? 7/22 Perry AMPS 234, +6 135 | PMPS 126/118/132, +1 174, +2 146, +3.3 108, +4.75 87

Perry & Jenn

Member Since 2019
Well, the new feeder was a bust last night. Perry ate out of it just fine (yesterday's condo w pic), but I woke up at 4am because I thought I heard it click. Perry was sleeping on me and woke up when I got up to check the feeder ... which made me realize he'd been sleeping on me for hours. The feeder did not click over to the empty tray (I must've heard something else), so since I was up and knew he was hungry, I fed him. We tested AMPS at 5:45 a.m. So that's probably slightly food influenced, but not too bad.

We will try the feeder again tonight. My husband realized he hadn't tested it properly last night before we loaded it up, so it might have been user error.

Hope all the kitties surf safely today!
 
Perry's PMPS is 124 -- in the no-shoot zone for a newbie. However, I have a feeling if I wait even just 15 minutes, he'll be so peeved that he'll shoot well up into the safe-to-shoot zone. He's hungry now! Thoughts, @JeffJ or others?
 
Perry's PMPS is 124 -- in the no-shoot zone for a newbie. However, I have a feeling if I wait even just 15 minutes, he'll be so peeved that he'll shoot well up into the safe-to-shoot zone. He's hungry now! Thoughts, @JeffJ or others?
ignore him. its the hardest 30 min of your life lol. do exactly what you said and decide based on that number. good luck
 
124 and 118 are basically the same number. Are you able to stay up and monitor tonight and do you have supplies?
I have a hypo kit. It's 6pm here, and if I have to stay up to monitor, I have to stay up to monitor. He's really a grazer, and I have a feeling he's on the low side because he hasn't eaten since 2pm ... but I'm also going to wait and retest in 5 minutes here. If we weren't so new to lower numbers, I wouldn't be nervous.
 
I think if you can monitor, you should shoot the 2 units. I won't be able to stay up with you all night, but I can check back in an hour. You'll need to get a +1 and a +2. It's up to you.
 
Other info: We are using the Lantus pen to inject right now, so if I did a reduced dose tonight, I'd go to 1u (his usual is 2u).
 
Even if you shoot a reduced dose, you'll still need to get a +1 and a +2 just to make sure he stays safe. Sometimes when you shoot a reduced dose it doesn't affect the current cycle, but the following cycle.
 
Carla and Jeff, you are amazing, thank you so much. Perry's still eating ... and he's eaten nearly a whole 3-oz can of food. My husband just got home, and we're discussing whether to shoot 2u or 1u right now and will post what we do momentarily here.
 
Okay, we decided to play it safe tonight. I just shot 1u. We're feeling like we don't have enough info and experience at these numbers yet. I had to really think hard about this, because we're throwing off the depot for a few days now, so that's just delaying acquiring more data at lower numbers, of course, but we weren't quite comfortable with shooting the full 2u tonight.
 
Perry is having a small bite right now but will want his real dinner in about an hour, 1:15, which will be around his +3.5. I'm thinking about giving him DM (at 10%) for dinner tonight, because it will give him a good boost going into the nadir. (We've been gradually moving him off the DM and onto a ProPlan True Nature that's 6%.) Thoughts @JeffJ ?
 
Holy Smokes - that food has a long name:
Purina Pro Plan TRUE NATURE Grain Free Formula Natural Beef & Giblets Entrée Classic Wet Cat Food

I went to their web site. How do they even fit that on the label?:eek::joyful:
 
How about just feeding him the intended "good" food" - the ProPlan. I would keep moving him off the higher carb stuff.
I'm clearly trying not to overreact here, can you tell?!? The first words on the hypo sticky are "don't panic" for a reason! How about I take a deep breath?
 
How do they even fit that on the label?:eek::joyful:
Very carefully!
IMG_1962.jpeg
 
The hypo sticky is a good one. A well prepared owner (like you) can deal with it IF it happens. Probably not tonight though.

It is part of diabetes mgmt. Over the coming months it probably will happen. And we just apply a little more due diligence that evening. Not a big deal. And the more calmly that we treat our kittehs, it makes the situation easier for them too.

If you look at Leo's history, he had a lot of events. While it is not routine, you pretty much get used to it. Afterall, we don't want to keep our kittehs in the 200-400 range. So an occasional dip into lime green is fine.
 
+3.3 is 108. Wow. Okay, feeding Mr. Perry his bedtime snack ... and I will probably get up in two hours to check on him again.
 
I will monitor until 1:00am CST (12:00 Mountain) - basically 2 hours from now.

The snack should bring him up.
 
I will monitor until 1:00am CST (12:00 Mountain) - basically 2 hours from now.

The snack should bring him up.

Thank you. :)

He had a light snack after +2 and didn't go up at all, but it was small -- just enough to tide him over until now.

I decided to give him a light dinner, and I'm staying up to feed him again as he enters his nadir. He's a little put out that he didn't get a bigger dinner, but he'll be happy for it in an hour. And I can test again. Poor guy's ears are getting beat up tonight.
 
The ears are part of the territory. Our poor kittehs. I used to give Leo's ears small massages, then I would massage his head. He was real tolerant of the whole deal.

I'm glad Little Dude is not diabetic. He can fold his ears flat and they almost morph into his body.:eek::D
 
I'm glad Little Dude is not diabetic. He can fold his ears flat and they almost morph into his body.:eek::D
Wow, Little Dude, that sounds like a great party trick!

I feel pretty lucky. Perry has been pretty tolerant of the ear pricks. Maybe because he knows he often gets to eat after he gets them!
 
Staying up with him is giving me a chance to get some work done that I couldn't get to earlier today, so I guess that's a good thing?
 
...ummm yeah for your company, but not for you.

TV, Netflix, and Amazon streaming - they were all invented for diabetic cat owners.
 
Tested a bit early because Perry was looking like he was thinking about giving up on food and going to bed. 87 at +4.75
 
Back
Top