7/22 Rocky PMBG 65 +13 74 +14 55 +15.5 54 +18.25 64 +19 80

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Happy good afternoon,

Rocky is looking pretty good today for getting a reducie last night. His BG started to come down at his AMPS this morning- He went from the PMPS +11 to AMPS +104. Knowing that, I should have fed him a higher carb food for his first meal this morning. I am not going to reduce his insulin dose for tonight's shot because I just gave him a reduction last night.

Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122131

Yesterday's SS:
AMPS +12 66 + 17.5 70 + 19.5 88 +22 112
PMPS 112 +1 115 + 3 132 +5 162 +6 163 + 11 110

I'm leaving the house shortly to go meet the woman who is taking care of one of the largest feral cat colonies in Elk Grove. I just learned yesterday that this is a dumping grounds for unwanted cats, and that there are about 60 cats at this location. She's done a good job of keeping it hidden from animal control, but I'm not sure that's how this area should be taken care of any longer. I am working on program of implementing feral cat neighborhood's with cat shelters as well as feeding stations. These kitties definitely need some help.
 
Re: 7/22 Rocky AMPS 104 +1 83 +47 +5 56 +6 60

Wow. Rocky is really on a mission, isn't he? I'm so glad to see such healthy numbers for him.

Good luck with your meeting. You are an angel without wings, Tina! :-D
 
Re: 7/22 Rocky AMPS 104 +1 83 +47 +5 56 +6 60

Rocky is looking so good. What are you doing differently since you started?
 
Re: 7/22 Rocky AMPS 104 +1 83 +47 +5 56 +6 60

Rockys really looking good these days! So, no reducie after that 47? Do you do the 3 times under 50, or below 40 maybe. And bless you for your work with the ferals o:-).
 
Re: 7/22 Rocky AMPS 104 +1 83 +47 +5 56 +6 60 +8 69

Rocky is looking pretty good these days, thank goodness! I really need a break considering everything that I am doing to help ease the suffering of neglected, sometimes abused, feral cats. A part of me doesn't wonder if Rocky may have had a bit of smoldering pancreatitis before he went to his one week medical board when I was on retreat?

I don't really know. but I think that Doxycycline that he was on for pneumonia could have also knocked out a bacterial stomach bug. Doxy is a funny drug. For some kitties with P-titis it makes it worse, and for others it helps them heal. The reason why for some it helps to heal them is because it's believed when a cat has P-titis that there is some gut leakage/spillover and it causes infection in their bile ducts. Perhaps the Doxy cleared up an infection in Rocky's bile ducts. It's hard to say, even if tests had been done.

As far as infections and bacteria go, he still has gingivitis, but it's not nearly as bad as the vets made it out to be when he went DKA.( I asked the vets who looked at him when he was diagnosed with pneumonia to check out his teeth and tell me about them.) I want to get him to the vet and have his teeth cleaned pretty soon so that maybe we can see these good BG numbers continue. I don't want a dental issue to crop up and then cause his BG to go up higher.

Laura and Elise, one thing I am doing differently for Rocky is that I am spacing out his meals, an hour or more apart now. That way, I can see how his body is responding to the carbs. I feed him a variety of foods in one day, not just one type of food, depending on my entire glance at his BG for the cycle. He either gets 5.5oz in one cycle, or sometimes about 1 oz less. It depends on how hungry he happens to be.

I also won't reduce Rocky's insulin dose unless he goes under 40, or, unless he has many, many hours where I am feeding him when his BG is in the 40s, and even an HC food will barely make his BG go up.

But actually, I don't believe it's my feeding technique that is helping him to stay in lower numbers. More than anything else, maybe, his pancreas has healed a little bit?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top