7/22 Kitty PMBG 45, +2=53 - Newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Missy & Kitty

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone!

I am pleased to tell you that Kitty's BG this morning is 66! I won't be giving her a shot, but she is pretty hungry. Is it OK to give her some food now?
 
Re: 7/22 Kitty AMBG 66- Newbie

I think you just need to feed Kitty. If you're not giving a shot -- and that's exactly the right thing to do -- then you should feed the kitty.
 
Re: 7/22 Kitty AMBG 66- Newbie

Kitty would be thrilled if I only tested her once this afternoon! I'll test again at 2:00PM.

It's ~O) time! :RAHCAT
 
Re: 7/22 Kitty AMBG 66- Newbie

Oh Yeah - Feed the Kitty! I love those words!

What a lovely morning number. I had a feeling you would see something like this. :-D
 
Re: 7/22 Kitty AMBG 66- Newbie

I had a feeling you would see something like this

Me too Hillary!!

Congrats Missy and Kitty!! A nice calm surf in the green lagoon and without insulin! It's wonderful what a simple diet change can do!!

Look forward to your posts Missy!!

Go Kitty!!! cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 7/22 Kitty AMBG 66- Newbie

I have been telling everyone I know to stop feeding their cats dry food, and I've linked the feline diabetes site. I'm loving these great numbers, and I hope they stay that way!

Thank you for the support, guys! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/22 Kitty AMBG 66, +6=45 - Newbie

I fed Kitty a meal this AM around 8, and a couple of teaspoons at 11:50. I'm going to give her a few more teaspoons now. :D
 
Re: 7/22 Kitty PMBG 45 - Newbie

Hooray! Kitty's PMBG is 45! I'm going to feed her some more. :thumbup

I think maybe I should feed her more or more often. I'd like for her numbers to be a little higher than that.
 
Re: 7/22 Kitty PMBG 45 - Newbie

Aww crap..I forgot that I had changed my shot time to 8 and I tested one hour too early. ohmygod_smile

The last time I fed her was at 4:30 and I stopped all food at 5. I still had all of my alarms set for when I was going to do shots at 7:15. Stupid! Do I need to test her again in an hour and then feed her?
 
Re: 7/22 Kitty PMBG 45 - Newbie

Oh, and Kitty hasn't had a bowel movement since Saturday night some time. Could she be constipated?
 
Re: 7/22 Kitty PMBG 45 - Newbie

She's still so low, I really don't think you are going to need to give any insulin. I think at this point you skip the shot for the PM. That's my suggestion. Let her eat and pick it back up tomorrow AM.

She'd have to go up 105 points in a hour. Based on her limited history, that is not likely.
 
Re: 7/22 Kitty PMBG 45 - Newbie

Thank you, Deb! I'll test her again before I go to bed and feed her some more, unless you think I should test her sooner as well.
 
Re: 7/22 Kitty PMBG 45 - Newbie

Wow Missy! Kitty's doing great!!! I had quite a scare today when China dipped to 21, but she's fine...You're really lucky that Kitty is responding so well to the diet change!!

I'm not sure about the constipation but you can always add some water to her wet food when you feed her...the extra water sure won't hurt her and might help loosen her up
 
Re: 7/22 Kitty PMBG 45 - Newbie

Chris & China said:
I had quite a scare today when China dipped to 21, but she's fine
Oh no! I'm so glad she's OK.

I have some canned pumpkin (plain, no spices), but I don't know if she would like that added to her food. I would think it would make it taste funny.
 
Re: 7/22 Kitty PMBG 45 - Newbie

most cats like pumpkin...I agree it's a strange idea, but a lot of them eat it willingly. Don't overdue it though...1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon to start and give Kitty the night to see if you get any results

Make sure it has no added sugar too
 
Re: 7/22 Kitty PMBG 45 - Newbie

Chris & China said:
Make sure it has no added sugar too
Oh yeah...good thinking. Maybe I'll do your idea and add some water to her food tonight. If she still hasn't gone in the morning, I'll look into the pumpkin.
 
Re: 7/22 Kitty PMBG 45 - Newbie

If the constipation is impacted, you may need to give her an enema to clear things out. Never done one myself. It can be done at the vet. You might post on the Feline Health forum and see if anyone has experience giving home enemas to their kitties and offer suggestions. Or add that to your subject line here might be better. After Newbie I would add "constipation help".

Have you been adding plain canned pumpkin to her food? That can help sometimes with the constipation but it might be backed up inside so hard, it won't help and only cause more problems.

Two days isn't unusual for a bowel movement. Was she a once a day kitty before this?

If it doesn't clear out by itself by morning, a call to the vet and a possible vet visit may be in order.
 
Re: 7/22 Kitty PMBG 45 - Newbie

Deb & Wink said:
If the constipation is impacted, you may need to give her an enema to clear things out.
Well that doesn't sound very fun..for either of us! Ha!

Deb & Wink said:
Have you been adding plain canned pumpkin to her food?
I haven't been adding it, but I picked some up in case I needed it.

Deb & Wink said:
Was she a once a day kitty before this?
Yes, I believe she was a once a day kitty. That's a nice way to say that.

Deb & Wink said:
If it doesn't clear out by itself by morning, a call to the vet and a possible vet visit may be in order.
OK. I'm going to add some water to her dinner and her snack before bed (after I test her)..maybe that will soften things up a bit. If there's a no show in the AM, I'll call the vet.
 
Re: 7/22 Kitty PMBG 45 - Newbie

Before adding pumpkin or attempting an enema, it's best to have Kitty checked by your vet. Any of the easy, at home solutions to what seems to be constipation may cause more of a problem. If the bowel is impacted, the vet needs to deal with this. Adding water to Kitty's food is a good idea. Most of us add water to our cat's food. It's very good for kidney health.

I think what we're seeing is that you have a "broken" diabetic. It's what MJ posted a couple of days ago.

It's not important if you tested at 7:00 or 8:00. Kitty's numbers are in the normal range.
 
Re: 7/22 Kitty PMBG 45 - Newbie

Sienne and Gabby said:
Most of us add water to our cat's food. It's very good for kidney health.
Oh, good! I added some water to her food earlier.

Sienne and Gabby said:
I think what we're seeing is that you have a "broken" diabetic. It's what MJ posted a couple of days ago.
I didn't know what that meant! I guess I still don't! Ha!
 
Re: 7/22 Kitty PMBG 45 - Newbie

Broken diabetic or a broken cat - is just a silly way to say that the cat does not need insulin and is considered in remission, diet controlled diabetic....

so it seems that you broke your cat and may have to return her.... :mrgreen:
 
Kitty's BG is still low, and she is enjoying her pate with water mixed in. I am so very thankful for another day of good numbers.

Thank you guys for being here with me again today. I know, I know..it's why you're here..yes, but maybe you don't realize what a blessing you are. I was terrified! I had no clue what I was doing, and you selflessly gave your time to help me and Kitty. You have no idea how much you mean to me. From the bottom of my heart, thank you.
 
Haha! Dancing poo?! :lol:

I was just pretty excited that she finally went, and it wasn't diarrhea. I didn't want another vet visit!
 
Missy & Kitty said:
Cue the 2001: A Space Odyssey music....we have poops...and they are normal. :-D

:RAHCAT Yeah for poo! :RAHCAT

Good job Kitty. Maybe she read her condo and saw the word 'VET" and decided, "To heck with that. I can take care of it myself!"

A gold star for you Kitty!
 

Attachments

  • gold star thumbs up.jpg
    gold star thumbs up.jpg
    6.6 KB · Views: 506
Deb & Wink said:
Maybe she read her condo and saw the word 'VET" and decided, "To heck with that. I can take care of it myself!"
Haha! Yep! I have been adding water to all of the cat's food now. They all still love it, and I know they are getting some more water during the day. Nice.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top