? 7/22 Ivy amps 386, +3 292,+7 160, Is dose ok?

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...00-6-227-8-25-127-low-surf-last-night.279745/
Ivy spent some stretches in blue in both cycles yesterday (& day before) and some green last night.
She seems to be clearing bounces faster.

Numbers were read on the Libre. (She didn’t drop very low to require a check on Contour meter, although I got close late last night, she looked like she would drop very low, then just surfed).

She surfed in blue/green range into the wee hours. Long night here. Very sleepy now.

*Does this seem like a good dose for her?

Will continue Lantus dose 2.75 units unless anyone has other thoughts.
@Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Bandit's Mom

Thank you all. :cat:
 
Staci -

Cross checking with a different meter is truly muddying the waters. The difference between the Libre and Contour the evening of 7/20 makes Ivy's numbers very difficult to interpret. Based on the Libre, you need to reduce Ivy's dose. Based on the Contour, you wouldn't reduce.

You are also holding the doses longer than necessary. With TR, you evaluate the dose every 3 days/6 cycles and if the numbers aren't in the normal range, you increase. One cycle with good numbers would not necessarily be a reason to hold the dose. That's my 2 cents.
 
Staci -

Cross checking with a different meter is truly muddying the waters. The difference between the Libre and Contour the evening of 7/20 makes Ivy's numbers very difficult to interpret. Based on the Libre, you need to reduce Ivy's dose. Based on the Contour, you wouldn't reduce.

You are also holding the doses longer than necessary. With TR, you evaluate the dose every 3 days/6 cycles and if the numbers aren't in the normal range, you increase. One cycle with good numbers would not necessarily be a reason to hold the dose. That's my 2 cents.
Hi Sienne,
I’ve always been advised to cross check the Libre low numbers with a handheld human meter (since we know the Libre numbers show as lower than handheld meters)

I am only lowering a dose if she’s truly under 90 on a handheld meter.
I’ve been told to cross check the Libre to data when in very low range.
I use Libre to show me if she’s dropping low, then cross check if necessary.
She’s a difficult cat to ear prick many times a day, and I need to be able to give her insulin shots.

If I have too much poking and intervening physically with her, she will not let me get near her to give her the insulin shots, so I have to be careful how much I have to poke her. That’s why I use the Libre as a guide.

I am following SLGS. Not TR.

Based on all this information and her SS, do you still feel I’m holding the dose too long? I feel like she has been spending more time in lower numbers for her and longer stretches, but then she bounces up.
She’s clearing the bounces quicker, lately too.

I’ve been told before to ignore the bounces and hold the dose. I’m just trying to confirm based on what’s going on if that device is still valid.
Thank you.
 
In my part of the world, it's July 22nd today. (see your subject heading). ;)

Based on all this information and her SS, do you still feel I’m holding the dose too long?
With SLGS you do hold doses longer. You review the dose every 7 days, unless she goes under 90, in which case you reduce immediately. The problem with looking at Ivy's spreadsheet is that we are used to looking at human meter numbers, and for some reason Libre's on Ivy produce wildly different numbers that we can't really relate to human meters numbers because you aren't double checking all of them - for obvious reasons.

With SLGS, you stick with a dose if it's giving you nadirs (plural) in the 90-149 range. In the last 7 days, you've only done one test with a human meter, so we don't really have a good idea how low this dose is taking her on a human meter. In other words, we don't really have enough human BG test data to say if this is a good dose or not.
 
Staci --

If you're following SLGS, can you remove the information on TR from your signature. I missed the SLGS. The note on your spreadsheet has the switch covered.

I agree with Wendy's input.
 
Hi Wendy. I corrected the date, thanks!!

I see what you are saying about
Libre values vs handheld.

I’ve tested her Libre values, when in “Lo” & 40s-60s, over many months, and they have tested under 149 in past and recent tests on the human meter.

I have not really tested Libre blue values on human meter. ( I can try to check some of those for “testing sake” so we know how those correspond to human meter). Would that help you/us to better understand her SS?

Then we will know where her bg is if she’s in that range?
She seems to be in blues more lately, then she bounces up.

I’m not sure how else to proceed to figure out if this dose is working for her. But I do see her in more, longer stretches in green and blue.
 
Back
Top