7/22 FCC +4.5 88, + 9.5 117, PMPS 122, +2 94

Acadaca

Member Since 2021
He finally let me test him again. Since this seems like a reasonable number I will hold off until PMPS? Not sure if I should just keep his dose at 1 for now? I am hoping the last couple of days have just been one small blip in his journey and that we can get back on track testing wise. I am thinking of drawing an ear on my arm and using it as target practice for the lancing pen. Maybe that will allow for fewer pokes on my end and less stress on his.

Would he still be green because of the depot?

He still isn't really purring very much. He went from constant pigeon level purring to only doing it on occasion.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-21-fcc-amps-142-2-103-5-90.250171/#post-2822455
 
Last edited:
Have you tried not using the pen and poking free style? My vet taught me using needles and I never used lancets. I used 25g terumo ones. Very sharp and worked great.
 
Have you tried not using the pen and poking free style? My vet taught me using needles and I never used lancets. I used 25g terumo ones. Very sharp and worked great.

To be honest I'm really scared to do this. I know it makes the most sense, but I don't know if I'm capable. I was just thinking right now about how I could also draw an ear on my leg and try and free hand poking that.
 
This time I gave him some love and my partner used the lancet freehand. It was a crime scene, but went smoothly. I guess maybe I need to work on being able to do it that way myself. I used both the pen and just the lancet on myself several times and came to the realization that I have terrible aim.

This could have been a luck thing. My partner has never had success before, but we've never had the opportunity to do it in tandem. Hopefully his PMPS goes as smoothly and then I can do his +2 without any issues.

I still don't know whether to go back to the 1.5 units or stay at 1 in case he freaks out again.
 
Okay. Thanks. I am hoping we get to a point soon where we can test as often as necessary again. It's unfortunate that I've detailed his progress a little. Guess he ended up with a holiday dose anyway!
 
I will get his PMPS +2 and look forward to his cycle falling back on the hour tomorrow. I imagine because he's blue and because of the lessened dose of insulin it won't be a particularly low number. I am going to have to figure out when to up his dose again. I don't want to keep him from reaching those nice green stretches for too long.
 
It's great that you are able to get tests. The higher depot is still at play. It will take 4-6 cycles for you to be able to see what his numbers are on 1U.
 
Should I be aiming to get his dose up before that happens? I'm hoping we've turned a corner with testing again. I guess we'll see what happens at +2
 
Yes, let's see where he is. Better to keep him safe till you are sure of tests. Are both you and your partner testing together now? Is that why it's working? :-)
 
We did the last two together. I got the first of the day by myself and he's gone to bed so I will do the +2. He used just the Lancet and I think that's part of the difference maker. I stumble too often with the pen and I guess FCC just had enough.

I imagine it's more complicated than that because when we first started testing it took me some time to figure it out and he was still pretty chill about it. I am not sure what the X factor is, but I hope were over the hump of it. It's also entirely possible that all those low greens stressed me out in a way that was palpable to him.
 
It is a time of night that I knew I would almost certainly be home by, but I regret it a little around the +2 most nights. I also realize that it makes it harder for me to monitor him during his PM cycle.

I got the test at +2 and he is 94.

I braved the lancet and left the pen behind, but I poked too hard and blood went everywhere and he gave me the dirtiest look. He didn't growl though. I practiced a lot on myself, but I still don't have the pressure right obviously. I am still going to try and get used to it. I just hate hurting him.

I guess the question is can I safely call it a night and should I stick with the 1 unit in the AM?
 
Back
Top