tiffmaxee
Member Since 2013
@Marje and Gracie down to 5 units?
She has late nadirs because she’s clearing bounces. Gracie did the same and it’s why I switched her to Levemir.I’m glad to see you. She has late nadirs. What dose would you suggest for tonight and morning? Would you avoid another reduction since this was influenced by the higher dose? I’m learning too as I never dealt with high dosing.
Thanks. I was worried you might not be around. Lev’something for Joji to consider although she recently switched to Lantus.She has late nadirs because she’s clearing bounces. Gracie did the same and it’s why I switched her to Levemir.
I’m around so let’s see how she does with the food before we worry about a dose. I’ll BBS.
it was an effort to get her to eat main meal that night. 7/20How long did it take her to get hungry last time?
She has late nadirs because she’s clearing bounces. Gracie did the same and it’s why I switched her to Levemir.
I’m around so let’s see how she does with the food before we worry about a dose. I’ll BBS.
I just looked at your ss and she didn’t need to eat after 3.5 so that’s good.it was an effort to get her to eat main meal that night. 7/20
we gave her the LC 6% portion first and only after that was eaten did we give her the tiki (0 carb) portion
and then she ate about half a normal mini which is 0.5oz ff 6% and 0.5oz tiki
she lost complete interest in all of it around PM+3.25 according to my notes.
right. bc we shot 3.0UI just looked at your ss and she didn’t need to eat after 3.5 so that’s good.
ETA: I’d give her the reduction tonight. I found with Gracie that doing something similar on a bounce clearing cycle didn’t mean she needed a reduction but I had gobs off data. We aren’t sure yet with Kit.
it was an effort to get her to eat main meal that night. 7/20
we gave her the LC 6% portion first and only after that was eaten did we give her the tiki (0 carb) portion
and then she ate about half a normal mini which is full mini = 0.5oz ff 6% and 0.5oz tiki
she lost complete interest in all of it around PM+3.25 according to my notes.
Recall that a large depot will affect the cycle even if you shoot a BCS so most of that cycle would have looked at exactly as it did as also indicated by her AMPS the next day...the BCS didn’t change what her cycle would have looked like anyway due to the depot.right. bc we shot 3.0U
Excellent. I would test no later than +11.5 so you don’t get any surprises but it’s fine if you want to test at +11. Just post and I’ll help you with a dose.64 at basically +10
We definitely want to be sure kitties are eating when we give insulin. In similar situations, I’ve tested, fed to be sure she was going to eat, and then shot. But, I once had a very, very wise person here tell me, for a caregiver (CG) who has some data (which you all do), that stalling, skipping, and shooting BCS doses is more for the CG than the cat especially when you have such a large depot. Sure, there are some instances where it’s just better to take one of those routes as long as you don’t get a false sense of security (which you did not the other night).what do you think about the desire to eat after a day long treat fest? on 7/20 we shot BCS of 3U in the face of that reduction bc she was not her usual happy to eat self.
test no later than +11.5 so you don’t get any surprises but it’s fine if you want to test at +11.
We definitely want to be sure kitties are eating when we give insulin. In similar situations, I’ve tested, fed to be sure she was going to eat, and then shot. But, I once had a very, very wise person here tell me, for a caregiver (CG) who has some data (which you all do), that stalling, skipping, and shooting BCS doses is more for the CG than the cat especially when you have such a large depot. Sure, there are some instances where it’s just better to take one of those routes as long as you don’t get a false sense of security (which you did not the other night).
Make sense?


Come on Kit, up just a tiny bit.shoot low to stay low
I’d suggest shooting the 5u dose. You can feed her first if you want to be sure she eats. You can give her MC if you want to bump her BG up a bit but be aware the other side to that is she might start a bounce; we don’t know.@+11.5 78 @Wendy&Neko I think Kit heard you! joji
IMHO, mixing foods isn’t the best option, typically....not just in this situation. Most diabetic cats actually do better with foods in the 6-10% carb range.For her meals, we usually do a mix of zero carb Tiki and 6% LC Fancy Feast so we were actually thinking of just doing the LC FF tonight, skipping the Tiki. joji
Sorry....when I said shoot 5u above, I meant on time but I didn’t add that part.
Sorry....when I said shoot 5u above, I meant on time but I didn’t add that part.My bad.
np, so many little details. 
Over the years, I’ve seen members with data, want to stall because the BG was in the 60s or 70s but then what happened was the BG just kept dropping and the lower it dropped, the more they were afraid to shoot.np, so many little details.
turns out we only shot about 7mins later than our normal time.
eta: come to think of it. i think it was implied in the part about what's at the convenience of the CG. xo
Over the years, I’ve seen members with data, want to stall because the BG was in the 60s or 70s but then what happened was the BG just kept dropping and the lower it dropped, the more they were afraid to shoot.
But once a member knows how the kitty responds to food and understands onset, nadir, and duration, shooting on time allows the CG to immediately feed so the drop stops and the BG goes up. Kit has been pretty flat since +11.5 so that’s good but, hopefully, this explanation will help you see what happens if you stall.
Now, obviously, if the BG is below 50, you definitely need to stall and see if the numbers come up. If, after stalling 20 mins, it doesn’t, it’s time for a small amount of LC and as soon as the BG heads up above 50, shoot the rise.
I’d suggest a +1 and +2 and then go from there.
Good girl, Kit! You’re welcomethanks for the explainer on the consequences of stalling.
tonight, it was probably our "knee jerk" reaction from the "early days" when PS were higher, but still felt low .... if that makes sense... and the guidance in those cases is to stall and ask for help.
and yes we will test +1, +2 and go from there.
in other fun food facts: kit ate that all LC meal like we'd never fed her before
thanks again for your support.

Hi there just noticed your date in your thread it says 2/22 instead of 7/22
Only wanted to make your aware of it![]()
jwYou are welcome, I see you have been very busy today with Kitthanks. that poor title has taken a real beating today. should be back to the present nowjw
I don't want to re-live Spring 2020 thank you. joji

second that ^jwI don't want to re-live Spring 2020thank you. joji
I’d get one more.

I see you have been very busy today with Kit

At least I’m predictable, lol.
Pretty soon you won’t need any help. I find the +3 a good indicator. Plus I’m super cautious with someone else’s cat since I can’t see what’s going on.it means your lessons are getting into my head.
you want the +3 bc onset.
that's very generous of you. i think it's gonna be longer rather than sooner.Pretty soon you won’t need any help.
fair.I find the +3 a good indicator. Plus I’m super cautious with someone else’s cat since I can’t see what’s going on.
yeah, that day we did a straight +2, but i think her onset is more like +2.5 (when we mostly get that first one after breakfast).AM of the 20th, the +2 was misleading.
Oh Liz don't be silly, your situation was more urgent than Tyler.sorry her action kept marje from getting back to you sooner. looks like you're ok now tho.![]()


if you insist.Nighty night!

Great job shooting! And you learned a lot today. Sleep tight!if you insist.
thanks to everybody for today's guidance and support.
oh.and. we've lowered our lowest shot number by a bit.
tired, but happy.![]()