Okay Marie, Leonard, I finally got to read the sheet, I'm not seeing anything like a 'bounce' here. A bounce would be numbers going low enough for the body to think "hypo" (below 60) followed by a glucagon release and a sudden appearance of a red or black number. Not seeing it.
What I'm seeing is this:
* 3.0 is a pretty good dose of Lantus, with preshot numbers in the yellow range. Could be better, but Leonard is obviously responding to the insulin and relatively consistently.
* You finally saw the numbers you wanted on June 21 and got all panicky and lowered your dose suddenly. Not a good idea in this case, and it threw Leonard off for over a week. If you see numbers mid-day like 78 which then come back up to normal pre-shots, that is precisely what you're aiming for. Hold your nerve and repeat hoping for the same again.
* Quarter-unit adjustments at most. That day you dropped from 3.0 to 2.5 was disastrous.
* Don't panic when you see a number in the dark greens. They're dark green because that's a good number.
* If you see a light green, and he's not acting weird, feed him some of his normal food and lower dose by at most a quarter unit and stay there.
* Consistency is key. Don't panic like June 21, just keep up the quarter unit rises till he shows greens again, and try to keep him there.
* Try to get to know his patterns to the point that you're confident shooting at lower and lower in the blues. Ideally you want him under 180 most of the day.
You'll probably end up moving slowly up to 3.5 over the next couple of weeks, and one day you'll see a reaction like you did June 21. If you see dark green, don't change the dose at all. If you see light green, lower by a quarter unit, but stay there, not changing dose for a while. Try to get to the point where you're seeing preshots between 150-199 and shooting normally.