pill pockets (dog size...I think they're a bit bigger than cat size) and finished the little bit of Friskies Turkey Dinner in Gravy. I put out a little FF Turkey & Giblets and she ate some; came back to finish it off a little later. I put down some more...she ate it all...and now, we're about 30 minutes until shot time and I'm hoping she's hungry. OH, and she's kept all of that down AND peed once. Her mood is very quiet and she's chilling on my lap. I just want her to feel better. :bighug:
 
Have you tried baby food? It's easy on the tummy. If Shasta isn't feeling better in the AM, a shot of Cerenia is a good idea. Getting the p'titis assessed is also a good idea since if that's what's going on, you'll need pain meds.
 
Good that she ate finally. Sending feel better vines for Shasta, and hopefully doesnt have to go to tbp tomorrow. Its really hard on the beans to see them not feeling well:(..Paws crossed she keeps the food down..and for you, more:bighug:
 
adding some appy vines....
I agree with what Amy said.
I would hope he would let you have the Cerenia so you can inject it.

My vet was skeptical about the ondansetron too but she sees it helps and doesn't argue now.
 
Thanks again for all the vines, support and advice. She's pretty much the same tonight...a few nibbles on food but goes crazy over the Pill Pockets. Here's the crazy thing...I am now sick with an upset tummy. Can humans and cats pass off stomach viruses?!?!?!?! Or is this just a really crappy coincidence?!?! :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:
 
Hmm, maybe you can call your doctor for some Ondansetron and share it with Shasta! I don't know about sharing a virus - usually not, because the species are so different, I think.

I find with Minka that the nausea comes and goes. She'll be eating fine one minute and refusing all food the next. Having some meds on hand would be wise - both oral and injectible.

Sending tummy vines for both of you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top