7/22 Nadia AMPS=250 +2=245 +9=246

Status
Not open for further replies.

Liz4Paws

Member Since 2013
Hi LL!

I hope everyone had a lovely weekend. Nadia has been on her new dosecrease since Friday and we saw some lower numbers, but she's still in the yellows quite a bit. I'm hoping to see her head down a bit but I'll be at work this week so it will be hard to get anything but a +2 and +9.

I have to share a new song that I sing her at test time: The Pokey Pokey. (Think hokey pokey)

You put your left ear in you put your left ear out
You put your left in ear and you poke it all about
You do the pokey pokey then you turn yourself around
And then you will get your shot! EVERYBODY NOW!


Gosh, I'm really losing it. ;-) this is on top of the food song I started singing to the pets "All the hungry ladies" (think Beyonce's "single ladies").

Annnnnnnnyways.......

Basic question for you all: What number range am I aiming for to try to get her into remission? I know there is a "healing number" range, but despite all of my searches last night, I couldn't find the goal range post that I know I've seen before. Where do I want her numbers to be eventually?

Thanks and I hope everyone is having a great start to their week!
 
Re: 7/22 Nadia AMPS=250 ??Healing Range Question??

Basically, for a cat to go into remission you want to see lots and lots of green. Generally, normal range is considered 50 - 120. If your cat stays in that range, you're doing great. You might want to take a look at Purrcee's SS since he went OTJ today. For tight regulation, you want to keep your cat in the same range. The only difference is that some cats need insulin to stay in a normal BG range whereas other kitties have a pancreas than can manage without insulin.

Other than remission, you want to try to keep you cat's numbers below 220 or so. While renal threshold varies from cat to cat, keeping numbers below 220 minimizes any damage that higher BG levels can do to the kidneys.
 
Re: 7/22 Nadia AMPS=250 +2=245 ??Healing Range Question??

Thanks, Sienne! I know Nadia needs to go down more....when do you think I'll know if this dose is working well or needs to be upped? 2-3 days? I had hoped to see more of an impact with the .25u increase but we are only on day 4 of the new dose.
 
Re: 7/22 Nadia AMPS=250 +2=245 ??Healing Range Question??

Liz --

I think you're fine to raise Nadia's dose tonight if you'd like. Even though she's got a bit more than half of her nadirs that are below 200, you're not seeing any greens and the blues are at the higher end of the 100s. Here's the info from the protocol:
Increasing the dose:

  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
You can increase as soon at 3 days/6 cycles. Nadia has been at this dose for 7 cycles.
 
Re: 7/22 Nadia AMPS=250 +2=245 ??Healing Range Question??

I'll plan to dosecrease her to 1u starting tonight. Fingers crossed...thanks for the advice, as always. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top