7/22 Joplin AMPS: 66!!! Please advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cherylockholmes

Member Since 2013
This is Joplin's lowest number by far. His previous low was 142. Please advise what I should do! Thanks. Freaking out a little bit :shock:
 
Okay Breathe. I'm going to look at Joplin's spreadsheet.

Will you be home today to monitor Joplin, and have you fed yet?
 
Dyana said:
Okay Breathe. I'm going to look at Joplin's spreadsheet.

Will you be home today to monitor Joplin, and have you fed yet?

Yes, I will be home all day, and no I have not fed yet. Actually, this is the first morning in as long as I can remember that he is not here with the other cats begging for breakfast. He is just sitting out on the porch watching the birds go by. He seems completely alert and normal, except for that.
 
Then if you have some flexability in your shot schedule, I would not feed and test again 30 minutes after the last test to see if he is surfing along, or rising or dropping.
 
Okay, the 58 is pretty close to the 66, but I think it will continue to drop if you continue not feeding. If your shot schedule will allow you to be one hour off, you could not feed and test again in 30 minutes, but I kind of think you're going to be skipping this shoot. Your other option is to give a reduced dose to put something in the depot for later, like 1 unit or 0.50 units and then go ahead and feed her. If you shoot the reduced dose, please start the day with a +1 and a +2.

I have to leave in 30 minutes, so I can not be around to guide you after that, until later.
 
Dyana said:
Okay, the 58 is pretty close to the 66, but I think it will continue to drop if you continue not feeding. If your shot schedule will allow you to be one hour off, you could not feed and test again in 30 minutes, but I kind of think you're going to be skipping this shoot. Your other option is to give a reduced dose to put something in the depot for later, like 1 unit or 0.50 units and then go ahead and feed her. If you shoot the reduced dose, please start the day with a +1 and a +2.

I have to leave in 30 minutes, so I can not be around to guide you after that, until later.

His +1 is 62. I'm not going to shoot. Just fed and will retest again at +2. Thanks for all your help. Have a great day!
 
Given that Joplin's +2 is blue, do you have the flexibility to shoot now? It means your PM shot will be 12 hours from now and you'll need to slowly work the shot time back. Also, if you shoot, are you going to be around to monitor and do you have strips and HC food on hand if you need it?
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Given that Joplin's +2 is blue, do you have the flexibility to shoot now? It means your PM shot will be 12 hours from now and you'll need to slowly work the shot time back. Also, if you shoot, are you going to be around to monitor and do you have strips and HC food on hand if you need it?

I'm getting this too late I think...I've been home and monitoring him, but didn't see this post until now. It is now +5 and he is 429. At +2 he was 106. I guess now I know for next time how he will react. I fully expected to test him just now and find him in the 200's. Sigh. I should have given him a reduced dose this morning with his food. At this point, there would be too much backtracking and I'm not awake at midnight let alone past midnight, so his evening shot will have to be his next shot.
 
If your shot schedule is flexible enough, you can shoot at +23 or even +22, if you can shoot 12 hours from that time tomorrow.
 
Dyana's suggestion is great! Can your schedule deal with shooting early?

For today, your experience is instructive. Like you noted, an alternative was to shoot a reduced dose or to wait until you saw a rise in numbers and then shoot. It takes a while to sort all of this out and get comfortable with those low pre-shot numbers. I wouldn't feel badly. You have data -- you now have a better idea of when Joplin's numbers start to rise.

One thing I think is helpful to remember with low pre-shot numbers is that Lantus doesn't have an immediate onset. Most cats have at least an hour (and maybe even more than that) before the dose begins to kick in. In addition, you're feeding which also helps to raise numbers.
 
Dyana said:
If your shot schedule is flexible enough, you can shoot at +23 or even +22, if you can shoot 12 hours from that time tomorrow.

I feel like an idiot but I'm reading this over and over again and not getting it ohmygod_smile . Can you say this sentence using actually times so I can get it through my thick skull? :-)
 
An example: regular shot times are 7am and 7pm

If you skip your pm shot, than you 7 am shot would be +24.

So, since you didn't shoot at 7pm (+12), you can create a new shot time, say, 6AM, which would be +23!!

Hope this helps :-D

Jane
 
Cleo & Jane said:
An example: regular shot times are 7am and 7pm

If you skip your pm shot, than you 7 am shot would be +24.

So, since you didn't shoot at 7pm (+12), you can create a new shot time, say, 6PM, which would be +23!!

Hope this helps :-D

Jane

Ahhh! (duh!) Thank you :mrgreen: Yes, actually that's what I did. I missed the 7am shot, so I shot at 6pm and then 6am this morning. It works out anyway actually...I'm a pet sitter, and this week I have many early AM clients, so I needed to adjust his shot schedule about an hour!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top