7/22 Ella PMPS 299+3=345

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
Hello all,

Glad the site is up and running again:) Ella is riding this bounce out. I'm giving her a break on the pokies today but will test her in an hour or two. I have a couple of questions regarding a pet sitter's dose as well as shot times.

I gave Ella her shot 30 min earlier last night and and another15 minutes this morning as I'm trying to get her back on schedule. Can I shoot 30 minutes earlier tonight or does it depend on the number? I recall someone saying that you can move a shot time back by 30 min every other cycle. Is this correct?

We've decided that Ella will be staying with my parents when we're gone. We are off to a destination wedding next weekend and then to Vancouver for two weeks, making the total time away from Ella a whopping three weeks:( We will need to reduce her dose so that they can maintain her at a fairly safe level. I'm not exactly sure how to go about this but I do know that I don't want to put them in a position of having to do pj parties as that it will be much too stressful for them. They will do some home testing and will be taught how to deal with low numbers. I doubt that my mom will post to the board as she is a slow typer and and not so hip on technology but I will continue to work on her. Ella recently earned her reduction to 1u and I'd like to keep her there until next Thursday evening to see what happens. I feel sad that she will be losing some major momentum while we're gone but I know she will feel very comfortable at my parents' place as she has been there before and enjoyed herself. She will be very loved, well fed and hopefully taken care of on the diabetes front: I HOPE they don't fudge up too many shots. Any advice would be great and much appreciated. I was thinking if I kept her at 1 u and she didn't earn her reduction by Thurday that .75 would be safe but I'm not sure if it works that way. I understand that it may be difficult to predict what will be safe at this present moment but thought I'd throw it out there to see what people thought.

One more question regarding dental care. I was looking into the enzyme toothpaste and it says it has glucose oxidase. Is that sugar? Do people use that paste for their cats? If not, what are my alternatives? Thanks so much!

Tamara
 
Re: 7/22 Ella AMPS 383 +2.5=344+5=308 (pet sitter's dose)

I saw all the excitement yesterday but didn't post and by the time I was going to last night...the site went down! What a day!

So here is the general guidance on making up time:
15 mins each cycle or 30 mins once a day

You shot 1-1/2 hours late yesterday morning; you shot about 30 mins early last night because she headed up and 15 mins this morning so you are still shooting 45 mins later than normal. I think I would shoot 15 min early tonight and then 30 mins early tomorrow night and that will put you back on schedule.

Can we see how she does on 1u this week before the decision on a vacation dose is made? She could earn three more reductions or need to go back up. :-D :-D

Sienne and I both use toothpaste with glucose oxidase. I've never had it raise BG.

Hope you are feeling better!
 
Re: 7/22 Ella AMPS 383 +2.5=344+5=308 (pet sitter's dose)

You can try the 1.0u dose. However, over a 3 week period, there's no guarantee that Ella's dose won't need to be changed. Does Ella have any history of ketones? That may make a difference re. dose. I would set up a sample syringe for your folks so they know exactly what 1.0u looks like. Use a colored liquid so they can see where the liquid is in the syringe. There's no way to predict what Ella's numbers may do. I would print out the posts on handling low numbers and on low pre-shots. You may also want to establish a "no shoot" numbers.

If your folks are unlikely to log in here, can they reach you by phone?

This is the toothpaste I use. It doesn't contain glucose oxidase. From what I can tell, glucose oxidase is an enzyme and shouldn't effect BG levels.
 
Re: 7/22 Ella AMPS 383 +2.5=344+5=308 (pet sitter's dose)

Sienne...that is the same toothpaste I use, and yes it does :lol: :lol:

C.E.T. Toothpaste (Poultry Flavor):

Active Ingredients
Sorbitol Xanthan Gum
Purified Water Titanium Dioxide
Dicalcium Phosphate Anyhydrous Sodium Benzoate
Hydrated Silica Potassium Thiocyanate
Glycerin Glucose Oxidase (Aspergillus niger)
Poultry Digest Lactoperoxidase
Dextrose

Tam....I do not know how we let you slip by this long without a profile for Ella but could you do one please when you feel better? Creating a Profile

Don't forget to mention she's an honorary member of the Lil Stinka Club :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 7/22 Ella AMPS 383 +2.5=344+5=308 (pet sitter's dose)

Thank you for your advice Marjorie :-D
I think it's a good idea to wait to decide on the pet sitter's dose as well. Who knows what Ella has planned.
Her mouth smells like a trash can and her jaw is sensitive as it jitterswhen I touch it. The last time she was at the vet I was told it was gingivitis. Her gums are red and probably achy:( I understand that cookies can't clean teeth but honestly, she's had a horrible mouth since she began the wet. I'm going to start brushing them and also rinsing her mouth with water after her meals. She's going to love me for this :lol:
 
Re: 7/22 Ella AMPS 383 +2.5=344+5=308 (pet sitter's dose)

If she is chattering when you touch her gums, she might have a feline odonoclastic resorptive lesion. That is a classic symptom but the best diagnosis is under anesthesia with digital dental xrays. Be careful when you brush her teeth along the gum line to not brush too hard in case she does have one...they can be sensitive.
 
Re: 7/22 Ella AMPS 383 +2.5=344+5=308 (pet sitter's dose)

Thanks for the information on the toothpaste Sienne and Marjorie. I will pick some up tomorrow:)
Sienne, she's on 1.00 now so unless she earns a reduction by Thursday, I'm thinking we may need to reduce a bit more to make sure she's safe. Dunno?!
She doesn't have a history of ketones and I test pretty often. I'd really like it if she wan't in the pinks. I'd be happy with yellows as when she's there she seems to be somewhat regualted as I never see sugar in her urine. lue would be better but beggars can't be choosers:)

Marje, I will do a profile when I get better:)
 
Re: 7/22 Ella AMPS 383 +2.5=344+5=308 (pet sitter's dose)

how do they get a feline odonoclastic resorptive lesion?
 
Re: 7/22 Ella AMPS 383 +2.5=344+5=308 (pet sitter's dose)

They are cats.

Some cats are just prone to them. For instance, Scottish Folds. Three of my five SFs have had them....some more than others. Brushing the teeth and keeping the gingivitis and tartar away helps but for most of these cats, routine
dentals are what is needed. Usually, they have to take the tooth out.
 
Re: 7/22 Ella AMPS 383 +2.5=344+5=308 (pet sitter's dose)

Gabby has the same dental problems as Marje's cats -- it's abbreviated FORLs. There's not a known cause, as far as I can tell. I'm linking a newsletter from my vet. If you go to the bottom in the "answers to the dental quiz" section, there's info on FORL. Gabby's had several teeth extracted due to this problem. BTW, Gabby won't let me brush her teeth. Gizmo, on the other hand, loves having his teeth brushed.

If your cat's mouth smells bad, Ella needs a dental.

If Ella has a history of ketones, has she had any recent episodes? I'm a little concerned in that you don't want to reduce the dose too much. How often do you think your folks will test.
 
Re: 7/22 Ella AMPS 383 +2.5=344+5=308 (pet sitter's dose)

punkin has had those resorptive lesions as well and had teeth pulled from them. i also had a tooth with that and ended up with it being pulled after having surgery on it - it was very not fun. in fact the worst dental experience of my life. pulling it is a better option, imo, and fortunately the kitties are sedated during dentals.

dental problems can keep a cat from getting regulated. we've seen some dramatic improvements in BG numbers after dentals in a few cats.

in case i don't see you before you go, have a wonderful vacation! you're lucky to have your folks to care for her!
 
Re: 7/22 Ella AMPS 383 +2.5=344+5=308 (pet sitter's dose)

Thanks for the info Sienne and Julie:) I will definitely check the link and quiz out! I really hope she doesn't have anything serious going on. The vet looked in her mouth 3 weeks ago when I took her if for the constipation issues and didn't say that she was overly concerned. She suggested brushing as a preventative measure so I'm hoping she will put up with it. She used to love drinking from the syringe when she was hyperglycemic and eating dry. She begged for it and now she doesn't want it near her mouth. I never see her drink any water but I add water to her food so I assume she's getting what she needs.

Sienne, Ella has never had ketones (antijinx) but I still test often just to make sure:) My parents will get the +1 and 2's and depending on their work schedules will get mid-day tests. My dad doesn't have the best fine motor skills so I'm fairly certain my mom will be in charge. They will phone me if they have any major issues. They also have a vet right down the street in case of an emergency.

Julie, I'm not leaving until Friday so hopefully we'll still see each other:)
 
Re: 7/22 Ella PMPS 299

Ok so I just completed my profile but when I press on the link it still has all the codes. When completing the steps on the home page, I wasn't able to press the update button at the bottom of the page because it wasn't there. Hmmm. Anyone able to give me some advice?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top